Castle design ideas

in #oldtimers6 years ago (edited)

Castle design ideas

Recently in a comment exchange I had with @enginewitty we were talking about building or buying a castle and the need for it to have gargoyles, and as I was walking around one morning I saw that the Marriot Hotel had some over the entrance.




Gargoyle over the Marriot entrance.jpg


Sony A7iii 70mm F8 1/70 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



This is the Marriot on Lexington in the east side and the detail and Gargoyle were pretty cool to see.

And seeing this reminded me of some cool building detail around the Tudor City buildings near where my office is so I went to get some shots.

Gargoyle overTudor City.jpg


Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/80 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



So I strolled around and started getting some shots of the Gargolyes ( I think they are gargoyles of sorts) and saw this first one atop of one of the towers, but from this angle its back was to me, so I continued on.

Gargoyle overTudor City-2.jpg


Sony A7iii 230mm F8 1/320 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Around the block a bit I could see this Gargoyle but again it had its back to me, I was nt able to get an angle looking at either of these two looking at it from the front because of all the trees, I was wishing I had done this walk and shots when the trees were bare now full with green Leaves they were blocking a lot of the views, but I kept walking.

Gargoyle overTudor City-3.jpg


Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/80 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



and I finally got to see this one with a good angle and get this shot,

@enginewitty this is one style I found the other day I will have a second post with some more modern and metallic style one sin a future post.

And for those interested in seeing more of Tudor City, I did get some more shots which I will be sharing once I find time to edit and share them.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.749059 lat -73.970432 long Tudor City NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=castle-design-ideas


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hope all those critters keep all the evil away! Great shots!

I hope so as well thanks for the visit

Hmmmm castles and gargoyles sounds like a creepy combo to me. 😅 I scare pretty easily so if I lived near any statues of this type I’d be freaked out lol! Nice shots!

I think they are meant to keep evil away :)

Seriously? Wow I never knew that...I just always thought they looked spooky themselves :D

I have to admit i didn't know that until I researched it for these posts

😉 so I want the only one that didn’t know

Totally frign awesome man, I need some of those on my castle! Great eye.

Well dont commit to these ones mate, you may like the more modern ones coming in another post :)

anxiously anticipates the other possibilities

Well dont commit to these ones mate, you may like the more modern ones coming in another post :)

Neat capture @tattoodjay. Love seeing gargoyles. Here’s one I saw at a cement works. I’d like to have it to put at the driveway entrance.
FD58A1B8-4CE2-4DF4-8341-A118383D0EE7.jpeg

Thats a cool if perhaps a little evil one :)
Just editing some more modern style gargoyles now :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Just Outclass architecture design done and seen great perfection in hand art too @tattoodjay

Cool photography & I agree gargoyles are necessary =)

You got a 1.92% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @tattoodjay!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I will have to start being on the lookout for gargoyles when I am out and about. Surely there must be some here in L.A. Thanks for sharing!

I am sure a city like LA must have a few places with gargoyles 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59218.43
ETH 2534.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44