How Often Do You Watch Edutainment?

in #youtube5 years ago (edited)

About two years ago, I did one of my favorite Steemit posts: Edutainment: 11 YouTube Channels You Should Already Be Subscribed To. In it, I mention some of my favorite YouTube channels. I love entertaining, educational content. If more of the world focused on expanding their minds, what could we accomplish together?

I've been really busy lately. I just got back from Colorado speaking at conexus.one and helping out a bit with eosrise.io. Before that, I was in Puerto Rico with the family looking for a home as we're moving there in the beginning of December. I've also been working hard to help the @eosdac team launch https://members.eosdac.io/, the eosDAC Member Client. If you have EOSDAC tokens (airdropped to EOS holders back in April), please check it out and register as a member of the DAC.

With all this going on and more, I haven't been keeping up with my favorite YouTube channels as much as I'd like. This morning, I got some time to myself and here's what I watched. I thought you might like them also:


Casually Explained is fantastic. This video has a perfect combination of humor, knowledge, and philosophy.


This 20 minute video is a great overview of AI. As you may know, I've been thinking about the morality of AI for some time now.


Do you ever think about what time actually is?


Boredom is important. We don't like it, but we need it. I've been thinking more and more lately about the need for regular mindfulness meditation, and I think it relates to values of bordom as well.


Infinity is... weird. Especially when we think about it in terms of physical objects.


The School of Life always has good stuff. Connection matters for emotional growth. That's why the Steem blockchain matters as it powers emotional growth.


exurb1a is hands-down one of my favorite YouTube channels. NSFW language, but hilariously funny and intelligent every single time. This video is no exception. It's quite beautiful and almost had me tearing up in the end.


This video is a bit of an expansion of a post and video I explored a couple years ago also: Is Eating Meat Philosophically Consistent with Non-violence? I'm still working through my stance on this one, and I know many who think less of me if I continue to eat meat, but I'm at least engaging with the issue and working through it while honoring my wife's perspective also (who does all the shopping and cooking).


I feel a little more like myself having caught up on some of my favorite channels. Do you have content like this you watch regularly? If so, what is it? Let me know in the comments.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Ah, I love Smarter Every Day. They were on my original list. :)

They did a helicopter series which was just riveting. All about the difference forces, control surfaces etc.
I should watch it again.

<About two years ago, I did one of my favorite Steemit posts: Edutainment: 11 YouTube Channels You Should Already Be Subscribed To. In it, I mention some of my favorite YouTube channels. I love entertaining, educational content. If more of the world focused on expanding their minds, what could we accomplish together?>

Sorry I don't know how to use the quote text from this app.
Am a comedian type when it comes to entertainment.
I love nwagod4info channel on YouTube and markangel comedy video.
Even as comedy it help to expose some light around the world.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, I'll check them out!

Steemit uses Markdown so quoting text is as easy as putting a > in front of it like so:

> quote text from this app.

to get:

quote text from this app.

Oh I even have a little idea I was using the code wrongly that why it didn't work out I appreciate your help.

This

Thanks so much for

Posted using Partiko Android

In A Nutshell is my personal favorite but you should also check these guys out ;)
youtube.com/theserfstv

I just watched the trailer and was like... "Waaa...?"

I love the video about boredom. It made me think further - about the many scientific advances and discoveries that were made during the "Enlightenment" period of the late 18th century, when many fairly well-off people had little to do in the long, candle-lit evenings except... invent steam engines!
I love edutainment videos. I've recently been enjoying the "Today I found out" channel. I like the presentation, which is very clear and articulate without being patronising. And the subjects are kind of unexpected and thought-provoking. I'm not overly keen on the kind of know-it-all "fill your brain with useless info" stuff, but each to their own.
I wasn't keen on "How Can We Grow Emotionally?" because the narrator sounds as if he's talking to a class of six-year-olds and the illustrations back this up.
I've made a couple of edutainment videos myself. One of them has had 11,500 views, which is teensy in YouTube terms, but I find it encouraging. They are time-consuming to make, though I enjoy doing it, so I'll probably make some more. I think we could do with some more female voices in this genre :)

Yeah, that certainly wasn't my favorite School of Live video, but I've watched so many of them (many of which have been very profound) that I've come to understand their style as part of their mission to slow things down a bit and treat existence a little bit more like children do. That may sound odd, but if you watch more of them then it starts to make a bit more sense.

Just watched a today I found out. I like it! English narrators always sound smart. Congrats on the video! Drop a link.

Thanks @lukestokes! Here's my humble effort: Why you need iodine: 10 things you didn't know about this essential nutrient.
I made it as part of a video diary series I did when I had thyroid problems. I did loads of research into it. I definitely plan to do more docuvids - the research and editing takes time, but I really enjoy doing it.

Hey what a trip! Can't believe you are moving to Puerto Rico! That's great! Luke Stokes makes his home in Caribbean! My friend Angelo AKA @theywillkillyou with over one million youtube subscribers has been living there all year and he loves it. Good for you.

Also this post is spot on. Not having watched television for about 20 years since I was 16. I'm all youtube and download my favorite shows, which would certainly all be classified as edutainment.

Coincidentally I've got a little steemit edutainment travel writing project of my own that I'm trying to get off the ground, I think you will like it. I'll messaged you the details through steemit.chat.

Count down to steemfest my friend! See you there!

From Odessa Ukraine -Dan

Thanks Dan! I've been pretty busy lately, but I'm also getting a lot of interesting stuff done. :)

I find this guy's channel pretty interesting recently :)

Hey @lukestokes. I have the hunch that as for Edutainment goes, you prolly would be more than happy to subscribe to AwakenTheWorldFilm youtube channel too. :)

I just published a post trying to spread the word in these matters.

Now excuse me mate, because thanks to you I have now a table full of delicacies to smell, taste and watch with all the succulent dishes that you have served us tonight. ;)

Cheers!!

This looks really interesting! Thanks for sharing. Adding to my watch later. I've recently been open to learning more about things like the Sri Yantra via a Burning Man experience so this looks right up my ally for sure.

Oh yes, for a moment I had forgotten that you had just gone through the extraordinary experience of Burning Man mate. Hahahaha

Well, you see? In some way we are always connected and synchronized although sometimes we are not aware of it. ¿eh? ;)

I'm really glad you've found this subject interesting.

Cheers!! :)

I'm also studying Spanish on Duolingo for our move to Puerto Rico by the end of the year. :)

That's great my friend. As they use to say; "One is as valuable as many different languages one can know and master"

I'd wish I could help you out a little with your spanish. But apparently, I've heard from some people that I can only speak extravagant vernacular venezuelan and some spanglish. (Perhaps not so useful for when you move to Puerto Rico) };)

Watching this right now.. Kind of sounds like what the crypto market could look like in the future..

Ugh. Great depression? Seems pretty heavy.

Seems like history is repeating itself.. 🤔

I watch a lot of Ted talks although only some of those could be considered edutainment. As far as youtube I just pick out random informative but funny videos.

Really enjoyed a lot of those videos, both in this post and your old one. Thanks! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79