What have you done for this planet lately?

in #activism6 years ago (edited)

What have you done for this planet lately?


earth-blue-planet-globe-planet-87651.jpeg
source



Dear readers,

Not one day goes by that I don't think about the many things that are wrong in this world. It’s a heavy psychological burden to be this way, because I’m unable to be careless. Sometimes I wish I were ignorant, because people who don't have a clue are just happier.

It started when I was a child, and the only thing I liked on TV were Nat Geo documentaries about animals and nature. Very early on, I learned about the hole in the ozone layer, deforestation of the Amazon rainforest, animals going extinct, and pollution of our air and rivers. Very early on, I started to worry and wonder if other people shared my concern.

Naturally, I was always trying to find ways to make things better.


I remember forbidding my mother to buy hair spray and deodorants, because such products were responsible for degrading the ozone layer, or to buy paper products that weren’t recycled.

Defending animals also started early on, when I was 11. In my rural village in the North-East of France, it was (and probably still is) custom to hunt birds and shoot deer or foxes. Every morning on my way to school, we would have to pass through the fields where hunters would hide behind bushes, waiting for something beautiful to destroy. It broke my heart every time. I always asked my mother to honk her horn when we passed close, so that the animals would run away and be safe from the hunters for a while.

Something else my brother and I did was draw the animals that were hunted (mainly birds and foxes) on flyers and write slogans on them, like “stop hunting XYZ animal”, or “hunters are criminals”. We would distribute those in every mailbox at night after dark.

I guess you could say that my activism for animal rights and nature in general started early on.


Today, I’m still trying to do what I can, and my being worried has not diminished one bit. I wish more people were as concerned as I am about our future. Call me naive or an idealist, but I do believe that if we all did something small and insignificant, the sum of our actions would make a difference.

Today, my contribution to planet earth was planting stuff. Every day we just take from her, so today I wanted to replace some of what we take.

I live on a large property, and the owner has given me permission to grow food as I see fit. So today, I planted 3 papaya trees, 1 avocado tree and one pineapple plant (see pictures below).

aguacate.jpeg
Avocado tree

papaya.jpeg
Papaya tree

pina.jpeg
Pineapple plant

My goal is not just to plant fruit to feed myself, but also the workers who take care of this property, and more importantly wild animals. This property attracts howler monkeys and white faced monkeys, however the more trees are cut, the less they stop by for a visit.

My humble reforesting initiative is thus also an attempt to make the zone more habitable for wildlife, and attract monkeys, sloths, birds and other critters. I have planted several more fruit trees before today, and I’m looking to add many more in the future.

Any of us can do something on a daily basis to make this world a better place (imagine the sound of violins playing in the background as you're reading this LOL). I'm serious though...we can all make a small difference, we just need to educate ourselves about the consequences of the way we live and consume. It doesn't matter whether you plant a tree, pickup trash somewhere, change your diet to a sustainable and cruelty free one, bike to work instead of taking your car, or take your activism to the streets to educate others and demand change.

My biggest fear is that most people simply don't care.

I'm optimistic about the Steemit platform because thanks to blogging, I'm able to (hopefully) reach some people's hearts. There is nothing worse than a person who doesn't stand for anything, so please don't be one of those people. Be idealistic and naive.

What have you done for this planet today?

What are you doing to make sure that future generations will still have a place to live and grow food?

Are you concerned about the future, and if so, what is it that worries you the most?


I look forward to reading your comments


If you'd like to be mentored on your writing or presentation skills, and receive feedback on your posts, join our Discord channel here

Banner.jpg

Sort:  

You have a lovely heart! It is quite sad that most people don't even think about the impact they have or get overwhelmed by not realizing that even small things count. I love some of my close friends, but it makes me cringe every time they go get their nails done. I don't know why, but that one really bothers me. Perhaps because that waste and all the chemicals are all for superficial aesthetic appearance. I know there are a lot of ethical cosmetic companies out there, but it is still an industry that produces a lot of waste so I try to keep my use to a minimum.

I definitely have a long way to go, but I appreciate little reminders like this to keep trying harder. We are working on our garden again, I keep trying to be even more mindful of continuing to buy in bulk, and my car is littered with my reusable bags. My favorite vinegar store just announced today they are giving freebies away for bringing your own bag. They already let you re-fill your clean bottles, so it makes me happy to support a store that thinks of their impact.

oh it looks like your are doing plenty of little things already, that's awesome!

I agree, the cosmetic industry as a whole is awful. Lost of them test on animals, and of course they produce lots of waste. Ever since I've discovered coconut oil, I've cut down the amount of products I use moisturizers, hair stuff etc) by maybe 98%. When I visit my friend's houses I'm always amazed (in a negative way) at how many little bottles and products they have. Ahhh the power of the media...

Aww that such a beautiful post and I just love that you plant fruit trees to feed yourself, the people around you and the animals. I would love to live in a house in a more tropic country so I can grow my own food.
I try to reduce plastic use as much as I can and work everyday to become more and more minimalistic.
When it comes to food I try to make sure that we eat what we already have in our home and replace ingredients so we can use up what is in our pantries. I don't always succéed but I do feel that I do what I can for our planet. Being vegan, blogging about recipes is also a great way to inspire others to see that there is a choice.
I'm also about to cancel my gym card and do yoga and exercise at home instead = no need for machinery, cleaning products etc that is needed in a gym. My goal is not to get big and bulky so for me that works great.

As you said we all need to think about what we do for the planet. If it's taking the car on unneccesary drives istead of walking or if it's reducing the consumtion of things.

Thanks for the nice comment @nicoleslife, and I think it's great what you're doing! Especially reduce plastic use, that's my constant battle too. If more people thought like that, we would finally get somewhere ...fingers crossed it will happen some day =)

Yeah it's so easy to change a behavoir and start doing a little at a time.
I think it will happen but we all need to inspire and push for a change

Fantastic inspiration from the heart!

I am reminded almost every day what I have done for the planet by my little vegetarian who doesn't "think its fair that animals have to die to become our food." (This one happened by osmosis trust me.)

We planted all the seeds for the garden we are building this year which will be full of tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, herbs, and a whole host of edible flowers.

Weighs on me that it is not nearly enough but makes me happy to have produced a human who will continue to try an help the planet.

Now if I could just get her to turn off the damn lights in every room in the house........;)

oh how awesoime! Kids are the best! Another friend of mine alos has a 10 year old who's decided the same thing, no more meat for him. Children truly are the future. Keep encouraging her to have these ideals =)

Awww, you are awesome Eve! I love how active your were even as a little girl! I have been interested in animals and nature since my childhood too but it was not until my late teens or even early 20s when I started to be more involved and educated in environmentalism as such. All the best to your newly planted "forest" - may it be home to as much wildlife as possible one day :)

ah thanks for your nice words @phortun! I wish I could do more, honestly, but it is what it is =) One tree at a time lol

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62581.77
ETH 2546.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75