"Jack and Jill" ... Zapfic Contest: Tell Me a Tale in 240 Characters or Less / ComedyOpenMic #41steemCreated with Sketch.

in #zapfic6 years ago (edited)

Image

"Serves 'em right."

Ben Jonson


"Of Jill's 'laces' ... those of her shoes were not the loosest."

Christopher Marlowe


#zapfic Writing Contest Week 38:

Write a story - inspired by the prompt 'tumble' - in 240 characters.


In the Contest Post's comments:

(BTW, Marg and I are best friends and I am her poetry Mentor. So, all of this is in good fun. Nevertheless, understand that she's a very cheeky Mentee.)

girlbeforemirror (66)
@quillfire! Like myself you have a gift for being overly inclusive with your words. Why use one precise word when you can utilise the entire thesaurus to create a vision of over inclusiveness? I love when you include a lengthy mansplaining addit to your tale too, just in case a dimension of it became a little ambiguous in the mix.
So here is a challenge for you. Trim it a little and retain the story. I think you can do it.


My Entry

Jack & Jill they took a spill
A tale that all do know
Cracked their heads, now both are dead
For fatal were the blows

Here’s a clue, Go Tie Your Shoes
Tied shoes prevent a stumble
Fate of fools to think you’re cool
On head to downward tumble

Character Count: 240 (precisely)


Open Letter to @girlbeforemirror

Dear Marg, my dear woman, as you know, it is the very purpose of my life to never disappoint a woman, and so when you opined, "I love when you include a lengthy mansplaining,” I realized how much you’ve come to appreciate my mentoring respecting diction, discourse and excellence of elocution in both poetry and prose.

And hence, I decided to provide you a bit more of the same.

Thus, following is a missive explaining the logic, reason and rationale underlying the construction of my entry. As you can see, it is in the form of a poem. As the poem has a regular meter, rhythm and rhyme scheme, we, in the English-speaking world (including Australia, which speaks English, and is, incidentally, both a country and a continent) refer to it as, 'Verse.'

The Power of Poetry is in the Pattern (indeed, the three P’s in the aforementioned is called ‘alliteration,’ itself a linguistic pattern). Over eons, our brains have evolved to be pattern-detection and pattern-matching machines. As such, when a pattern is detected, our brains secrete dopamine. Dopamine is the neurotransmitter responsible for creating focus, holding attention and the formation of long-term memory. It is also responsible for the sensation of 'wanting.’

If a patterned stimuli is 'pleasant,' it further triggers the secretion of ‘reward' chemicals: Endogenous opioids (the active ingredient in morphine); and, endocannibinoids (the active ingredient in marijuana ... a fact that may be of more than passing interest to a guy with a username like @felt.buzz). Since we tend to want more of what makes us feel good, this triggers the secretion of oxytocin (mostly in women) and vasopressin (mostly in men) … which are responsible for 'bonding' and 'trust.'

My ‘Tumble’ poem is written in Ballad Meter: Generally, 8/6/8/6 syllables per stanza with an iambic rhythm (da DUM da DUM) … although, to reduce characters, I limited a number of lines to seven syllables, yielding a poem of PRECISELY 240 characters, including the spaces. I was, alas, forced to cut a few commas and periods but, as a notorious punctuation-minimalist, I'm sure it's a sacrifice with which you can live ... assuming you noticed.

To further increase the amount of dopamine sloshing around @felt.buzz’s brain, thereby augmenting my chances of winning the Contest and becoming a very wealthy man, the odd-numbered lines employ ‘internal rhyme’ … intra-line rhyming.

Lastly, and I believe rather cleverly, I based my entry upon Shakespeare’s famous poem, “Jack And Jill Went Up The Hill,” finally explaining ‘the why’ of what befell (pun intended) these intriguing historic characters … a detail Shakespeare curiously omitted.

Well, Marg ... I hope you find this explanation helpful. It is important that the ‘fairer sex’ also have an opportunity to participate in the Literary Arts, so dominated by Men across the vast expanse of human history. But no worries, I stand as your Protector, your Sword and your Shield.


Sincere Regards,

Quill

Character Count: 3,000 (precisely)


This post is an entry into @felt.buzz's competition: ZapFic Contest: Tell Me a Tale in 240 Characters or Less.

It also serves as my 2nd entry in @ComedyOpenMic #41.


For participation in both contests, I nominate @lymepoet & @hlezama.


You guys know the drill. Be verbose ... but articulate.

And remember ...

Go Love A Starving Poet

For God's sake ... they're starving!



Sort:  

Hi quillfire,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Fabulous poem, with some great advice to avoiding tumbles! Love it! Great job! 😁

@thkittygirl,

Thanks Kitty.

It was foolish but fun. :-)

Quill

Can I double follow good teachers such as yourself?

I enjoyed reading the whole article. Thank you for sharing! And also for taking the time to do it for us!

@manoldonchev,

Thanks mate. A smile is the best present. Merry Christmas.

Quill

The banter is strong in this one! Good luck in the contest, I was laughing more at your succinct riposte to your student but the poem was fun to read as well, as are your posts in general - you funny man you!

@nickyhavey,

Thanks mate. Part of my ploy is to coax @girlbeforemirror into writing comedic pieces. She has a WICKED sense of humor. We communicate in book-length emails and her wit and writing is reminiscent of Mark Twain. It's that good. If she wanted, she could own @comedyopenmic.

The problem is, she saves all the best stuff for private communiques. In public, she insists on being polite. And so, I do everything in my power as a 'bad influence' to provoke her into unleashing the beast.

Quill

Keep coaxing her, I want to see this beast unleashed.

I adopt the 80/20 approach of online politeness. 80% of the time I will be polite but the other 20% the little cheeky monkey decides to come out and play (which I secretly enjoy) 🙊

Posted using Partiko Android

Love this (the poem and all of the related banter)! ;) And kudos for being included in @curie's author showcase a few days ago! Well-deserved from the little bit I have read of your work so far.

@plantstoplanks,

Thanks Plants.

The @curie Author Showcase was unexpected (as I didn't know it existed) but a great honor. Given all the vote-buying and selling, Hot & Trending don't mean anything with respect to Curation of Quality. Curie's Author Showcase is therefore the closest thing the blockchain's got to a functional mechanism for highlighting quality work. Bless those good folks and whoever supports them.

Quill

@curie does a fantastic job of finding those hidden gems and supporting great content! It's all manual curation, so they do the work to make sure the quality is there. 😃

I have to admit I didnt believe you could keep it at 240. I was proven wrong...until I wasnt, hence the 3000 lol. You crack me up Quill.

@old-guy-photos,

Laughing my ass off. :-)

It's all part of my latest Steemit Success Strategy (# 407 to be precise). I will bring the blockchain's Resource Credit system to its knees with my verbosity until, on his knees, @ned begs me to be brief. In exchange for brevity, I will extract permanent auto-upvotes on all my posts. I ... am the scaling problem!

Pretty clever, n'est pas?

Quill

I read it to my son and he loved. He wants to learn it and recite it to his teacher for read and tell.

@lymepoet,

Lavi ... that's Great!

Now there's an impressive twist ... showing up to Read and Tell ... with your own exclusive poem! One the teacher has never seen or heard. Advancing the Literary Arts even at his young age. Nice. You tell your son that even Shakespeare himself would have been impressed by such initiative.

Quill

@yestermorrow,

Thanks mate. Marg and I are best friends and we take sport in pretending to be provoked by each other. She's a great gal with a great sense of humor. Hugely creative too. Check ought her blog.

Lollercaust!

Haven't seen that one before ... nice! :-)

BTW ... great username.

Quill

As a mother, I actually sang out the song when I read your poem. Haha. Definitely can't sing to my children. But yes, awesome poem. A good tweak to the original one.

@iamjadeline,

As a mother, I actually sang out the song when I read your poem.

I consider that a high compliment indeed.

Thank you for your fine words.

Now ... go make your kids tie their shoes!

There's a teenage fad in the US ... the kids don't tie their shoelaces.

Why not?

I have no idea.

Some of the boys walk around with their pants, deliberately, falling off their butts. Are they trying to show off their expensive underwear? Is there such a thing as expensive Men's underwear?

More "I don't knows."

How any of them can think this is "cool" is beyond me. How does your clothes, literally falling off, project coolness? Maybe I'm too old to understand ... in which case I'm happy. :-)

Quill

You're not the only one who can't understand this underwear out fashion! What puzzles me the most about it is that not only teenagers embrace it, but also men in their 30's and 40's. Total turn off!

@lymepoet,

Hi Lavi, good to see you.

I'm surprised that the gals have not brought the hammer down. That's all it would take.

Men, despite their bravado and big mouths, wilt at the open disapproval of women. You know that scornful look of disdain that YOU and EVERY OTHER WOMAN on the planet possesses ... fire that their way a few times and they'll pull up their damned pants.

"I refuse to be seen in public with you with your pants falling off your ass. You've got 30 seconds to rectify the situation ... starting now."

The problem is that some of the gals are playing along and not punishing the lads for their stupidity.

"Well ... he's a rebel and I'm attracted to bad-boys."

The gals have to get together and set some limits on what constitutes "bad-boy-edness."

I know, I know ... why should the girls, again, be responsible for policing male behavior? Because that's how it works. Males perform for females and females perform for males. Their opinions of each other are at the heart of humanity. It's not sexism ... it's genetics.

As a man, I'm humiliated that us guys can't seem to handle this one on our own ... and so, we need to bring in the big guns ... girls.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63