"Random Acts of Kindness Challenge". The day I stopped!steemCreated with Sketch.

The day I stopped, 

For months now I saw her sitting outside in her wheelchair, next to a big green tree,  on my way to work or when I just went out for a walk to get some fresh air. Her face, full with wrinkles never up but always bend down letting her eyes rest on the grey stones of the pavement and her long grey curls wrapped around her shoulders like a blanket.. Always alone and her old hands gently placed on her lap. That day I stopped walking and knelt down beside her. At first she turned her face away from me as if she was a tad shy but when I softly tapped her leg she lifted her head and looked deeply into my eyes. I swear that I could read whole stories in her grey hues before she even spoke one word. I told her my name and asked her what she wanted to do today. I could read the confusion on her face but with soft words she told me she wanted to dance just one more time, under the tree we were right now. I did not ask why but I stood up and lifted the elderly woman into my arms, carefully I made sure her feet where standing on mine and started to dance in a slow way. 


Within a few seconds the sad look on her face turned into a smile and her eyes started to sparkle like a million stars. I softly started to sing while I turned the pavement into a ballroom floor. The soft breeze kissing our hair and I could hear the joy in her laughter. A few steps to the right, back to to left and in turning around before I dipped her just enough to make her smile from ear to ear before I lifted her up again. We did not care that people stopped to look at us both but I felt that she loved to see them all smile. We swirled on the wind, on the sunshine and on the laughter coming from her lips. For a brief moment I forgot everything around us and she was the universe in my arms. 


We danced until my arms were no longer able to hold her in a safe way. I placed her back into her chair and knelt down next to her again. Her smile staid on her face like a freshly painted canvas but a single tear slowly trailed over her cheek. She took my hand in hers and told me that she danced here with her husband a week before he died 18 years ago. 


Three days later when I went out for a walk she was not sitting under the tree but I spotted a nurse from the retirement home and simple asked where the sweet woman was. She told me that the woman died three days ago in her sleep with a smile on her face. 


Img credid : Google search ( Dutch, eenzame ouderen.) 


I am a fiction writer so my entry/story is fiction and it did not happen.
Why do I enter with this story if it's not real? Because I like to take any change I get to remind people of the many lonely elderly souls on this planet! 



Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Poeticsnake from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

It might be fictional, but the feelings it evoked is real!!

Namaste!

Wow, even with it being fictional, it really hits that soft spot in a persons heart.
If only to wish, or dream, that there would truly be remarkable people out there, who would do this in a heartbeat. Sad part to me is, there is no respect for the elderly. People just walk by them as if they do not exist , without a care in the world. Great story, @poeticsnake

Thank you for this amazing reply! You made me smile from ear to ear.
Most people never stop walking.... All they do is go from A to B without seeings...

Yep, kinda makes ya sad. Elderly have the most amazing stories, if someone actually took the time to sit and listen.

Well done @poeticsnake! You are absolutely correct. We have many lonely people on our planet that could greatly benefit from a friendly encounter with another person. @natureofbeing will be away from Steemit for a couple of days. I have noted your entry and will make sure she sees it as soon as she can.
I have followed you and resteemed your work. :)

Thank you so so much for your kind words! I want to applaud you and @natureofbeing for creating this amazing challenge

absolutely beautiful story and your eloquent telling made it completely real in my imagination, thank you!! Real or fiction, kindness spreads more kindness, thank you so much!

Couldn't have said it better myself!!

Thank you for your amazing kind words! You made me blush!

Thank you for sharing this tale from your imagination, from your heart. We do need to start SEEING and KNOWING the elders in our communities. So many in our throw away culture, just throw people away...especially our elders, who in traditional societies were the most respected and revered for their wisdom and knowledge. I appreciate you writing this, it really touched my heart.

I could not agree more with you. It saddens me that there are so many elderly souls who have been thrown away like trash and never looked at again. I respect my elders and i will work my ass off to always help them!

Most definitely here too. Sometimes I want to punch those who treat them like they have no reason for being here.

That is so great, thank you for BEing the change you wish to see in the world PoeticSnake. PS: I love Snakes, cool name you got there! xo

(( Happy slithers)) Thank yousssss.... I love snakes as well!

HAHAHAA cuuuuuuuute!!

Uhmmmm why did you stop?...I wanted to read more! This was so heartfelt. The way you described every moment made me get more into the story. Have you written books before? You definitely have my vote! I was unaware of this challenge. I am so glad I read your entry and I will keep an eye on this challenge to possibly enter.

I appreciate your awareness for the elderly. We had to remove my grandmother out of a nursing home before she died because the caregivers were abusing her, slapping her and neglecting her. It's so sad the disrespect they receive. Keep on writing my friend you're Amazing! 😊🤗😘 Resteemed!

I stopped because they wanted the stories to be around 200 words. :( I could not stop so I made a tad more but still kept it as short as I could while trying to keep as much feeling in as I could.
I have written books yes, mostly horror and fantasy and I also have a poetry book out!

So sad to read your words about your grandmother. :(
i want to pull them all to me and cuddle them. You know.... It saddens me deeply

Oh okay I got ya! 😉 I really enjoyed reading it! I like your writing style. Thank you, it was so saddening when she was telling us what they were doing to her. My uncle ended up taking care of her in his home her last days with us.

Dance till the world stops turning. <3

I will never stop dancing! I promise! :D

It is a very deep story...
upvote and resteem

Thank you so so much :D

Act AKSI CEPAT TANGKAP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64850.80
ETH 3471.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55