Thanksgiving & Nutritional Research [Oct.14.2019]🅰️steemCreated with Sketch.

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)


So today was Canadian Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving is one of my all time favourite times of the year! Here’s what we ate including some Grade AAA Angus Beef (something Alberta Canada is famous for)! It’s a bit of a break from the traditional big bird but boy was it tasty!

Question: What word do you think conveys the meaning of the Holiday better? “Thankful” or “Grateful”? Is there a difference between these to words?

Last year I decided to start a new family tradition in my home... whenever we are all together around a table with food on it I take the opportunity to ask each of my family members seated there what they are grateful for. I want to encourage an environment of gratefulness and open communication in my home.

Here’s another reason I decided to establish this tradition...

Did you know that it’s impossible to simultaneously hold a negative thought in your mind while practicing gratefulness? Try it and get back to me!

So in order to strengthen the SPIRIT health compounder in my home... (By the way... I’m not indicating religious belief here but rather SPIRITUAL health.) I decided that this was an important practice to adopt. Something that I could actively do to bring everyone together while dispelling negativity in my home.

So what are you grateful for? 🙂

I think it’s something that’s pretty important to think about (especially on Thanksgiving) don’t you?

NUTRITION SYSTEM.jpg
So in addition to Thanksgiving I also spent some time putting together this nutritional dashboard. My idea is to turn basic food items into quantifiable units that can be readily compared. Rather than buying expensive pre-packaged protein or energy bars I thought it might make way more sense just to take the time to find out what’s actually in food basics. I have been wanting to build a system to rapidly assess the nutrient value of items like the pumpkin seeds show above. I realize that there are probably some pretty good apps out there that do this... but there’s something about building a custom dashboard that has all your own figures and health metrics already factored in. What do you think? Would this be useful for choosing better and more cost effective things to eat?

I’m going to systematically be working on my diet over the coming winter. This is Step 1. Step 2 will be to carefully select assisting nutritional supplements (which I will be sharing with you all soon. I’m just getting it all organized.) and Step 3 will be to reboot the #OneMore Initiative.

I realize that I’m probably biting off more than I can chew half the time... but I’m going to keep trying and continue to learn from my failings... and guess what... I’m going to continue to bring you all along for the ride!

Thank you everybody!

You all (you know who you guys and girls are!) make the Steem Blockchain a worthwhile place to be! Happy Thanksgiving all you all!
IMG_6059.JPG

wil.metcalfe
Fitness Entrepreneur
Certified Personal Trainer
@BeachReady
@AdventureReady
@Actifit
@EveryStepCounts
@OneMoreNutrition


SET S.M.A.R.T. GOALS!


[MORE ABOUT WIL] [ACTIFIT REFERRAL LINK]


ACTIFIT PROFILE.png

10221
Daily Activity

Sort:  

Great stepping 💪 and must have been a fantastic Thanksgiving day🎉. Your food looked absolutely delicious 😋.
I love that new tradition you started for your family 🙌.
We don't celebrate Thanksgiving day here in Kenya but am grateful for many things. But number one thing am thankful for is just being alive and healthy 👌.
Wishing you an awesome Wednesday ahead. Keep stepping and enjoy your activities 👍 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes Eric! We have so very much to be grateful for and as a practice it’s pretty important (I think) to keep this mindset front of mind!

I hope that you are inspired to incorporate gratefulness as a tradition and as a minimum a routine. It’s life changing!

So on that note... thank you truly for your friendship here on the Steem Blockchain... and thank you for each and every effort you make to connect.

I hope that you are well and that your efforts are yielding good results. 🙂

That plate is looking delicious.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This meal hit the spot Rogerine! Us Canadians celebrate Thanksgiving a little bit earlier than our brothers and sisters to the south so this should prove as a reminder of all the things we get to look forward to!

I hope that you are doing well! Thank you for reaching out to me. You are one of my Steem Friends that make this experience real to me so thank you for that! 🙂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 65.5 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10221 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.77% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93