#needleworkmonday | Christmas project part 1: December 9 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Suddenly, Christmas has become real - people are coming to stay and I need to organise some food and festivities. After I'd finished messing about making Brioche loaves, I set to sorting out beds and bedrooms, duvets and pillows and enough bed linen for all of them.

I've made a shopping list (bought the Baileys already, it might be needed for medicinal purposes), ordered the goose and found the Christmas decorations from long ago when the children were small.

IMG_2421.JPG
I have a special guest visiting, her first English Christmas, there's a lot to live up to. Way back in October, I started making this Christmas Tree tea-cosy, then I went to Steemfest and it all went down hill from there. Today, I picked it up and worked out how to decrease in crocodile stitch.

I found the pattern on the The Twisted Yarn blog (you can download the pattern for free). When it's finished, it'll look like this:
IMG_2422.JPG
Source The decorations are crocheted in the pattern, but I'm going to find some little buttons and wooden beads from my collection to add to mine.

I also baked a Christmas cake this afternoon, using a recipe from the Nigel Slater book I picked up on my travels round the charity shops the other day. I haven't made a Chistmas cake for years, I'm not over fond of it, although a slice with a piece of cheese is nice, but this year has to have all the traditional trimmings.

I'm trying not to use steemit.com in the interests of decentralisation and building resilience for the steem blockchain.

As you're here ... how about ...

contributing to @adollaraday's December giving target

checking @phoenixwren's Ever Green December Challenge

IMG_2419.JPG
Credit: @riverflows



6000
House Chores, Shopping, Walking

Sort:  

The tea cosy is so beautiful. I love your darker color much better than the original and can imagine it with only some flecks of white as decoration. I for a long tome wanted to make such a tea coy as I have a book with knitted ones and they are all so beautiful (but I think very complicated to make)
And now I have to research the Christmas cake :-DDD
But I do not understand '(...) I'm trying not to use steemit.com in the interests of decentralisation and building resilience for the steem blockchain' I think I missed something. Would you like to explain why it is better not to use steemit? 🙏🙏

Okay ... there has been some stirrings in the steem community because steemit inc, the blockchsin developers, have made 70% of their staff redundant and have stated that they are re-focusing on blockchain development rather than the many other things that need to be done (eg bringing more users to the steem community). Overall, I believe this is a good thing and there are lots of discussions about how to build the steem community and make it more resilient. Steemit is one of the main ways that people use the blockchain although there are many other apps - busy, steempeak, steeve - that do the same thing and this is a potential vulnerability for steem. I'm trying to adapt my use of another app but I must admit it is difficult to do, especially as I quite like steemit 😊.
If you would like to know more there is a radio show on Thursday on discord.

Thank you for the explanation... as I am also a heavy user of steemit. I still haven't activated Partico on the phone and seldom use steempeak, busy etc. I think I must read/hear a bit more about this topic. Thank you for the link <3

Oh gosh that is the cutest thing! I honestly love it the way it is now lol!! However I look forward to seeing the finished decorations!! How fun will that be! 😃

I have been curious to see how I would do crocheting that stitch but haven’t got around to it of course.

I know you have lots to do and are busy tending to guests, have fun and enjoy those loved ones!!

The crocodile stitch tree is adorable! It will be a nice addition to your Holiday decor! We put up a few lights tonight but otherwise are not planning on decorating too much.

Thank you - I thought it was fun 😊

very original idea with a kettle for brewing tea. I have not seen anything like it

It's very English 😊

That looks great, @shanibeer. Many thanks for the link - I was actually wondering how to decrease when using that stitch :D
I haven't done anything re Xmas yet...

I found the pattern hard to follow, but youtube came to the rescue :)
I enjoyed the stitch, it's so chunky!

I love the crocheted Christmas tree. It is so cute.

Thank you :) it is fun, isn't it?

Love the tea cosy - I hope we'll see a photo of the finished "tree" :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you 😊 - yes, the finale next week!

I'm loving the cosy!

I'm not sure it's downhill from there. That's a tough act to follow!

Posted using Partiko Android

Steemfest was fabulous but such a great distraction. I've been drawn into so much more including discord, and knitting and crocheting activities have definitely gone downhill since. I was jolted into tea-cosy action when I met a mutual friend in town who told me my guest was arriving on 18th December! I was touched really that the bond was strong enough that she didn't feel she had to make formal arrangements (it's the young person who was my foster placement for two years), although we had spoken about it in passing in October, and was just going to tun up for the holidays.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hello @partiko, it makes me happy every time I see you :)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 49.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 6000 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 5.37% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75