Is Youtube Digging its own Grave?

in #youtube7 years ago (edited)

For the past 4 years I have been putting all my time and efforts into YouTube, while making a living off of it. I am the producer of world5list and Angelo is the producer for @theywillkillyou. We swapped action on our channels a long time ago and have been working together closely ever since. In addition, Angelo introduced me to Steemit a few days ago which, even though it’s still very early, has been an awesome ride so far!

Overall, YouTube has been a fun adventure. Coming from a poker background, it was great to look at the graphs every time and see consistent growth. I still praise myself lucky for being able to work this kind of job, but the days that I really enjoyed doing what I’m doing are long gone and it’s all “thanks to” Youtube’s inconsistent and unfair policies.

I wrote a post earlier today about the constant insults that creators and their followers have to put up with on the platform (https://steemit.com/youtube/@world5list/my-first-day-on-steemit-vs-4-poisonous-years-on-youtube). In all those years, those insults have gotten worse and worse without YouTube taking any serious action. I doubt that they ever will and based on that, none of what you are about to read should come as a surprise. I truly believe that YouTube is digging its own grave!

diggin-own-grave-youtube.png

Instead of focusing on cleaning up their website, YouTube is coming down harder and harder on content creators without ANY regards to the so called “partnershitp” that every channel is involved in with them. In reality, it’s more like a sweatshop than a partnership.

Many big channels had and have been suffering for a long time and some were forced to close shop a long time ago, because of YouTube’s sad efforts to influence its audience, which @alexpmorris provided us with a good example of in:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@alexpmorris/youtuber-s-guide-to-re-monetizing-with-steemit-and-thank-you-to-my-first-253-subs

Regardless of whether or not you share the same ideological beliefs as Alexander and the people he was running this channel with, it is insane that they basically had their right to free speech taken away by YouTube.

On March 25th of this year, things took a turn for the worst. A bunch of major brands pulled millions of dollars in advertising from YouTube amid rows over extremist content on the site. YouTube was showing ads of high and low profile companies in videos that were aimed at recruiting jihadists. Something that in my wild imagination would have boiled down to : “Come to Walmart, buy yourself a nice gun and join ISIS”, “Join Verizon and use our plan to set of your car bomb!”. It’s such an epic fail on their end...

YouTube has been in existence for 12 years now. You would think that by now, they would have a handle on these things.

Naturally, their “partners” took the hit for this unfortunate “mishap”. Earnings dropped faster than when I pull my pants down after I have been holding it for too long and countless of perfectly fine videos got demonetized. Instead of getting their shit together, they are completely overreacting, making all their so called “partners” suffer in the process.

A few days ago, I posted a video about '7 Of the most heart warming good deeds' and guess what….? Yep you guessed it, it’s demonetized! Cause of course, I’m sure companies like Pepsi, AT&T and L'Oreal would not want to be associated with that kind of REVOLTING content!

youtube-policy.PNG

You can’t count on anything anymore when it comes to YouTube. Angelo and I invested a lot of money into flying out to Colombia and bringing a camera crew to interview one of Pablo Escobar’s former assassins, which we thought would make for great original content ( you can read more about that and see a part of the interview here https://steemit.com/youtube/@world5list/interviewing-a-hitman-damnable-or-not.) After what happened on March 25th and because of the way YouTube reacted to it, that's money down the drain! We are lucky enough to have been successful for a few years so we can afford to take that hit, but many others can’t.

popeye-interview.png

In the past, you could at least predict which topics would have a bigger chance of getting demonetized but now, all the guidelines are out the window and it has turned into a crap shoot because YouTube opted to tighten the reins in their sweatshop, instead of getting their own shit together up in the ivory tower.

More and more creators are abandoning YouTube and most of them are not even doing it to prove a point! They are doing it because they are left with no other choice. But with every disadvantage comes an advantage, so let’s hope that a lot of these former YouTubers find their way to Steemit and will help grow this awesome community!

Sort:  

The downfall of youtube. Beautiful.

Short answer: Yes.

Very well said I have the same opinion as you. I myself have a channel on YouTube but never really put much effort on it cos the earnings were too low. Just recently I had started focusing on it again and that advertiser debacle happened. I am glad that I found about Steemit. It looks like YouTube is on a downward spiral with so many content creators looking for alternate options.

I too have a small channel that I'm gradually building up. Always looking for alternatives though!

They are simply getting what they have coming...

Good read. On the one hand sad to hear Youtube has turned into this. I only see Youtube from the consumer point of view and not the creator. I never knew things were this bad. On the other hand, nothing lasts forever. Sites like Steemit are the future. I predict that more and more professionals like yourself will come over and make this the next-big-thing. Again Kudos on the article. Cant wait for the next post.

Thanks a lot, always great to hear when someone was entertained! IMO. YouTube is very undeserving of their own creators right now.

Hey @world5list! Good to see that more content creators are joining Steemit. You, together with @theywillkillyou, are one my favourite channels, and I hope more of my favourites come as well. I would really like to see the content worked so hard for get you fairly compensated.

I have heard a lot of YouTubers complain about these issues, but I still don't fully understand what YouTube is doing terribly. Can you explain, in the simplest way you can, what it is?

Thanks and all the best to you :D

What I BELIEVE is going on (but I'm far from sure), is that YouTube has built in so many checks and balances on the back end to prevent people from posting offensive or controversial content that a lot of videos are falsely getting flagged and once something gets flagged they obv. don't have the manpower to manually correct all of their own mistakes.

Thanks for your support btw!

Ah I see. Looks like an indiscriminate censorship system. That's unfortunate :(

Well, welcome to Steem. I've followed you here as well and I look forward to your new content! :D

Having just gotten started, every follow is HUGE, so thanks a lot!

You're welcome! :D

Its only a matter of time until mainstream will fins out about the insane advantages of our blockchain tech and how we can harness the attention economy while providing fair rewards to our users without middlemen and best of all without it being generated from spamming ads on you.

Yeah we are forced to spam our videos with ads these days because they payouts are so terrible, a topic I didn't even touch in this post...

Well put brotha! You have my vote :)

Are there any alternatives to YouTube that provide the same kind of ad revenue sharing?

@ninkhisibir just made me aware of this:

You should keep an eye on https://lbry.io
Looks like it will be a very promising alternative to youtube, decentralized, built on blockchain. (:

Thanks, just put my name down for early access!

VidMe is a new one but it's kind of a joke currently. I want it to succeed but it's kind of glitchy. I can't upload or comment from mobile. The search function is lacking and 99% of the content is gaming or animation which I have nothing against but it's not really my cup of tea. Youtube isn't terrible like so many people say, keep making your content for Youtube and you'll be happy you did. That said this, Steemit that is, is an awesome new platform where I'm going to be putting a lot of my time and energy.

when I look at the quality of your content and the engagment you bring here. You seem to be in good hands with steemit and propaply can fly to the mars for some videos within a year.

Haha, thanks a lot. (again) :)

very well said Rene, and thanks for the shoutout, as well as for sharing my YouTube nightmare debacle story as well! lol

As I wrote on your previous post, if we can all help even a few other YouTubers find a "light at the end of the tunnel" and make their way over to STEEMIT, it feels "a bit" like offering people a lifeboat off a sinking ship! 😱

Also gonna try sharing your post around for some additional exposure, along with a resteem too! 😲

Great man, I appreciate it a LOT! Super nice. Yeah it's hard to find and reach the people who are struggling. I think one of the reasons for that is that as awesome as this platform is, it's really difficult to explain how it works and to convince people that it does work.

and the people he was running this channel

I suppose I should also introduce you to @michellectv, my YouTube "partner in crime"! Dunno where she's disappeared to, but maybe she'll finally show up after this shoutout! lol

Also, I still keep adding more content and videos to my YouTube post that can hopefully make it just that much easier for newer users to navigate their way through the STEEMIT ecosystem. Every little bit helps!

I'll keep reading them to try and keep my head around all this! :)

In hindsight, @alexpmorris and I had clues it was the beginning of the end of the YT Partnership program after we attended the first Youtube Live event in Nov. 2008...

I've kicked myself many times thinking I got out too early in late 2011. Now, I'm grateful we hadn't taken on more expenses to ramp up production...

Btw, from 2009-11 my videos were food and beverage related...

Also, glad you discovered STEEMIT, and pleasure to meet you Rene and Angelo! :)

Thank you. Those YouTube events are pretty frickin worthless hey....?

They certainly would be now!

Welcome to Steemit :). I am glad we have YouTubers that are so serious about their craft they fly to foreign countries! You are already crushing it, so keep at it and Steem on. Before you know it you will have chronic Steemface.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80