Castle Ideas part two

in #adsactly6 years ago

Castle Ideas part two

Following on from my previous post on gargoyles where I showed some older style Gargoyles,which you can see here

Gargoyle on Chrysler Building-3.jpg



Sony A7iii 240mm F6.3 1/6400 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



This post focuses on the more modern style gargoyles at the Chrysler Building.

A little bit about he Chrysler Building

The Chrysler Building is an Art Deco-style skyscraper located on the East Side of Midtown Manhattan Not far from grand Central on 42nd Street, inf act you can enter the Grand Central Station through the Chrysler Building.

for a short period of 11 months it was was the world’s tallest building before the Empire State Building surpassed it in 1931.

Standing 319 meters (1047 feet) high, the Chrysler Building houses 77 floors, including a lobby three stories high.

The Chrysler Building was designed by architect William Van Alen for a project of Walter P. Chrysler.

It was built at a cost of $20 million, can you imagine how much a building like this would cost these days, I did read that in 2008 a company bought an 80% share of the building for $800 Million.

This first shot is zoomed in on a couple of the gargoyles

Gargoyle on Chrysler Building.jpg



Sony A7iii 191mm F6.3 1/640 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Zoomed out a little on the same two features.

Gargoyle on Chrysler Building-2.jpg



Sony A7iii 100mm F6.3 1/640 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And zoomed out even further, seeing this building every day as I walk to the office, I love this building and never tire of seeing it.

Gargoyle on Chrysler Building-4.jpg



Sony A7iii 240mm F6.3 1/400 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And finishing off with a shot of the other Gargoyles which are at a lower level of the building.

@enginewitty and everyone if you were to have gargoyles on a property would you go old style stone ones of these metallic style?


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.751503 lat -73.976017 long Chrysler Building NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Hey @tattoodjay! you seem like a steemit power user. Any chance you'd like to try our new cross platform mobile app? We've added things missing from steemit like push notifications, user mentions, and chatting with other users. We’re also giving away free STEEM if you invite new users to the app. You can download the app here for iOS:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/vapor-a-steem-app/id1359525246

or here for Android:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.vapor

We're always looking ways to improve the app, so if you have any feedback we'd love to hear it!

I am somewhat tempted to try it out but not sure spamming this comment into comments on what you perceive as power users is the best way to do it

But that said I may check it out, my concern with any app is security what does it use for logging in I am very cautious about where I use any of my keys

But that said I may check it out, my concern with any app is security what does it use for logging in I am very cautious about where I use any of my keys

Absolutely understand. You can use any key you feel comfortable using in the app, with features disabled if that key doesn't have sufficient privleges.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=castle-ideas-part-two


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Unless we're talking steam punk, old style stone, no doubt about it.

Thanks appreciate your feedback

Such an iconic building :)
Great shots @tattoodjay!

It really is so iconic its my favorite building in the city

I wonder what the purpose of the gargoyles are. Is it just for accent and aesthetic purpose?

I don't know if gargoyles would something I would want to add to my future property. Depending on what kind of property, I am open to the idea but it would still be determined if metallic or not.

The actual design purpose of gargoyles originally was to with a spout designed to convey water from a roof and away from the side of a building, thereby preventing rainwater from running down masonry walls and causing damage

but they have also been come an design feature and just for looks some can be grotesque and some not so much so

I think I would got for more modern and less grotesque looking designs myself

I love the chrysler building....such an icon. Makes nyc look like gotham.

yes thats exactly how I feel

Great shots! I will go with the old style!

thanks for your feedback :)

The question posed it a difficult one. While I am greatly drawn to the sleek styling of the modern ones, I love the rugged, ruthless stares of traditional gargoyles. It's as if they have been witness to all the horrors the world has known and they want to share them intimately with you.

Yes I feel the same it is a tough choice, I guess for me if one was building a traditional castle I would go for the old style but if a modern structure I would have to go for the metallic ones, I think if I was ever to choose i would go for a modern high tech castle lOL

I think I would definitely choose a modern high tech castle as well. There is a lot to be said for a/c and heaters! Maybe sleek metallic gargoyles with twisted, horrific faces asca compromise?

I do love your idea a great compromise and Yes I would also want the modern high tech things like you mention and wifi lLOL

Definitely old style stone for me @tattoodjay! Those gargoyles look to me like ancient guardians of the building as if they're saying hands off, don't you dare touch my building!
This is a beautiful building, great shots!

It seems old style stone seem the most popular, being a guy that likes high tech I think my dream castle would be modern and high tech so I would go for metallic :)

Nice photos of this architecture masterpiece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36