My Actifit Report Card: October 28 2018 (Out and about in Penang)

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Work and Fitness LinkedIn Post Header.jpg
Me and my little Chapati at breakfast!

Hey, Actifit Steemians this is my first ever Actifit posting. This week has been a week of firsts for me and it is exciting. Actually, I started using Actifit in early September. However, it has never really worked well for me. I am a super active person! I commute every day to work on the train and my job requires me to move around a lot. I am a recruiter you see and I have to meet with a lot of candidates and on top of that, I go for meetings with clients as well. Then when I get home, I have to run after my two little boys so you can imagine?

But somehow the app doesn't seem to capture my activity properly even though I start the app in the morning. I have also enabled "Aggressive Tracking" but it doesn't seem to make any difference. I checked with some of my fellow Mamas and the app seems to work for them. It has been frustrating as I have been trying to be diligent with the app but unfortunately, it just doesn't work for me. My own health trackers tells me everday that I do a lot more activity than what is captures on the Actifit app. Since it has been over a month now since I started using the app and still couldn't get it to work for me, I decided that I was just going to post it anyway today once and for all. Future postings are probably not going to be forthcoming unless I figure out what I am doing wrong. By the way, I am using a Huawei Mate 9 and I am wondering if this is an Android issue or just a user issue! All in good fun right?

Actifit records.png
I tried! I really did! I have heaps more records but don't want to clutter this post!

So today's activity was all about walking, sightseeing, shopping and eating! We are in Penang with hubby's parents for the weekend to visit his sister who lives here. This is a once a year tradition that we make an effort to keep as it is one of the few times a year that we get together as a family for a few days. My sister-in-law owns a Montessori pre-school in Penang and every year around this time she has her school concert and graduation ceremony. It is a big affair indeed yesterday.

IMG_20181027_103920.jpg

Today, we spent the morning at the Penang Botanical Gardens, eating melt in your mouth chapati, roti canai and tosai. We also drank a lot of teh tarik and then went to check out the Sunshine Farlim Shopping Mall. It reminded me of the local version of the Tesco hypermarket. Price wise, I expected it to be cheaper overall but I reckon I could get some better deals in KL.

Screenshot_20181029-003606.jpg
Check out this Chapati and Roti Canai Place the next time you are in the Penang Botanical Gardens. No, no murtabak but got tosai

IMG_20181028_115650.jpg
The next time you get bored of Tesco go check this place out!

Then the other highlight of the day was going to a Biscuit Center! It was a shop that sold every kind of biscuit that you could think of. It was nostalgic because some of the biscuits were what I used to eat before when I was a kid so I had a pretty awesome time there! You can imagine my Chapati and Murtabak went bananas when they saw the shop!

IMG_20181028_134345.jpg
He couldn't wait to go in and Mama had to torture him for a photo

IMG_20181028_134105.jpg
Ice Gems...doesn't this bring back memories?

We got home to rest a little while and after the kiddos had slept for a good two hours they were ready for the pool of course! They never miss pool time when we come to Penang. We are so fortunate that our condo has pretty decent pool facilities complete with a jacuzzi!

We finally ended the day with dinner at the Batu Ferringhi Long Beach Cafe. (I think...can't remember the name of the place but I am pretty sure) Basically the food court/hawker centre just after the Shangri-La Rasa Sayang Resort. The boys fell asleep pretty quick and Mama here finally gets some peace to finish this posting!

Thanks for reading my super long Actifit post everyone!

Love,
Khim



8576
Shopping, Walking

Sort:  

Hello @khimgoh!..Welcome to @actifit family!.
Your kid is very cute. And you seem to be enjoying your time with your kid and family. And those images are stunning.

sorry for all the trouble mam!
We are glad that you have been using the app for a long time now. We are always happy to help you. It seems there is some problems with Huawei phones. Can you please check doze mode option on your phone mam. Also check whether you have updated your app to latest version or not.That worked for most of our users. You will get steps directly in Google for doze mode settings. If problem still persists please join our discord so that we can troubleshoot problem together and solve the issue as soon as possible.

@kpreddy - @actifit Moderator | Chat with us on discord
Visit our website | FAQs | Android app tutorial | Video Tutorial

As a result of finding this gem of a post, you've been accordingly rewarded 50 Actifit tokens, as well as an Actifit upvote.
rulersig2.jpg
Actifit..Rewarding Fitness Activity
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Hey hello @kpreddy thank you for dropping by my post!

Yes my little Chapati is a cutie. I have another younger one too and he is another cutie and super cheeky! But then again I am biased! 😂

I am so glad that it's not a user problem!🤣 I kept thinking that there must be something that I am not doing right. Phew! Yes I will try out your suggestion and see if it works! Thanks again I really appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post has been hand-picked by an Actifit moderator for Actifit reward as having great content.
Well done!
You've been accordingly rewarded 150 Actifit tokens, as well as an Actifit upvote.
rulersig2.jpg
Actifit..Rewarding Fitness Activity
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thank you so much for the reward! I really appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello. Nice to meet you.

I've similar issues with the app on my Xiaomi phones.

Check the Battery and performance settings. Then Battery saver within them.

Set them like this for Actifit:

image.png

image.png

I do hope that setting at Huawei phones are similar to these on Xiaomi.

Good luck!

Ps: as you can see my counts increased drastically after the change of the settings:
image.png

Hey @ervin-lemark thank you for dropping by my post. Wow! Indeed your activity counts is through the roof! Will see if my Huawei can adjust that too! Thank you!!

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome. Hope it helps. You could also try to contact Huawei support and ask them how to revoke these saving settings from the particular app. Good luck 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

@ervin-lemark I just had to let you know that I managed to locate the battery settings for my Huawei so a little different from the Xiaomi but it works! It works! My activity count is definitely more in line with my daily normal activities! Yay!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is excellent news. Happy for you :)

@kpreddy would you consider putting the gist of these instructions into the help section of the app? Thank you very much in advance.

My thoughts exactly, I was going to post something specifically for my Huawei so that other Huawei users can get the most out of the awesome app!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for helping out our friend! I will definitely add this in help section.

You are welcome. In the meantime, both @khimgoh will make a post with instructions for our phone brand. It is always better to have more information :)

Another thought - they say that battery might be affected and drain faster. From my experience, nothing significantly changed.

So, happy and fruitful @actifit -ing :)

Wow! That's great to hear.. looking forward to your next actifit post. And please mention the settings that worked for you so that our friends cannot face this problem in future.

Congratulations @khimgoh! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50