HITTING THE BULLSEYE - CHEAP FUN AND CREATIVE RECYCLING - THE 30,000th POST FROM @PAPA-PEPPER

in #adventure7 years ago

Simply put, I'd rather not buy things that I can get for free and even expensive things eventually get destroyed.


Whenever I have the opportunity to find a practical use for someone else's junk, I love to take advantage of it. Often times all you need to do is keep your eyes open and plenty of situations like this will present themselves to you.

I've shown some pretty creative uses for things in the past, and here are a few of those links:

Whatever you may find, there certainly may be a use for it if you are only willing to consider your options. Recently I was able to do just that once again!

SHOULD WE JUST TORCH IT?

A neighbor have some trees cut down not that long ago. The trunks were used for lumber, but the branches and some thick cross sections of the trunk were left in a big pile. Often, this is what people do with leftover tree parts before they have a bonfire to burn it all.

When I looked at the pile, I couldn't help but notice the big, flat, cross sections of the trunk. Hmmm... I though, I've seen things like this before. Soon, I had a conversation with my neighbor.

I GOT A BETTER IDEA FOR SOME OF THAT!

It wasn't too long before I had a few choice pieces loaded up on my trailer. Now I just had to test them out.

By simply stacking them on top one another, I had created exactly what I was looking for. This was just a temporary setup to make sure that they would function properly. Before I set them up in a permanent position, I'll need to find a functioning back-stop to put behind them.

Since I had recently came across a pretty good deal on throwing knives, I thought that I could make a satisfactory target out of these scrap pieces of wood. Time to test it out!

Throwing knives is an artform and can take a lot of practice to perfect it. The speed of the rotation of the knife and the distance that you are from the target are two key factors.

Once you are a proper distance from the target and can throw with a certain consistency, the success of knife throwing increases.

Until you figure some of that out, though, the ground in front of your target may just look like this.

While there may not exactly be all that many practical uses for throwing knives , it can still be a fun and rewarding hobby. Even more, it is great to get a free target without having to work much to create it or go out and purchase something.

Does anyone else out there enjoying throwing knives? If so, what kind of targets do you enjoy using? Have you ever made one like this before?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-throwing-knives-and-a-free-target



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

LOL! Thanks man!

Hahahaha!

ba dum cha!

I think that is the most badass @papa-pepper "proof" pic I have seen to date.

I completely agree with you too. If we can be creative and use other people's stuff for our own use, then we can get stuff cheaper and not be wasteful.

rsz_1rsz_motivation.jpg

Very nice post. Happy 30,000th post. I love your posts, they are always interesting and creative. You have very good ideas how to reuse old things.

Best target you can find!

Don't forget you can flip a shopping cart over and grill with it@! lol not real sure about those yellow painted carts though might contaminate the food. haha. A neighbor gave me a few of those throwing knives I gave them to my parents to put away I have zero skill getting them to stick to trees. He also gave me ninja stars with cases you like those?

Wow, a very good experience @ papa-pepper, hopefully we can all take the opportunity where the little thing in front of the eyes sometimes useful but we do not know how to use it, thank you for opening a positive mind for me and be the inspiration of whoever see it

You do it right @ papa-pepper. . Extraordinary. . 👍

Happy 30,000th post! That's really awesome. I saw that pile of wood, various thoughts crossed my mind. I see kindling for fire starting. I see the bigger pieces of wood and yes I think target but for crossbow. I see small table tops to be used inside. I also see perfect places for little people to sit. I see some leftovers that could be used in the bases of my raised beds. The possiblities are endless...

You are right!

I've practiced a bit in my (younger) youth, I mostly 'cheated' by making targets out of stacks of cardboard - if you can get a hit they sink in sooo nice.

But mostly I focus on martial arts now for something 'practical' - at least I get a full body workout in.

Who doesn't like to fling a knife?
I think that is a perfect re-purpose for that wood. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43