Has Facebook finally come up with a good idea?

in #facebook7 years ago (edited)

Facebook-modular-phone-xlarge_trans_NvBQzQNjv4BqYDsL8QGx-5AcveSNQFCr6dCDvIoIfUP-Lu0UmFMTpZA.png

Has Facebook finally come up with a good idea? Sounds like interchangeable modules for mobiles would be a good thing. Will save us money and save on waste. But will we be ruled by Facebook?

Let me know what you think in the comments below.

Facebook is exploring a device with interchangeable parts that could be used as a smartphone or a speaker, a patent filing has shown.

The modules in the patent include a speaker, a microphone, a GPS and a touchscreen for a device that could function as a speaker, a phone or a GPS tracking device.

Most smartphones have few replaceable components, but modular technology allows users to update the phone in parts, rather than upgrading to the latest device. "From a consumer prospective, the life cycle of conventional consumer electronics is expensive and wasteful," the patent said.
READ MORE
http://bit.ly/Facebooks-Good-Idea
sig.png
InfoBunny

love 8app.jpg

USEFUL ARTICLES TO CHECK OUT

WHAT I HAVE LEARN'T SO FAR - MAKE YOUR UPVOTE COUNT
SO DO YOU REALLY WANT STEEMIT TO GROW?
HOW TO GET DESKTOP NOTIFICATIONS ON STEEMIT
HOW TO STRUCTURE GREAT STEEMIT BLOGS
GRAB EVERY LAST OUNCE OF VALUE OUT OF THE POSTS THAT YOU CREATE PART 1

infobunny banner.jpg
banner.png

Sort:  

I am totally on board with modular devices. My Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge+ (mouthful) has a battery that needs to be replaced but that baby is sealed. I could of sworn I saw a commercial a couple years back for a phone that had modules, gotta go hunting now. Anyways, if Facebook is involved then I am not.

woow upvote and follow you :)

thanks, are you also on the8app

Facebook sucks

you got that right, are you also on the8app

Because I don't dislike Facebook enough already? A GPS? Oh, yes! I'm in!!

Sarcasm

Thanks for your always informative articles. You can also find me on the 8App! :)

Upped and Steemed

Good idea yes, with Facebook involved NO ;-)

If Facebook makes the right move, heck I'll make a purchase and see what that puppy can do. Nice find and write up bro. Voted up up up and away.

FB had the good idea of fb groups. That's the one feature that keeps me there though all the ups and downs of social media and life in general.

My fb groups are my virtual homes and I am so grateful to have all 736 of them. I will use them to recruit for steemit if I ever get a handle on this place myself. Right now I am stunned with confusion so I'm not boosting.

I cannot believe I am down another rabbit hole of the internet, but I'm so glad you and my other tsusers are here. Still swimming after one month :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57241.75
ETH 2428.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40