A Birthday Long Run {From Sneakers to Heels!}

in #actifit5 years ago

Hey everyone! I'm back with my weekly running report on a fantastic day--my birthday! What better way to celebrate than to get out and feel alive with a run? I couldn't have asked for a nicer morning to get outside.

My new Merrell running shoes came on Friday, so between today and the weekend I've run in them three times now. I'm really happy with them so far. They have the minimal feel I like, but a little bit more protection in the sole against rocks and other small obstructions. When I first put them on I was worried they might be a bit stiff. Luckily that proved not to be the case. Now that I have a new style I like again I hope they keep them around for a long time!

Today was another long run on the training plan. I was smart and kept my pace conservative to start, then ramped it up just a bit on the second half. The slow mile in the middle was when I stopped for a minute to peel off some layers as I got warmed up. 😉 At this point I'm still feeling really great in my training! I got in an easy-paced 4 miles the day after my long run last week, a speed session on Saturday and a REALLY easy 3 mile run this past Sunday. All along with my strength training I shared about last update.

I went out with some girlfriends to celebrate my birthday on Saturday evening, so I traded out the sneakers for some heels! We had a blast, but stayed out quite late. Thus the very low impact run on Sunday. The weather has mostly just been stunning lately making it so fun to get out and just enjoy being outside!

No complaints from this birthday girl! I'm happy to be fit and healthy as I begin another year of life! 😊

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


20074
Daily Activity, Running

Sort:  

Look at you with all the fancy kit! 😁

Betcha don't run in those heels?

I hope you had a really nice evening with the girls and, even though I have sung it for you already, happy birthday.

Gaz

Haha, definitely no running in those heels! I hardly wear anything other than athletic gear, so it's tough enough just to walk in them!

I appreciate the serenade and the well wishes! :)

You're welcome. 😁

Great you can join step challenge on garmin, find me there the same nickname.see you

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy Birthday Katie! You look fabulous, and I'm quite jealous of your new running shoes, lol Nothing like a new pair of running shoes, makes me smile when I put them on and run the first run, right? What a great day, glad to hear you had fun with friends to celebrate!

Thank you! I was already starting to get blisters from the pair I was running in, so the new shoes were much needed! Thank goodness the styles have come along way now, too, so that they look pretty snazzy. I remember when I was younger it was rough having such big feet because all the shoes were so ugly. Now I can be comfortable and stylish in my running gear, haha!

Happy Birthday. Nice running shoes and nice heels! You look great for your birthday celebration. I'm still jealous of your perfect push up form on #seven77. Great actifitting! Enjoy that nice weather for me, still waiting for it here.

Thank you on all fronts! Just continuing to enjoy being a part of the fit Steem lady gang! We all inspire each other and countless others! Wish I could send some sunshine and warm weather your way. 🌞

Posted using Partiko Android

Looking strong!!💪💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Feeling strong! :)

Happy birthday! Nice presents!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks Eddie! I am hoping those new shoes will carry me into many more excellent runs ahead!

Happy Birthday Katie !
Nice to read everything is going great

Thank you! The birthday month was good to me, so I'm trying to take a page out of your book and set some solid goals to continue into April!

Happy happy birthday lovely Katie, the gal and her heels look gorgeous, just glowing with health! Wishing you tons of blessings now and always :)

Many thanks dear @lizelle! I have no complaints this year! There's always ups and downs, but I'm going to keep this glow going and continue to share it with the world! :)

I love minimalism and made the transition a few years back. If you've not used them before ensure you transition carefully as the low heel can cause problems :)

Posted using Partiko Android

You are definitely correct in that it takes time to transition! I've been running in minimal shoes for quite a while now, too, but the first few weeks my calves were really sore. Now I can't imagine running in anything different! I had just switched brands from Merrell to New Balance after Merrell stopped making the style I had been running in, but the New Balance were not quite the right fit. I like working out in them otherwise, but I'm happier in the new Merrells for running. They are vegan-friendly, as well, which makes my little animal-loving heart happy. :)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 68 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 20074 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.63% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31