Crispy Skin Chicken With Country Style Potatoes (easy and incredibly tasty dish)

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Often, when I go out to a restaurant, I get pretty much disappointed with the cuisine. While the presentation is mostly great, the taste of the dishes can be just not good enough for me. Each and every such time I’m thinking that I could do it better not in terms of a great presentation, but in terms of feelings I would get with my taste receptors. So, this time it’s again not about something fancy, but still a recipe of another extremely delicious dish.

Ingredients

For this dish you will need:

  • Whole chicken (better organic one, the one I had was ~2kg);
  • Salt;
  • Bottle (some glass bottle (milk, beer, or wine, if it fits the oven you have) or even a large beer can.

(later you might want to season the chicken with lemon juice or spices or even mayonnaise, but first better try it like I say and you won’t be disappointed)

To cook country style potatoes you will need:

  • Potatoes (better with thin skin, up to 2kg or ~4-5lb);
  • Herbs (I prefer Italian herbs, but it’s up to you);
  • Olive oil;
  • Salt;
  • Garlic.

Cooking

Wash the chicken carefully (I’ve heard that it might be unsafe to wash the chicken, because some bacteria could be spread over the kitchen, so I would recommend doing it carefully in the sink and then clean up that place thoroughly). Season chicken generously with salt and sprinkle some good amount inside too. Take a glass bottle (remove any stickers or paper and clean it thoroughly) and fill it with water (preferably hot), or alternatively you can take a beer (soda) bottle or a large can (not empty, don’t drink it all, add water if you couldn’t resist) and then tell me how it tasted. A bottle (or can) should be tall enough to hold the chicken upright. Put chicken on the bottle with the legs down (better if it doesn’t touch the bottom of the tray), so it would be sitting and place in the middle of the tray in oven preheated to 160°C (more or less). Steam from the bottle cooks chicken inside too, so it really gets tasty inside and really crispy outside.

Meanwhile take your potatoes (no need to peel, if these are thin skin) and cut them into halves or quarters (four equal pieces) lengthwise. Mix with herbs, olive oil (generous amount), salt and put into the tray around the bottle with the chicken.

It’s fine to leave the chicken in the oven for at least an hour, but you must shuffle potatoes from time to time, so these wouldn’t be burnt. When potatoes are almost done sprinkle with some minced garlic over them. Cook the chicken until it gets golden and the meat pulls away from the bones.

When done, carefully remove the bottle and serve with potatoes, some vegetables and salad. Orange or tomato juice is perfect with this dish also.


Thank you reading! If you liked this recipe, you might also like my previous food posts:

Steamed Dumplings With Strawberries (Original Recipe)
Mushrooms fried with onions (Easy cooking recipe)
How To Cook A Delicious Mushroom Soup (Step-By-Step Guide With Original Pictures)
How to cook delicious tuna steaks fast and easy (Friday night at home ideas)
Chicken wings BBQ with grilled mushrooms, vegetables and chilled wine (Quick and Easy)
Summertime chicken wings BBQ in soy sauce







Thank you for all upvotes and comments!
Cheers and happy cooking!
@richman

Sort:  

@richman
Arrrrggggghhhhh ~~~
this is torture first was @knozaki2015's lobster
and now you ! I love that oven baked chicken!
I love grilled chicken and in the PH that's like - attack ! and in a minute it's been deboned after serving. Hungrier now T.T
1
This just means one thing - I should be making dinner now.
Ha ha.

Lol at the picture, i just can't stop posting food!
Bon appetit!

I can almost lick my PC monitor's screen looking at this.

Please, be careful :D
Glad you liked it, thanks for your comment!

Thank you for posting @richman. It sounds lovely. Cheers.

Thank you for your comment :D
Cheers!

as soon as I go to your blog - just want to eat))are luscious photos of food))

Then my post was a success :D
Thanks for your comment!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

@richman, I know what I'm making for dinner! Looks delicious! Thank you.
Poor chicken on a bottle. But you are right - once you taste organic chicken you can't go back.

I really appreciate your comment--so glad you liked it ;D
All the best and bon appetit!

looks wonderful. Always a wonderful combo, pollo y papas! Steem ON!

I also love all your posts!
Hope you don't mind, if I will post pancakes too?

Not at all, post whatever you feel inspired to post. I'd never want to be guilty of stunting someone's creativity. I can't wait to see what you come up with. Steem ON!

Oh Man
I Am Hungry!
Steem on!

I was pretty much hungry myself cooking this ;D

My whole family is going to be thankful for your blog!

Well, I really hope so. Please tell me how it went after!
Thanks for your comment :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44