Thanks to Steemit, I got my voice back!

in #amazing7 years ago (edited)

etilda sings 2.JPG

People sing on their own for many reasons. Either they sing because they are happy, sad, seeking attention from others or just trying to fill up their space with sweet melody. For whatever reason, singing is good for us both healthwise and emotionally.

We sing when we are in the shower, we sing at work, in the farm, in our cars and when alone at home we sing in front of mirrows holding an imaginary microphone. Some folks even sing in the rain.

According to an article in LA Times by "SUSAN JAQUES" Titled - "THE HUMAN CONDITION / WHY WE LIKE TO SING : In Tune With Ourselves"

Long before Madonna, people recognized the power of singing.
Worshipers in the ancient temples of India, China and Tibet chanted to awaken chakras, thought to be the body's energy center. And the Greek philosopher Pythagoras encouraged his students to sing each day to overcome fear and anger, worry and sorrow.
During these times of "getting in touch," we often use singing as a way to get there.

More so, in the same article,

According to the experts, singing has the power to alter our moods and conjure up memories and feelings. Singing also provides an emotional release, a way to express our thoughts and feelings, says Margaret Schaper, a USC professor of voice.
"We sing because something inside us needs to express something beyond words," says Schaper. "Everyone can do this to some extent. The human voice is the most perfect of all instruments."
Source

For me, right from childhood, I have loved singing and have used songs to keep myself company when am alone or feeling blue, when happy and at work or even in shower. I confess I do also sing & dance in the rain like my buddy Gene Kelly !


Source

But alas, something terrible happened to me! On 1st January 2016, I lost my loving mum to the cold hands of death. Since that tragic incident, I felt empty, lost the reason to live and lost my voice and urge to sing. My mum was my all, my best friend, my teacher, my conscience, and my confidant. Loosing her made me understand that life could sometimes be unfair. I couldn't eat or sleep well for days as such I was constantly in the midst of friends who suported me all those dark days.

Well, time they say heals, gradually I started going back to what I love doing and engaged more on my studies, loosing out on the fun side of life until I met a nice friend, my best friend who introduced me to steemit and advised me to keep reading and having fun in steemit. Since I joined steemit, I must confess having a lot of quality times and the best is I have found my lost voice and plan to use it for steemit.

etilda sings 3.JPG

Prior to joining steemit, I had never blogged, but since I joined steemit,I made so many friends around the world, earned good source of income ( Still a student) and gained so much knowledge reading diverse topics from steemians. I must confess like @kenhudoy in his post "Why I fell in love with Steemit & Steemians" I am truly in love with Steemit & Steemians. So, my next vlog will be a short sung for my social media love Steemit and I hope you guys will keep following for my steemit sung! Thanks for reading. Love you guys for giving me a reason to sing again!.

If you like my post, please support with an upvote, follow for more and send in your comments on why and where you sing.

Read also
Why Vlogging in Steemit is the best ( Youtube vs Dtube)

Vital info

Use the below link to join the next best thing: Ethereum lyte via their current bounty-see link https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScf9ORCo55gpLT9kIJA2kjR0ugWUeT5lDQg9GPgZ6RlW2Nc4A/viewform fill out the form and join the next opportunity in the crypto space.
Ethereum lyte (Elyte) is the next best thing. Offering just 1m tokens as total supply with far less circulation supply, top visible team see https://www.elyte.biz/ , excellent and innovative product plus deflationary nature ie token- therefore early adopters of Elyte are already smiling as they see bright future in their investments because price has shot up over 3K% since inception just 4 weeks ago even as they are yet to be listed on Coin market cap (coming soon). Therefore , we decide to give out this social media bounty in order to share tour tokens to the masses who appreciates the ingenuity of elyte.

Sort:  

Im so glad to see you got your voice back @etilda ! I lost my Mom as well years ago , who was/also my best friend , we were very close . may she forever rest in peace ... I very much so know how you feel , I still miss her to this day , and Songs always remind me of her , as she was a singer and played 6 different instruments especially the guitar ! We must try to be happy though life is very short , and im sure thats what they would want . Steem On and stay happy by singing !! upped and resteemed 👍💕✌👌👍

Singing is assured and once I try out one will surely update you and maybe we plan to sing together in Canada whenever I visit!
Why not enjoy with me our special local delicacy 'jellof rice' garnished with salad and chicken bought with sbd 😎
Hope you save the recipe for your mumsy kitchen delight

Oh cool i will check it out once im on my @momskitchen blog ! Im not a singer at all though , my mom was the only musician , we were more into art and painting ! steem on my friend !👍✌💕😀

little wonder your cartoons are better than Walt Disney's
steem on ma'am

Haha thanks for the kind reply back!👍✌💕

A very nice and positive article I loved reading it.....and I am really happy for you from the bottom of my heart

So much appreciate this comment and will soon sing for you @maryahoc 😘

This is really sweet of you:)

sure and thanks

Wow. Great article. I am singer songwriter and don't perform in front of any body. But soon will upload to D/tube. You have stuck a bee in my bonnet and its time to share and not be self conscious.

Sure. We should sing together some day but first let's charm steemians via dtube 🙋😎

Thank God for that good news. I the Lord will continue to strengthen your voice. You are welcome.

And thank for this . Do join me and enjoy my jellof rice 😎

This post has received gratitude of 1.26 % from @appreciator thanks to: @kenhudoy.

I wish I can sing but I only hum tunes whenever I am happy. But I appreciate a good music. I have the ear for it.

sure and watch out for my sung. keep following. thanks

Thank God you have gotten your voice back. well writing article. upvote

Glad you found your voice and I definitely will be looking forward to feel the joy your being here will come coated in.

Thanks @ejemai
Hope we meet someday so I lend my new found voice to the good work you guys are doing for us in Nija.
Hey, don't worry will come with my jollof rice and share with you , Nija jollof rice like d one I shared yesterday 😎. Keep it up and let's steem on

How lovely that you are singing again now. I am sad to hear about your mum and totally understand why you would lose your inspiration during a time of grief. I look forward to hearing your voice. I am a singer too

thanks dear and hope someday we sing along together. lets keep steeming hot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58237.47
ETH 2479.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38