Alphabet Art Challenge Day 13 Masks - Plus Bonus Face Sketches

Alphabet Art Challenge Day 13 Masks

Simple geometric shapes combined to make bold, expressive masks. Inspiration taken from masks made by cultures around the world.
enternamehere-alphabetartchallenge-day13-masks-3.jpg

Process shot
enternamehere-alphabetartchallenge-day13-masks-1.jpg

Mask outlines
enternamehere-alphabetartchallenge-day13-masks-2.jpg


Bonus Face Sketches

Water brush and liquid acrylic
steemit-enternamehere-bonus-face-sketch-2.jpg

Fine tip artist pen (that's almost empty)
steemit-enternamehere-bonus-face-sketch-3.jpg

Watercolor brush markers
steemit-enternamehere-bonus-face-sketch-1.jpg


This is a straightforward personal creativity challenge started by @tonyr. Every form of artistic expression is invited.

Challenge guidelines:
Create an original work every day for 26 days.
The subject matter of the first days work must start with the letter 'A', day 2 with the letter 'B' and so on until you reach the letter 'Z' on day 26. If you miss a day it's back to the start.


Recent @enternamehere posts
Alphabet Art Challenge Day 12 – Langoustine with Lager and Luggage
Alphabet Art Challenge Day 11 - Knot
Alphabet Art Challenge Day 10 – Jalapeno Jigsaw


Thanks for stopping by! See you again soon for Day 14 of the #alphabetartchallenge.

Sort:  

Love the multiple mask mural. Even though they are line drawings, they still show so much emotion and feeling. And the faces add so much after. Kind of a 'look underneath' kind of thing.

That "look underneath" idea is exactly what I was going for, it just seemed right to add the faces with this post. And thank you! As you must know I really enjoy line art, partly because of its perceived limitations. So glad to share ☺

your gonna have to color some of these for sure..... for sure!!

Ahh, I know what you mean, they're practically shouting to be colored! I seem to have a lot of pieces like that...thanks for checking out the masks ☺

i think all your linework screams out to be colored... now if only you could grow more arms to help out....

I smell a collaboration in the making! You see, @countrygirl is interested in giving that iguana some color too...I'm looking for a simple way to turn the paper drawing into a clean digital version that's ready to print. I've found a couple methods, but still seeking one that best fits my needs...Any ideas? ☺

BTW I finished the iguana. Going to post 'im soon!

ahhh yea!!! Got more art to look forward to now.... i mainly use photoshop.. scan it in..magic wand out the white areas, then use the levels and contrast settings to get the lines as dark or light as you like... then print on some nice paper and there you go...if u got a printer and photoshop at home i'd say give it a try... but other than that i'm a digital art rookie hahaha.. can't wait to see how it goes good luck!

Well I have part of the equation. I've got a scanner, an older crappier one. But maybe it'll work. I'll see what I can come up with and get back to you! How exciting!

my old crappy printer/scanner been doing the job quite well for years.... i have faith!!!!

I love the planes and the outlines on the last one - so expressive.

Thanks ☺
It's always fun exploring shapes and contours of the human face through drawing. Like a kaleidoscope there are so many intriguing combinations.

Youre on M already? Good discipline huh? I love your drawing abilities. I'm always amazed when I see your work and stare at it to figure out how you do it.

Nice job lady!

Thank you for the compliments, I really appreciate you! I am 110% determined to finish this challenge by the end of the year.

aw....that's sweet. I appreciate you too!

Love the masks, it's making me want to watch Kubo and the two strings again, have you seen it?

Thanks! No, I haven't seen that one yet, should I put it on my list? ☺

Awesome! That’s a cool theme you picked for today’s entry of the cultural masks :)

These kind of masks really speak to me, they wear so much expression. Thanks for checking me out polebird!! ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60384.14
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55