You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What have you done for this planet lately?

in #activism6 years ago

You have a lovely heart! It is quite sad that most people don't even think about the impact they have or get overwhelmed by not realizing that even small things count. I love some of my close friends, but it makes me cringe every time they go get their nails done. I don't know why, but that one really bothers me. Perhaps because that waste and all the chemicals are all for superficial aesthetic appearance. I know there are a lot of ethical cosmetic companies out there, but it is still an industry that produces a lot of waste so I try to keep my use to a minimum.

I definitely have a long way to go, but I appreciate little reminders like this to keep trying harder. We are working on our garden again, I keep trying to be even more mindful of continuing to buy in bulk, and my car is littered with my reusable bags. My favorite vinegar store just announced today they are giving freebies away for bringing your own bag. They already let you re-fill your clean bottles, so it makes me happy to support a store that thinks of their impact.

Sort:  

oh it looks like your are doing plenty of little things already, that's awesome!

I agree, the cosmetic industry as a whole is awful. Lost of them test on animals, and of course they produce lots of waste. Ever since I've discovered coconut oil, I've cut down the amount of products I use moisturizers, hair stuff etc) by maybe 98%. When I visit my friend's houses I'm always amazed (in a negative way) at how many little bottles and products they have. Ahhh the power of the media...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62447.99
ETH 2513.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67