Sort:  

And with that, the 4000 Steem Power I've delegated to around 15 accounts for nothing would disappear, along with the delegations to the applications currently driving the Steem Blockchain forward.

People can say what they like about vote buying and bid-bots, but the option to delegate stake to individuals and these applications is what is driving the Blockchain this application sits on.

I am guilty of this myself, but I would advise people not to get too close to Steemit.com, it has been (and still is) the launch pad, but it won't be what takes STEEM to the moon.

All my humble opinion of course.

I would advise people not to get too close to Steemit.com, it has been (and still is) the launch pad, but it won't be what takes STEEM to the moon.

Wise words! Or as Ned said Steemit is an example on how to build an app on the Steem blockchain.

With regards to delegations, I agree that it's a very powerful tool. As with all types of empowerment, they need to be used in an appropriate way. @stellabelle published an awesome article in that context 3 months back: SP Delegatee Menu To Solve The Vote Selling Problem

With power comes responsibility, even when it's just borrowed :-)

Marly!

You've been missing my blogs I can tell :p

I did the 'responsible' analysis of the the people on that list: https://steemit.com/steemit/@abh12345/dear-stellabelle-potential-delegates-report-1

I ran the stats each week for @fulltimegeek's #stewardsofgondor

https://steemit.com/stewardsofgondor/@abh12345/fulltimegeek-and-the-stewardsofgondor-steemit-appreciates-you

And I run weekly stats on the engagement of my delegates, as well as paying a lot of them to engage https://steemit.com/steemit/@abh12345/58vhut-steemit-the-curation-leagues-sbd-and-delegation-prizes

When 'abuse' has been spotted, the delegation has quickly been revoked, but overall, It's been a fantastic exercise.

Proof being in that many of @fulltimegeek's stewards of gondor, my delegates, and people perhaps wishing to be delegates, are among The 201 most prolific commentators on the Steem Blockchain (2018)

Check the comments on that post (the 6th highest total according to @arcange yesterday) if you wish to see who's really providing the grease to the (b)chain.

Thanks!

I didn't say that it's not taking place, did I? :-)

What about those who received large delegations from steemit: dtube, dlive and utopian-io? I read your analysis about their voting behavior (including curie), but when I look at their stats, their VP is always around 90% or even close to 100%. When I look at my own it's seldomly above 70%, and still I'm short in votes :-)

Wouldn't we expect them to use the delegation to fully spread their power and push as much creators as possible? Maybe it's a question of manpower and their focus is rather on development than curation. In my eyes delegation is perfectly used when maxed out. But you know I'm that romantic content creator :-)

Have a great day Ash!

:)

No you didn't, just making it clear that responsible actions are taking place with delegated SP.

As long as the voting power of the above accounts doesn't hit 100%, then VP is not being 'wasted' as such. Voting power recovers quicker, the higher it is and so this is why it's never too far from the max when you look in the accounts that own millions - they keep a very watchful eye.

I have seen dtube sat at 100% VP for an hour or two at certain times (and badgered the boss about it) which I do see as a waste, both for the owners of this DSP (curation missed) and the content creators seeking votes.

utopian-io do their voting with scripts, on manually approved contributions. The script begins once the VP has returned to 100%, and I think shuts off around 80-85%. (The approved contributions must wait til the following voting cycle).

It's actually the same for the bid-bots in some respects, they have (11?)voting rounds each day, which start when VP hits 100%.

In short, it is the plan to keep VP high, and as long as it's not at 100% (idle) it's all good :)

Have a great day on the slopes too!

How does that look online?

Is it using DLive, DTube, Zappl, etc? Making sure you have a presence there? Staying tuned to the new apps that come online?

I'd love to hear more about the ecosystem in this regard.

Yes those accounts, and the biggest one (currently) @utopian-io.

These apps are rewarding content specific to their applications and are bringing Youtubers, developers, gamers to produce content, and perhaps even invest.

I forgot to mention SMTs, more on @steemitblog's recent post and i've done a couple of hopefully easy starter posts:

https://steemit.com/steem/@abh12345/anyone-who-tells-you-smt-will-not-increase-the-value-of-steem-is-talking-out-of-their-backside

https://steemit.com/steem/@abh12345/smt-for-the-attention-of-vango-com

Don't vote them, they are months old :)

That VanGo case study is very interesting to me.

I have this problem with my content and my business, for sure. We're indispensable within our niche, but there is little culture for paying for knowledge. So we're taken for granted.

SMT looks like it could be a great deal for us as an online content producer and meat space business.

Any links on startup costs and whatnot?

And I went to utopian, but I don't understand what's happening there.

Is it a crowdsourced app development platform? I always check out at GitHub.

I cross my fingers and hope I can get my tarball and get installed. I've installed and admin'd all the big CMS and most of the learning platforms and wikis.

I've got a couple of ideas cooking, been cooking for a REALLY long time... I've been thinking that this community (STEEM) is a place to get them done.

SMT Whitepaper: https://smt.steem.io/smt-whitepaper.pdf

Not an easy read, and no news on release dates - @steemitblog's recent post has further details.

I downloaded it and skimmed it. Super heady stuff. I just want a link so I can give them my dollar and start my empire!
muahahahaaha haha, etc

I actually think SMT is a terrific way to create your 1000 True Fans empire.

I'd like to give it a shot. Nothing else has worked. :-D

I want to try it.

Thanks for the response. I'll check out Utopian...

I think I've read one or two of those. And I seem to be hopeless about upvoting old content. I see it as a meaningful thing, independent of the monetary value. Have to work on that.

I'd vote for them, too :-)

I'd delegate my 30 witness votes to someone who knows who they are and will vote for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95