Let's Get Uncomfortable

in #travel8 years ago

Friends! You can now follow me on snapchat ;)

I'll be posting short videos daily and I'll also give you all a heads up for when I'll be posting a new Steemit blog entry :) I'll be bringing steemit to snapchat everyday and doing my best to spread the word about Steemit!

SNAPCHAT: heidi_travels

Comfort. It's the thing that keeps most of us at home. It's the thing that keeps most of us in that relationship we know we would be better off leaving. It's the thing that ultimately makes us boring, uninspired, maybe even a little depressed. Comfort isn't exhilarating. It isn't life-changing. Comfort won't leave you feeling accomplished or proud.

So let's get uncomfortable.

It doesn't happen to everyone, and not every trip will inspire a deep sense of fulfillment. But if your lucky, traveling somewhere new will change your perspective of the lives of others, and you'll hopefully better appreciate the blessings in your own life. Unfortunately for those who travel abroad and jump at the chance to book the 5-star hotel, they will most likely miss out on the chance to form real bonds to the locals. By staying at a resort that fences the tourists in and keeps the local customs out, you'll miss out on the chance to broaden your understanding of life outside of your comfort zone.

We all take these comforts for granted, at least I know I certainly do. Maybe that's why I like to travel so much. I feel like I get a healthy dose of reality when I do. I often end up feeling like a spoiled American when I find myself dreading the fact that I have to wash my laundry in the sink, wring them up and wait an entire day for them to dry. I feel like, at least as an American, there's always a sense of urgency, no matter what- even for things that aren't particularly important, like laundry.

I feel my trip to Tahiti has left the biggest impression on me.

There I was, on a tiny island with the easy-going, extremely friendly locals. At first I wished I had my own car or vespa or something I could drive myself to and from places. But since I'm always on a mission to save money, the $4 bus ride each week was what I was working with. I would take a 30 minute bus ride to the nearby bigger town for a grocery run and every time I was struck by the sense of community and acceptance of each passenger for one another. The older men and women would sit at the front of the bus and when a new passenger boarded and recognized them, without fail, they would greet them with a huge smile and guaranteed kisses on the cheeks. Each person was acknowledged and loved. No one was stressed out. No one yelled at the bus driver when he pulled over to buy himself a sandwich to eat while continuing his route, or when he pulled over for about 15 minutes to say hello to a friend of his. Each passenger was accommodating and understanding. I loved it. I felt completely stress-free and it was incredible.

Here's a video showing the beautiful views you get to see while taking the bus:

The room I was renting was... basic. I had a twin bed and a small table with two outlets, which is pretty typical when staying with a family on the small island. But I had what I needed. And more importantly, the family I stayed with made me feel perfectly a part of the family. We would cook for each other every night. The young wife taught me how to make some amazing ceviche and I taught her how to pop popcorn on the stove. We shared laughs and my favorite part was when they would bring out the ukulele and sing Tahitian songs. To be in a place that beautiful and feel completely accepted and welcomed by these people, to say I felt content would be an injustice.

I try to bring that loving and accepting philosophy to my life and to those around me every day. Until I can return to that lovely little paradise, this will be my way of bringing Tahiti with me everywhere I go.

The only time I didn't feel loved in Tahiti was when I woke up in the middle of the night to a nasty stinging sensation on the back of my neck. It was given to me by the giant poisonous centipede that's native to Tahiti. I'll have to tell you all about that one tomorrow ;)

Sort:  

Hey @heiditravels Come and visit where I am from - check it out, I am sure you will love it!!

https://steemit.com/travel/@fyrstikken/let-me-show-you-where-i-am-from-southern-norway-i-hope-you-visit

Would be so awesome :D

On reddit this is called "hijacking highest voted comment for your own gain".

Since your post isn't relevant to what @ph111p wrote, go back in line and post a reply to @heidi_travels instead.

Steem police over here lookout guys...
se

ps, this isn't reddit

The Steem police! They live inside of my head! The Steem police!

I definitely have enough to fund a decent trip now, as a matter of fact I'm beginning to plan one, probably going to be exploring Peru and the Amazon and heading over to Cuzco and see Machu Picchu and then Lima for a bit. I'll keep you all posted!

Sounds great!

Hey I wasn't able to find you under heidi_travels on snapchat, is it just me?

maybe try again? I created it yesterday morning, it should show up... what's your snapchat name? I can add you that way.

Machu Picchu. Wow. You just need to send us details of that :D

Awesome, $4300 in SBD to be dumped on 'Rex lol!

not enought steem dollars,
it will be like a homeless trip

I don't know many homeless men with 10.000 dollars available on their account.

5000$ steem power tough

Actually, there are some people who travel without any initial money.
They work for people they meet as they progress in their journey, earning some by doing simple work, or just exchanging work for bed and breakfast.
That's challenging, but quite an adventure, I guess.

Come on Heidi we can see you have a few steem dollars now lets get you using a Xapo card and loading some well earnt steem via BTC onto it and that will keep the community happy and along the way you can preach steemit :-)

I'll be researching the Xapo card, thanks for the heads up!

Shift card is another option.

Pleas check out this post I made about a steemit Bug the dev's should see this post so they can fix it. https://steemit.com/bug/@stijn/steemit-bug-needs-to-be-fixed

yeah... I just made a post for @heiditravels - think she is the top earner here on steemit :-)

https://steemit.com/travel/@hastla/when-i-would-be-heidi

if you have enough to do a trip like that please contact me so I will come with you hahaha

Hey if you're up for staying in cheap hostels and using public transit then let's go!

Your offer to vacation with this complete and total stranger is now contractually binding as it is on the Blockchain.

ahahahh sounds good to me! I don't need Jacuzzi or other things to feel better!!! I need only a shower to clean myself after a long walk-trip

You will get a bucket full of water and a mug to take a bath. :P

it will be wonderful! spend only steem dollars on a trip :D

That lead picture is EPIC! How did you manage to take it? Just awesome.

Your travels are good at making everyone else jealous, which means you're doing it right!

BONJOUR,
Good to read such a positive and attractive article. It is bright and very interesting to me. I definitely connected with your title, knowing that you are also a traveller. Thanks for the post again. I hope you'll enjoy mine, if you haven't already. Namaste :)

recommend your blog in my post "9 Steemers to follow on Steemit.com"
https://steemit.com/steemit/@keepcodingsimple/9-steemers-to-follow-on-steemit-com
nice posts :) keep on

Thank you!

Hi there @heiditravels. I like your idea of getting uncomfortable and suggest you come and try Kite boarding in El Yaque, Margarita, it's in Venezuela and I saw from an earlier post that you are aware of some of the troubles we have here. Let me say, however that El Yaque is a bubble of awesomeness in an otherwise troubled country. Kite boarding will give you the exhilaration you are looking for, I have no doubt. Also, if I haven't piqued your interest thus far, due to the current financial crisis we are living in here, your Dollars will go an extremely long way so it's not only awesome but cheap!! Happy travels :D

I give u gold buzzer just for the effort of taking the lead pic. Upvoted!

Damn I like reading your blog. Keep up that same style! :)

I'll add you later today on your snapchat, my username will be something "etheryo" cause I am a long time ethereum holder. ;)

Take care Heidi!

Are you going to raffle off a plane ticket to travel with you? You really do it right!

I love how down to earth you are. :) And I absolutely agree that it’s far more rewarding to immerse yourself into a local culture than it is to sit back with all the usual luxuries and comforts when traveling abroad. Being pampered in luxury is nice and all but its effects will wear off quickly the moment you step back onto the plane, whereas the treasures you find in the unexpected, and friendly interactions with strangers can last a lifetime. You’ve obviously had a taste of that in Tahiti, and I know exactly how enriching that can be! That’s the thing I love most about traveling… it broadens your window of perception and enables you to appreciate the things you already have.

"The young wife taught me how to make some amazing ceviche and I taught her how to pop popcorn on the stove. We shared laughs and my favorite part was when they would bring out the ukulele and sing Tahitian songs." - What a beautiful picture...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99