Create or Claim an Account

in #accountcreation6 years ago (edited)

spamcomments2.jpg

Now that we, I and @eccles have almost figured out who were these spammers and how to deal with them, I'd like to tackle another question that rose up in yesterdays post: Spammers and Conspiracy Theories.

Or maybe not just yet...

One theory has not been mentioned. You know the ultimate natural law of farts that are released in company of more than 2 people? How to know who was it? Who farted? Of course it's always the one that asks: "Who farted?" Now go and look at the comments on the post where I was asking a bunch of questions where the spammers parked right on the front door. Exactly! We now have two more suspects! HA! :D

Now let's get to the question.

How to create or claim an account?

Steemit.com, Anon Steem, SteemCreate, SteemConnect and BlockTrades.

@gmichelbkk
https://steemit.com/steemit/@gmichelbkk/4-ways-to-create-a-new-account-on-steem
and
https://steemit.com/steemit/@gmichelbkk/how-to-create-a-new-account-on-steem-fast

You need a phone number, e-mail and in some cases money. Are those mentioned above still valid?

I created my secondary accounts with Vessel Wallet and it took me about 15 SP, 2 STEEM and hours and hours to come up with the names. I have no idea if I could create an account with Vessel now, after hard fork 20, and with those same SP and STEEM amounts. I've used it only to occasionally claim payments and delegating. But that might be one possible option.

Read @valth's post about how to claim an account.

https://steemit.com/steem/@valth/how-to-claim-steem-accounts-by-spending-your-resource-credits

So with enough RC you can create an account and with that account, as before, you can invest in Steemit by buying more SP. And having more SP and RC is good if you want to do something here.

One option are apps. How many apps offer the possibility to create an account? Do they monitor the accounts created in any way? Do they offer SP also on top of the created account on their behalf and if they do, do they undelegate an account as Steemit.com does if someone uses the account for spamming? Or does the account have 0 SP in it and new people have to invest in Steemit before they can even try to do anything here?

But if we want to prevent spammers? Spammers who buy accounts that are created by various people in Steemit.com? Spammers who do invest money to their alt accounts? Spammers who do have the RC to do everything they want with it?

@slobberchops
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@slobberchops/abuse-series-vote-farms-1541624719931

Or those who create alt accounts solely to upvote themselves? Huge accounts. Do we want to prevent that kind of behavior?

Sort:  

Me starts to think all these spammers are commenting your posts solely because you tend to upvote all your comments.

I don't upvote all of the comments in my posts, but I upvote many of them. Still, you seem to be attracting them all and these guys never appear on my posts. How strange.

I didn't upvote the spammers. I downvoted them with 100% and it felt goooooooooooood! :D And I don't upvote all the comments that are made by real people. Maybe 99.99%... :D Maybe they came here because I said I would upvote comments.

I upvoted you. :)

Yes, that's my guess. They came to receive a free candy! Ahahhahah! :-D

Your posts are so alluring, outstandingly sublime. Just classic, clean and appealing. They have to tell you.

Another guess: maybe it Machine Learning. The goal is to find out how to automate good commenting in order to get upvoted. Under the present system it is way more profitable to get your comments liked than to make money via curation. Probably also when rewards would be split 50/50 instead of the present 75/25. This will probably also work with SMT.
In that case upvotes and flags will be valuable information which you are supplying at your cost.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's one possible option.

If it's Machine Learning, the best way to confuse it is to put a 25 rep account automatically upvote few random of those comments with 1% and another 25 rep account randomly downvote few of the comments. So they would think they have figured out the best comments, but haven't.

I'll do that. Tomorrow. Or the day after that if I have time because I have to pet my cats and eat ice cream. Or next year. Or the year 2525.

Hm, I was considering saving up SBD for a Seem monsters starter, 'cause I won a bunch of boosters in a contest :P But maybe I could create and alt account instead, in lieu of having something like a separate feed for low-key sharing dlike/musing/steemhunt links/posts that I wouldn't normally re-share on my personal feed for fear of spamming people. Having to post to your main feed is one of the reasons I haven't joined actifit, for example.

Does one need a second phone number to register another account, or could you use the same one?.

I have only experience of creating an account via Steemit.com and Vessel Wallet and before the hard fork. I believe Steemit.com asked for phone numbers because they wanted to make sure they create only one account / person. So if you have several phone numbers, they don't create that to you if they find out. At least that how things were before hf20.

Now I don't know because an account can be created with 0SP as well and then you just delegate SP from your own first account or buy some SP.

I used Vessel because it was the cheapest option then. But now I don't know. If it's still the cheapest, I'd recommend it because it was so easy.
But the latest release is from last year and some minor change 3 moths ago so I wouldn't mess around with it creating accounts.
https://github.com/aaroncox/vessel

But when you find a suitable way for you to create / claim an account, I think you should do that. For Actifit reason if nothing else! :)

Right now attempting to create a new account through Steemit already offers multiple paid options, including SteemConnect with a very reasonable fee of just 3 STEEM. Neat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50