For Anarchists, Ends Do Not Justify Means: Response to @lukestokes

in #anarchy7 years ago (edited)

CFA14779-24A3-4432-B6C8-A23F998E0E38.jpeg

I thought part of this exchange was worthy of its own post

as it very clearly demonstrates some of the most common strains of lazy, emotion-driven, utilitarian thought that are incessantly trying to creep into the pure and simple voluntaryist/anarchist philosophy of individual self-ownership.

Here’s a small section of @lukestoke’s comment on my recent post, as regarding Adam Kokesh’s 2020 presidential platform and proposed plan.


Luke’s comment:

So you won't support a plan to transition from one state of violence to a state of less violence if even "one person" is "harmed" from your perspective (even if many millions would be harmed less)?


My response:

False dichotomy. One, the “plan” violates libertarian property ethic. I’m a voluntaryist and don’t view majority vote or political mandate as granting any kind of authority or ownership.

Two, the “lesser evil/greater good” argument can be disposed of easily. The state of lesser harm you reference is not only presented as a false binary (why do we need a plan that by design harms people at all? The abolitionists should have voted for “some slavery”?) but is also illogical as the goods you are trying to measure are incommensurable.

2ABF7886-8642-4357-95BF-90C492D4B78D.jpeg

Imagine a one-on-one situation of pushing an old lady to get to the checkout counter faster at the grocery store.

It may help you. It may not even damage her. It’s still wrong. Just adding more numbers of people to, and collectivizing the scenario changes nothing. Even if 5,000 people could theoretically benefit from the old lady being knocked down, the plan is still an unethical one.

Trying to magically quantify incommensurable goods such as people’s well being, happiness, and how much their property matters in comparison to that of “the masses” is a purely personal and subjective practice, and one that is decidedly not voluntaryist/libertarian in nature.

Check out this great article from Reason: The Myth of the Greater Good

89357905-8FF4-4CC4-A16E-0DF5E56118A9.jpeg

I also wanted to include one more of Luke’s criticisms, as many Kokesh fans have been leveling it at me:

It's easy to criticize others but much, much more difficult to actually bring solutions to the table.

My response:

Bro, again. Just because someone says beating your kids with a crowbar to make them behave is wrong, and doesn’t bring another “solution to the table,” that doesn’t make beating your kids with a crowbar right. Get it?

Besides, myself and others have lots of ideas. Not that I owe you one (I pointed out the irrelevancy of that strange claim earlier), but hey, I’m feeling generous.

Last US election around 43% - 45% percent of individuals didn’t even vote. This means that technically, if we were going by majority input here, nobody won.

Voluntaryists all over are already building systems in practically every field imaginable which are making the state more and more irrelevant. Individuals are getting direct help and support, financial, spiritual, and otherwise right here on Steemit thanks to blockchain tech, cryptocurrencies and instant, private encrypted communication, etc.

Why attempt to magically change an intrinsically corrupt institution (the state) via an instrinsically immoral process (a force-based electoral process), when these solutions and innovations in non-compliance are already being created?

First, it is a totally unrealistic plan which will divert massive resources away from individual Voluntaryists (would the mafia let a vocal opponent of organized crime assume a seat of high power and “dissolve them???). Why should anarchists donate to what is, secondly, an immoral plan.

Let’s build our own systems, individually, based on individual networking, innovation, and non-compliance, and make the state less and less relevant. Conflicts and bloodshed, god forbid, may indeed come, as the state will fight these things. Welcome to being a voluntaryist. It’s not for the weak of stomach.

This is better than a deluded waste of resources on a pie-in-the-sky plan to “change Mordor from the inside.”

There, I presented a solution. It doesn’t matter though, because even if I hadn’t, it’s still wrong to violate people and is a blatant false dichotomy to say that we must choose either between a plan which, by design, contains lots of violence, or a plan which, by design, contains only a “pragmatic amount” of violence.


Summary:

I started off in critiquing Kokesh’s plan through honest questions about ideas. Now, I am starting to somewhat not care about being very civil. His supporters, including Luke, and himself, tend to immediately make things personal, and not address ideas, regardless of all the hot air they spew about logic, epistemology, and NVC.

Well, guys. When you’re ready to drop the passive aggressive, personal insult stuff and talk property and ideas, I’ll be here. Until then, FREEEEDDDOOOMMMM!!!!!!

I’d encourage all interested parties to read the entire, quite lengthy exchange in full, in the comments section of this post. I’ve officially removed my witness vote for @lukestokes and openly encourage others to do the same if they investigate the material and reach the same conclusions.

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

That touch of humorous personality that you give to your publications, is very entertaining.

There is usually a better solution, but you are right. A moral wrong is a moral wrong, regardless. I wonder if society needs to be "primed" to accept the fact that gobernment is useless.

what do you think about making a party that will just vote no on everything to add more friction to the democratic system? I think that would be a good idea to help us transition and I did not find any reason why this would be against voluntarist principles. Also there is no politics or vision attached to that party. You might even secure the voting no to a smart contract.

Well, if the no includes everything, why not join half of the population in the US, and extend the "no" to voting as well?

If this hypothetical party votes "no" on every suggested political course of action, other political, force-backed actions as the consequence of that system-legitimizing "no" vote will be taken, won't they?

It's like Ben Stone (@badquakerdotcom) says, voting either way is always an attempt to force one individual's will on another individual. It's always immoral, though it can sometimes bring temporary relief at the local levels. Long term, though, it's like drinking whisky to "cure" a bullet wound, or chopping leaves off a poison tree.

You cannot get rid of the tree by watering it. So if the vote were to uproot it, great, as long as this plan by design is non-violent. This is silly though, because to vote to "uproot" the government is to attempt use the very same evil processes, groups, and powers which established it and are interested in preserving it, to destroy it, whilst being openly vocal about detesting it. It's like asking a wild lion not to maul you just long enough so you can feed him a poison pill, except he is sentient, and is not only wild, but also knows what you are trying to do.

This is why the Kokesh "plan" is absolutely delusional.

Maybe I misunderstand what you mean about the blockchain-based voting, though.

It depends on how your system is organised. Where I am from voting no means that nothing will be changed and legislation will be frozen. In this way you are not forcing your will on others, you are just being an obstacle in the system of the state. In my opinion this is better than not voting at all. If a pure no-party would obtain 50% that would mean the system is officially unable to act. If 50% dont vote they can still pass laws but they can no longer claim to speak for the people. In the end I guess as you point out it doesn't matter as much, living free in private and ignoring the state may be the better solution.

by blockchain I just mean that we have to trust the representatives to really vote no always. So they could lock some bitcoin into a smart contract that they will never get back should they vote yes. There still is trust required though.

But what if that old lady is between you and the last $39.99 DVD player?

It's still rude to knock her over, plus, you're shopping at thewrong place for DVD players; better to hit thrift shops or pawnshops.

People using personal insults on the internet to support their own narrative? Seems odd... ;)

Good post.

Right on

Hi, i hope everything will be alright!

Luke's no purist; but he's still one of the best choices we have available.
If you want a witness who aligns completely with your values, you're gonna have to run as witness yourself :)
(Yes, I know I sound like a voter)

It’s these types of sentiments I don’t understand. I didn’t ask for a voluntaryist witness who “aligns completely with my values.” I ask for self-labeled voluntaryist witnesses to simply hold basic voluntaryist values/principles. If that is being a “purist” then guilty as charged. Voluntaryism is, by nature, a purist philosophy anyway. It is the purist form of individualism there is, and logically provable/objectively correct when minimal violent conflict is placed in the value position of the equation.

This isn’t about being unrealistically idealistic though. It’s about an untenable, immoral position. You should check out that Reason Magazine article I linked to in the post. It lays it out pretty clearly.

I personally find him weak on gun rights.
If there were 30 witnesses I trusted more than I trust Luke from a technical perspective; who are what I consider more consistently ancap/voluntarist on guns, then I'd vote for them instead.
Edit: I was mistaken here, and have no reason to consider Luke weak, hypocritical or inconsistent on gun rights.
If I didn't vote for anyone until they arrived, I'd forego all influence over the direction of the platform indefinitely.
I'm watching newcomers openly espousing collectivist rubbish, but until I read your post, I was confident they couldn't take over and wreck the place....

Screenshot_20180303-165751.jpg

From Papa Pepper's recent post

They're here, they're vocal, and guys like you and I can back Luke to keep sound economic principles front and centre, (while continuing to have these discussions), or we can stand by and watch the useful idiots destroy another paradise.

It's not paradise if I have to drop basic principle so my "football team" can beat the other football team. If that's how this will be, then Steemit doesn't deserve to live. Heh. I don't think my one little witness vote being removed will ruin Luke, so I wouldn't worry. As for the commies, bro they've been here since I started almost two years ago. And I respect you of course even if you vote for Luke. That's your business. He's too slippery and shapeshift-y/relativistic on fundamentals for my liking. Haven't looked into his thoughts on gun rights...

If the people on the field who want to attack us and take our stuff are forming a team, milling around as individuals isn't noble or effective.
You and I disagree on this point, but I'll keep upvoting your posts, because we need each other.
We need Luke, Adam, Larken, Carey, everyone.
Please reconsider your witness vote.
Its not a statement of blanket approval; its material support for a guy who wants almost everything you do.

I don't know what you are doing man, but I certainly am not just "milling around."

Hey Matt. I'm curious what your view is of my views on gun rights. I don't think I've engaged in much discussion on this or posted any of my own blogs on the topic, but maybe I have? I do sometimes bring the arguments of some of my collectivist friends (yes, I have friends I disagree with) into discussions just so I can get other people's answers which I then bring back to them, but that doesn't mean I'm stating my own opinion unless I say, "IMO" or whatever.

It's really weird how the witnesses are being treated like politicians. Feels really awkward.

Well, when you are helping to secure the network, and people vote for you, you kind of are a politician, albeit a legitimate, voluntarily selected free market version. I may have to rethink my mouse click if the commies take over.

Might've been facebook?
You mentioned restrictions on full auto or calibre perhaps?
It wasn't any sort of dealbreaker for me, so I didn't take much notice.
I was just casting around for an example, as the Adam thing is already pretty messy, and my own position is fairly nuanced there.

@mattclarke, maybe this?

If there's a possibility that limiting some freedom could lead to a greater well-being, what then? Do I say, "No, thank you, I'd rather be less happy. I'd rather my life be worse." That's not logical.

Do threats and perceived threats against my own well-being create a plausible argument to restrict the freedom of others in specific categories like weapons designed for offensive use? I think we have to answer yes here.

https://steemit.com/guns/@lukestokes/which-do-you-value-more-freedom-or-the-wellbeing-freedom-brings

That's the one. Thanks Graham.
Its the piece I was thinking of.

Ah there it is! Thanks @kafkanarchy84.

I remember that conversation now, and I thought I did a good job of (trying) to represent many sides of a complicated topic. It wasn't about automatics or clip sizes, but about representing different views so we can discuss them rationally. I didn't advocate for anything particular, as far as I recall, but wanted to have a dialogue.

Restrictions on full auto or calibre? Truly, I don't think I've ever commented on that. If you find it, please let me know.

It was restrictions on personal nukes, but hinted at 'offensive' weapons generally.
I'd be interested to hear your position on an adult with no documentation attempting to purchase an AR 15 for cash?
(I won't pull my vote based on your answer or silence)

Lol. Great question, and as you said, @mattclarke, and as per that article, it's not just nukes that are being implicated:

Imagine if owning a gun for purposes other than being a highly-trained employee of a defense company like Detroit Threat Management was stigmatized and discouraged in our communities? Would that make it easier to spot those who intend to harm others?

I'm waiting to hear @lukestokes field this one as well.

I don't think anyone should be "documented" in the governmental sense, but I do value identity and reputation and the open roles they play in a free society.

As for someone purchasing a device directly designed to kill and excellent at offensive force (i.e. violating the NAP), I think we should at least care about some things such as their mental state, their training level operating it, their stated intentions on how they plan to use it, etc. I'm not talking about a top-down, authoritarian 1984 style overwatch or something, but just common sense because we don't want innocent people to get shot up.

I wouldn't let me 4 year old drive a car. I also wouldn't sell a community member a gun if their intention was to go violate the NAP and shoot someone.

When it comes to "gun control" and "gun regulation" I'd hope the voluntaryist community would be huge supporters but in a completely different way than what is represented by the media. I'd like to see communities training each other how to obtain and use firearms for personal defense while holding each other accountable for safety and security. As most serious gun owners will tell you, many who own guns now (especially if they have kids in the house) are some of the safest and most regulated (and by that, I mean self-regulated) people around when it comes to guns. Their kids have been well trained and understand the serious dangers involved. That's what I'd like to see more of because that, to me, is rational personal responsibility which can be encouraged through healthy community.

I scrolled back a year, watching your kids get smaller; you didn't mention guns once.
I apologise.
I may have misread an argument you referenced without endorsing, at some point.
This seemed like a fitting spot to stop scrolling.

Screenshot_20180303-181712.jpg

I might write a post covering my position and justification, as its not one I've heard before.

nice man your idea is good @kafkanarchy84

You did a whole post to draw attention to this. That's what I meant by "It seems you're looking for attention." I'm sorry if that's an incorrect assessment, but your actions seem to indicate you are looking for attention.

To my knowledge, I never attacked you personally. I replied to a meme you did with a meme. Why did you take that as a personal attack?

In this post you've called my thinking "lazy" and "emotion-driven." You've compared taking national parks away from federal government ownership and localizing them into non-profits to "pushing old ladies" or "beating my kids with a crowbar." You've called my views on logic, epistemology, and NVC "hot air."

Should I take those as personal attacks?

Can you clarify for me where I've personally attacked you because I'm really confused. The only thing I'm getting out of this is it's quite unpleasant to discuss ideas with you.

You've compared taking national parks away from federal government ownership and localizing them into non-profits to "pushing old ladies" or "beating my kids with a crowbar."

No I haven't. I compared pushing old ladies to violating individual property rights. Strawman one. And about the crowbar analogy, that was an illustration for an entirely different argument. That had nothing to do with you, but was to demonstrate the illogical nature of the argument that if one doesn't have a solution to a problem, one cannot critique said problem. Pretty basic stuff, Luke.

I did this post because I care about principle, i.e. the very foundations of voluntaryist ethics. Prior to this post, instead of honestly addressing the points I have raised, you jump straight to the defensive and try to imply I am looking for attention.

The passive aggressive shit is laughable man. Get real. That is why I will drop sticking to ideas and just call you guys boneheads insofar as you participate in this inanity.

Kokesh calls me an "annoying troll" for asking about his platform and saying that the ideas are not pragmatic, tenable, or non-violent.

Another of his Koke-boys calls me "effeminate" for taking issue. Jesus. No more time for this shit. I know where you stand now, and feel better for it.

Funnily enough, one of Kokesh's friends immediately saw my point, and though he is still friends with Adam, said he would like to ask Kokesh the same questions, and we had a civil exchange.

The idea that every individual is a self-owner and thus has the right to homestead/acquire unowned property is NON-DEBATABLE WITHIN THE PARAMETERS OF VOLUNTARYISM. If you are cool with compromising on this, fine. Just don't call yourself a Voluntaryist.

You've once again implied I am looking for attention in posting this post.

It strikes me as amusing that those individuals who would present a persona/image of being extremely rigorous in thought, sound in epistemology, and based in logic and principle often present some of the most subtly manipulative, and moral-relativistic "arguments" there are.

I don't even think you see yourself doing it.

If it is unpleasant to "discuss ideas with me" then stop commenting.

Do you think millions of Americans view the national parks as "unowned property"?

If not, is it possible Adam's plan gets us one step closer to something that might in the future be what you and I both prefer?

Federal lands are completely and entirely owned by the federal government right now. Decentralizing that and localizing seems like a good step in the right direction. If there's a better step, let's come up with it and suggest it as a change in Adam's platform. That, to me, would be useful.

I really am trying to address the points you've made, but you're making analogies to pushing old ladies and beating my children with a crowbar. I can barely keep up with the points you're trying to make. Maybe it's a communication style difference or something, but yes, when someone levels so many direct personal attacks at me, my ethics, my principles and compares my ideas as beating my children with a crowbar, I will get a bit defensive.

subtly manipulative, and moral-relativistic "arguments" there are.

How have I done this? I'm not asking rhetorically, I genuinely want to know.

When I say, "Graham, the way you're going about this seems like you're looking for attention" I'm giving my perspective. If it's not useful to you, say so and ignore it. I still have my opinion and perspective on what you're doing. It's a similar tactic that trolls use, so I can understand why some may consider you trolling them. If you'd prefer they didn't, maybe we can both learn something from each other as I can help you see your behavior as resembling trolls and you can help me see my behavior as being subtly manipulative or passive aggressive.

I will stop commenting if we're not going to discuss ideas and just attack each other instead of help each other. If we are going to discuss ideas and how we could play a role in potentially improving Adam's platform statement (as well as ourselves), then I'm all for that.

Luke. Assuming control of vast swathes of property miles and miles away via political mandate is not a voluntaryist position. Full stop. This is not up for debate. Can we at least agree on that?

It is a basic definition of the parameters of legitimate property acquisition as per voluntaryist property ethic. The axiom of individual self-ownership determines that a "majority vote" does not translate to legitimate authority over others or ownership of resources. Voluntaryism 101.

The individuals already using the land and who are closest (and often are paying the most for it via extorted funds) have the most direct objective link.

Whether what Kokesh is doing is viewed as "more ethical" by some than the current situation is irrelevant to the fact that A. A US electoral system vote does not grant legitimate authority/ownership of resources/lands, and B. Redistributing those lands to personally selected boards and keeping them "open to the public" (prohibiting homesteading on all or some of the land) is an unethical and untenable position within the parameters of voluntaryist ethics.

I gave my "better idea" in my response on the other post, but as I said, it is irrelevant to the fact that the plan Kokesh has proposed is not a voluntaryist one.

I use analogies and metaphor to illustrate points. I think in images and organize thoughts like that. In small packets, like stanzas. I remember you telling me you've never been into poetry, so maybe that is where we have an impasse--two very different personalities, with two very different presentation styles (neither one style being "wrong" or "right") fundamentally misunderstanding one another on some things.

So to explain the crowbar analogy:

The idea that I need to "have a better idea" in order for my critique of a bad idea to be valid is simply illogical.

It would be like saying that for my criticism of a guy beating his kids for "misbehaving" to be valid, I would first have to present a better behavior plan.

No. That is simply not true. The abuse is immoral regardless of the presence or lack of a "better idea" from me. The criticism I offered in this case would thus be valid, regardless.

Since this conversation now spans multiple posts and some parts of the comments have been repeated, I'll just link to the other comments here.

I hope in the future, if you wish to dialogue with me respectfully, you won't use memes that suggest millions dying from communism is okay as the main image on a post with my name in the title.

I have a need to be respected when in dialogue with someone otherwise the conversation appears similar to a troll and someone being trolled. Trolls don't respect the people they engage with, nor do they think about how their communication will be received.

The image is about ends justifying means. It was not a gesture of disrespect to you. It is a HUGE gesture of ridicule toward the idea that a little violence is sometimes necessary for progress. Hell, Kokesh has even said "it's not always going to be pretty.." I'm sorry that bothers you, and I get the implications that could be seen behind it. I was making a point. Even a little "greater good" justification ultimately always leads to disaster.

I probably would not have been so brash had my initial arguments and counterpoint been considered without adding strangely personal elements to the conversation like:

It sounds like you're upset because he didn't devote his own livestream time to an issue you value more than he did.

It was a Q and A livestream. Instead of addressing my argument, you say "it sounds like you're upset because" of some other disconnected issue.

You defended Adam's calling me an "annoying and ignorant troll" without even reading my comment which yielded said reply.

You then went on to imply I was just "seeking attention." What a bunch of condescending bullshit. I was talking about principle man. C'mon. No need to make it all nursery school in here.

I don't need the patronizing, condescending veiled jabs like that man. Let's talk ideas.

I thought posting memes was alright. It wasn't directed only at you anyway. It's a meme. That's all.

If you're willing to look at these things from my angle, maybe we could find some common ground. As I said, myself and other individuals, (including one of Adam's friends and supporters!) can see eye-to-eye on this stuff about principle.

My witness vote removal was me exercising my market preference and voice. It wasn't something personal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79