Private Property For Public Use - Consider Voluntaryism

in #anarchy7 years ago

I’ve long since abandoned having political debates online. For starters, it adds nothing positive to my life, nor does it increase my personal freedom. Second, it is nearly impossible to change someone’s mind through arguing, especially publicly. Of course, people do change their opinions. But that is typically done privately and introspectively, not through public confrontation.

I have nothing against those who are devoting their energies in this way. I appreciate much of the work that some of my activist friends are doing. Obviously, if people are going to have that introspective moment, they have to be exposed to the ideas in the first place. So I’m not saying that public debate is not valuable. I’m just saying it’s not my calling.

I think my strength lies in developing ownership over my own life, then using what I learn to teach others how to develop more happiness and freedom for themselves.

If folks Iike @adamkokesh and @larkenrose are planting seeds, then my mission is to provide fertile soil. Voluntaryism and Anarchy stem from self-ownership. It just so happens that I think mastering the art of self-ownership in all of its nuances is the key to living a happy life.

Having said all of that, I’m going to break from my typical writing style and make a case for voluntaryism.

page-break-clipart-18.jpg

“But who would build the roads?”


“If all property was private, it would destroy nature and one’s ability to travel or utilize public spaces!”

Anarchy.

When I bring it up to the uninitiated, it brings to mind all sorts of images. Chaos. Riots in the streets. Violence.

The kneejerk reaction is to dismiss it because they think this violent representation is both accurate and absurd. Not worthy of consideration. (It is indeed absurd, but far from accurate.) Or, they attempt to give it due consideration, but immediately go to all of the services that are currently forced into a monopoly of government control, then assume that those services could not possibly be provided through private means.

An: Without

Arkhos: Chief, Ruler

Anarchy: Without a ruler.

The picture of violence and chaos that is associated with the word is a very recent invention. One that I dismiss outright as it is completely unfounded.

For this article I will give you an example of a service that is typically provided by government but, as I am about to demonstrate, is absolutely viable through peaceful, voluntary cooperation.

Welcome To Risley Park


I live in a place called Oak Grove. There is an interesting vibe here. It’s a region that’s larger than a neighborhood, but smaller than a city. We are surrounded by the City of Milwaukie, but Oak Grove is an unincorporated community in the county of Clackamas, Oregon. In other words, there is no city government here.

Because of this, property taxes are lower than most in the region. I can have a fire pit in my back yard, have a yard sale every weekend if I wanted, and cut down a tree on my own property without obtaining a permit. (chaos!) There are other little perks of freedom here, but though we don’t have a city, somehow we still manage to have a local park.

How can this be?

Voluntarily. That’s how.

“Risley Park.

This parcel of land was donated October 11, 1956 for public park use by Mrs. John F. Risley (1878-1968).

Planning and development of park and purchase of recreational facilities were made possible through donations and work efforts of the citizens of surrounding communities.

Dedicated July 17, 1963.”

This flies in the face of the idea that because the government provides a service, that it’s the only way to have said service provided. The land was donated by a single wealthy individual. The facilities were built and maintained through voluntary donations and the sweat of those who lived in the area. And this is not a small park relative to the neighborhood:

Just so you see the size reference, that is a baseball home plate back fence /\

Some free seasonal food as well...

The park today has been taken over by the county Parks and Recreation department. But the proof of concept was established with the creation of the park to begin with. It did not take coercion nor theft to create a publically accessible facility.

Voluntaryists are not advocating for a world of stark profit and losses. We are not advocating for harsh competition of every resource on the planet. We are not condoning mob-rule, might-is-right, chaos.

We simply believe that every human interaction should be voluntary - free from coercion.

Of course, there may always be violent people in the world. But I’m asking you to consider this:

Instead of assuming that any order of resources or peace between people is the result of government intervention, just allow yourself to consider the possibility of reaching your desired ends without the forceful means of government.

Just consider it.

 

This is a Steemit exclusive article. I also write unique content for my website at LiveAllYourLife.com

If you enjoyed this article, be sure to check out some of my recent posts and be sure to follow me here on Steemit as well as at my website.

Recent:

You Cannot Steer A Parked Car: Action Steps To Live Your Life With Passion

Valuable Personal Development Books I'm Reading

My Interview With The Creator Of DSound (Video on DTube) (Audio on DSound): Decentralized Sound File Sharing On The Steem Blockchain

If you find one of my articles particularly useful, would you consider re-steeming? Thank you!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing ,

Upvoted !

By the way ,I started following you and I would appreciate your follow back too .
please visit my blog and vote me too

Nice Post, in your country that private-property-for-public-use, but in my country (Indonesia)that public-property-for-private-use, and that always done by any officials in my country :D

Warm Regard
@dilimunanzar

Well said, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63