Zappl. A Plain Haiku Experiment.

in #zappl7 years ago (edited)


Image Credit

I, bored on a plane,

watch multiple films from screens

of other people.

Non Zappl Content

A lot of the movies had subtitles, and even the ones that didn't were still interesting to watch. I have a bad habit of looking at screens of others, regardless whether it is this plane screen or a random screen of a nearby laptop / phone. So keep them away from me :) :)

Everything above this section was what was contained as a zap on Zappl. If you don't know yet, Zappl is a micro-blogging site built off the steem blockchain. It does post to steemit too (for the moment). See for example this post for more information about the platform.

Timeline and Further Comments

Well, party over. The first edit I made to attempt to correct the spaces in the preview (Just by adding spaces before the end tag BR tags), caused it to disappear from zappl altogether. Moving my steemit-only comments to this area now.

I did take a screenshot prior to the edit though. Here's what it was before I edited, from the zappl UI:

Screenshot 2017-10-28 at 1.04.47 PM.png

Here's a rough timeline of what I did.

  1. Post haiku on zappl, uploading an image of a plane.
  2. Post reply on steemit, and edited it with observations while playing around with zappl/steemit.
  3. Post reply from zappl.
  4. "Hmm... Zappl UI does not offer edits, but Steemit does.... What happens if...." Edited main post for spaces.
  5. Realized I destroyed the zap forever. Started to consolidate information into the post itself.

Some observations (copied from first comment):

  • A reply on steemit does not show up in zappl, but registers in the count for number of comments.
  • The image uploaded in zappl does not show in the post for steemit, but is in the thumbnail for both. Actually this makes sense as the comment itself does not have the image.
  • The newlines of the poem above seem to be stripped in preview mode, in both zappl and steemit UI.
  • Zappl self-vote upvotes the post at 25% power, as I discovered from steemnow.
  • Zappl will be taking 15% of the rewards from this post I believe (Thanks @FknMayhem for the info), link: https://steemdb.com/zappl/@eonwarped/zappl-a-plain-haiku/data
  • Even after destroying my main zap, the reply I made from zappl still shows up in the zappl UI. And actually, this link still works, and shows the zap removed, with my comment: https://zappl.com/#!/zappl/eonwarped/zappl-a-plain-haiku
  • I'm guessing from glimpsing at conversations about zappl that there's something in the future to have zaps not show up on steemit, which would make sense. Just look at all the chaos on this post and comments haha... :)
Sort:  

Hi @eonwarped,
Congrats! Your post has been featured in The Daily Qurator #50. I hope you like it!

Your Quality Curator,
Dr. TLK :D

P.S: Welcome to @qurator ;)

Image if viewing from steemit:

Image Credit: Searched on google images, but it's from this site: https://skift.com/2015/05/13/six-hand-me-down-ife-solutions-which-are-pretty-good-news-for-passengers/ .

A lot of the movies had subtitles, and even the ones that didn't were still interesting to watch. I have a bad habit of looking at screens of others, regardless whether it is this plane screen or a random screen of a nearby laptop / phone. So keep them away from me :) :)


Further edits reserved for below as I find out more info.

  • This does not show up in zappl, but registers in the count for number of comments.
  • The image uploaded in zappl does not show in the post for steemit, but is in the thumbnail for both. Actually this makes sense as the comment itself does not have the image.
  • The newlines of the poem above seem to be stripped in preview mode, in both zappl and steemit UI.
  • Zappl self-vote upvotes the post at 25% power, as I discovered from steemnow.

This is a comment from Zappl. Nice post! I follow you, please follow back.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Apologies in advance for using this zappl playground post as my first qurator'd post. The next one will be more substantive :).

No apologies needed. An informative post is a good post!

Keep steeming :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31