Homes In Oslo, Norway - The Workshop Part 2 & Lysopp

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

Welcome!

Finally got round to showing you the second part of places I have been occupying the last winter when I came to Oslo, Norway. ORIGINAL CONTENT !! If you dont know what I mean you can read this post Occupying an Empty Property


Heres the link to Part 1 of this The Workshop - Part 1. In part one you saw how it was after some work and clearing out and now you get to see my room taking shape and the wood oven!! Warmth finally. I had spent 3 full days getting wood, sawing and chopping by hand.
Check this beauty out!

An awesome wood oven. Theres a brand, I believe it is Norwiegen called "Jøtul" and there are many of these ovens now for cheap to buy because I guess people buy newer ones. I payed 500kr for it , which is like 50 euro. In the UK its worth like 2000 euro at a guess! I fitted the wood oven and for the chimney I just made a whole in the wall with a hammer and chisel which took some time. Ill go take a picture of how I do it as we have it here in the cabin, how to safely do this without burning the wall or having it as a fire hazard. Here *below* you can see it how its done for cheap without paying someone. (ok, here I didnt take much time to care how it looked!)

But you can see that you must find a metal tin bigger than the chimney pipe. We found what I think was a length from old ventilation on the street somewhere but the most common thing to do is to go get something from a supermarket thats in the biggest sized tin known to man, and then eat whatevers in it and take off both the ends, then you have a perfect metal burn proof tube. Our walls are like 35cm thick so we couldnt use the tin can method. Make a whole for the size of the can, and start cutting with whatever means possible. This time I had a Dewalt drill so I just drilled small wholes around the shape and did it like that to remove the circle of wall. Then fit in the tin, and then fit the chimney, and pack out the gap between the chimney and the tin with Rockwool because this is also burn proof.
Jobs a Good'n.

One morning around 3 am I was awoken by the front door opening and someone shouting "Hello" and some Norwiegen. My door was shut and I saw torchlight under the door - Fuck what a time to get evicted!
I had permission to stay here though but I thought it was the police. I opened my bedroom door standing in my boxers and there were 4 men stood looking like the Ghostbusters inside the workshop looking around the place with torches, and were very shocked when I opened the door.


It was the Fire Brigade. Someone had reported a fire because of the smoke from my chimney was going over the road, and everyone new the place had been empty over 8 years, so just presumed there was a fire.
Anyway, I explained to them that I was now living there and then 2 fireman went in my room to see it was safe.
They started to tell me that it wasnt safe and that I needed to book an appointment blah blah. Then the chief came to see the wood oven also, and he looked at it and just patted me on the back and said "good job" and told the rest to go and they all left. He blatantly knew I was squatting and just wanted to get back to bed at the station haha.

There would be FIVE other times they would visit because someone rang them.


My Room.

Heres how my room was looking at the time of getting the oven. Sadly there are none I dont think of how it looked in the end. to the right in the picture I had made a raised floor over the damaged part but had no floor board material so I used the desk tops from the office. The chair was from the backyard of Hausmania when they cleared all the culture up.


The christmas market had started setting up so I saw this as an opppertunity to go get a job. I wrote out by hand around 30 slips of paper saying that I was looking for a job, with my number on it, and stuck them on every door of the small shuts which were to be used as shops. I got a job with some swedish marrocan family selling donuts and toffee apples for a month , which at the time was great but know I realise they under payed me bigtime haha.

I had been there a month already and I thought it was time to contact the owner and ask him if they could put the electric on and I would pay the bill. I found out that it was a collective that owned it and I even knew people who knew the collective , so I thought it wouldnt hurt to send an email.
I didnt get a reply after telling them I was still living there and had repaired some things and would like to be able to have lights and electric to charge a phone. 2 mornings later I got a visit from the police at 8am and they just came in as the door wasnt locked. Heres how the conversation went:

"morning" , "morning".. " Do you speak Norwiegen?"

"No."

"The owner dosnt want you to be here"

" But they said I can stay"

-"you must leave"

"Oh" -

Then they left and shut the door. Wow, that was funny.. The police were soooo polite! Something im not at all used to.
I definatly dont do as the police say, even with such politeness.


I had to find another place to live it seemed after that visit. I had found a very nice place and went inside and saw there were stickers from the Anarchist scene so it was an obviously old squat. After asking in Olso it was apparently empty for 2 years as the people got bored when the electric got cut of hahahah what the fuck lol. I had also met Cronus, a South African guy in oslo back in the summer and recently bumped into him again in January. He said he had enough of Oslo and couldnt find any work after looking for a year and was going to head to Trondheim. I knew he was living in a tent in a forest so I asked him if he wanted to come and squat the place I had found.

Lysopp (luesop)

This place is fucking sicko.

There was the main house, accessible just through the VERY small window you see in the basement..


Then there was a cottage, traditional made cabin, around 120 year old at a guess..
Heres my favorite picture of it in the snowy night.


And many sheds and outhouses also a place to keep animals but i think theres no surviving picture left just this


Inside The Cottage

"
We had no tools at the time to open the big house but the window in the cottage was smashed, so that would be the best option and also the rooms in the big house were huge with high ceilings so it would be a mission to heat it up. Inside was very wet, the walls were dripping as the window had let moisture in over time. The place was beautiful and we got to work drying the walls with newspaper as we had nothing else. Theres Cronus! Thats the back room where we planned to put a woodoven that somebody gave us from the other nearby squat. Now we had dried the whole place with newpaper heres how it looked with an oven below.
There was a ventilation unit that we took out of the wall and replaced with some insulation, first we thought we could put the chimney out through it but it didnt work out. Finally can get some heat in the back rooms get the place dried out.

The Cosy Kitchen


The gas stove fitted great from the workshop. I had taken it up there with other belongings as I was living there now and the workshop was just locked up with my own padlocks. It was small but had also a sink but no water and enough workspace.


The Lounge

We made a raised floor because we had access to huge pallets and we had found lots of new carpet from a hotel and had been bringing some back each night on the bus. We had now enough to start making something cool.
Theres no pics of how we found the lounge, so you only get to see it in the nice condition! We had already taken the boards off the windows. and cleaned it all up, repaired all the windows also.



You see the boarded up window, that was the entry point but now just part of the wall and a nice shelf. There was lots of plywood to make the raised floor once we freed up the windows haha :)

The basement in the big house was full of wood- this place was paradise.. So we burned both ovens continuously for 3 days an nights to dry the place out and it worked. Ill do the finishing parts in the near future!
We partied HARD and then got evicted in the next part of "Homes In Oslo- Living Free"

Welcome to my world of living free!!

Many people are waking up and realising that were are born into Modern Day Slavery

I decided 8 years ago to just STOP. And I found an alternative lifestyle which I have started to blog to show people who are waking up but dont know physically how to change, a way to just go do it.

Thanks for joining! Check out The HusBus Adventures, its not too late to catch up!

Part 1- An Escape Pod To A New Life
Part 2-Waves Goodbye
Part 3- Lost In BCN
Part 4- Still In Barceloca
Part 5- Finally Able To Move On
Part 6- Tarragona, Spain
Part 7- Black Jesus And The Animal Graveyard

Sort:  

wow. Just wow.

stay tuned to see a full time anarchist lifestyle :P

Ive been working lots though lately, gettin money for crypto before moneys finished! important days hahaha.. but tomorrow ill do the finishing part of Lysopp and the workshop! and then start the other places we occupied since then hahaha

nice that you were here :) edit *just saw this reply wasnt even sent hahahahahahah

Interesting post!
Upvoted & followed!

Thanks digi! Will only eve be very interesting posts from me :) I got much better things to do than sit online all day! Nice to have you along, ill go now and check out your feed right now!

You got a 10.70% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @movingman!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 1.68% upvote!
I was summoned by movingman. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

One of the things I love about this life (the one you are describing) is its resourcefulness and problem solving. My Mum is like that and i reckon i get it from her.. she grew up post ww2 i guess, pommie migrants in australia with a huge but poor family, half the kids lived in a bus in the garden. Love your posts ❤

Wow thats sounding an interesting heratige 😀
Im delighted you enjoy then! Thanks :) oh yeh resourceful indeed! We had to get resourceful today haha - im fed up of the ling norwiegen winter,ice and snow and living up a hillside haha. Next will be a houseboat 😁

AH yes we have friends with one, that was always on our to do list .. river life would be awesome.. but we moved back to Australua instead. Weekend very hot and dry, bushfires in our state, crazy. Sending some to you to melt the ice!

We had to start evacuating our cabin today as its about to potentially fall down. Either time to move or spend more money and alot of energy, of which im exhausted and the money id use for the huge foundation repair that it needs would be the same price as a floating home that needs repair :) it will be on the sea theres no rivers around in the near :)

Have you experience with boats? They kinda scare me as i have no sailingor boating experience, though my husband does. Cant wait to hear about next adventure!

haha no i have no experience but i can do a boat licence. Im not willing to go on a sailing boat, im thinking more of an old passanger ferry :) a sailing boat sounds like a disaster in cramped conditions lol.. i want to have room to be self sufficient, saw before christmas an 80ft ferry with 125m2 space! floating for 20,000 euro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55