@GrumpyCat is a Monster

in #abuse6 years ago (edited)

Please view this comment

I am a community user. I am fairly new. My account is less than 30 days old. I have already been downvoted tremendously. My posts have ZERO visibility and I have to pay to get my posts recognized.

I spent over $100 of my hard earned money and @grumpycat stole it right away from me. What the hell is this!? What community allows such a monster to rob people.

You have made an enemy today. I am going to campaign against @grumpycat with everthing that is in me because @grumpycat is hurting this community.

Please resteem this. I would upvote it myself, but this monster took every last penny I had.

Sort:  

I'm not trying to pick sides here, just describing the intention behind the downvote you received from Grumpy. The reward pool that gets distributed each day is shared among everyone, there's a set amount. There are people using paid upvote bots to abuse the system. Bots that sell upvotes to posts close to their payday are considered especially abusive by GrumpyCat, which is why you got that downvote.

If you want to avoid this happening again make sure to only buy upvotes from bots that have a "Max Age" of 3.5 or less listed here: https://steembottracker.com/

Again I'm not picking sides, I'm just saying what happened. Your anger is definitely understandable.

I know what happened, but it's a misuse of the downvote. The downvote is intended for the community to regulate payout to an appropriate value. This was basically @grumpycat saying my content wasn't worth $5. You can't use a downvote the way @grumpycat is using it. It breaks the system equally as bad as voting bots.

Further, from my own investigation I can tell the following:

So I have to disagree with you. I think personally, the best way to keep this from happening again is to get the community to shut down @grumpycat.

I think people look at bots the wrong way. They supplement the system by providing a missing feature. Voting bots basically fix a broken promotion system. Any working feature of a monetary system can be abused though. I get that they can drain the reward pool, but even without voting bots users will find ways to drain the reward pool. You can't blame the feature for what people do. As a result, it gives way to another kind of abuse: downvote abuse which is evident from the existence of @grumpycat. Just like with the @haejin nonsense, it gave way to another community of downvoters to counter the abuse of self-voting.

The trend is to answer abuse with...more abuse. That is NOT an answer.

Thank you @r351574nc3 for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 3.67% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60888.47
ETH 3392.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57