Was the YouTube Shooting about Censorship?

in #youtube6 years ago

What do you think the REAL reason is behind the shooting at YouTube headquarters today? Much has been said as of late about the censorship and YouTube demonetization of content. The shooter had made "rants" towards YouTube in videos where she complained of unfair treatment on her channel. It seems like very odd timing for a shooting like this to happen at a company that many people are currently upset at. What are your thoughts on this?

Sort:  

Interesting news
Is it worth it so much reaction !
There is a limit to everything
Thanks for sharing

What exactly happen is : According to reports the woman shooter shot her boyfriend and repeatedly shoot a woman multiple times as she was on the ground. Looks like a crime of passion from a jealous person not a terrorist incident Shooter also killed herself. This is crazy level shit that's for sure @broncnutz

Initially I thought this was a terrorism incident since early reports said it was a woman with a headscarf. Then when her personal rants against YouTube surfaced it looked like that may have been the motive. Now it has come out that the boyfriend was one of the victims, perhaps it was more of a domestic dispute case (exacerbated by the You Tube dispute, since the boyfriend worked there).

Not sure why there would be other victims in that case, unless she was a bad shot or they were in the way. I would have thought if it was directed against You Tube she would have just continued and also tried to set fire to the place or do more damage.

I guess the full story will come out in due course. I didn't agree with her videos being taken down, her website was also immediately off line. Didn't look like she was doing anything too controversial though she seemed a bit wacky to me, but some people like that sort of thing and she had some 10,000 followers apparently.

That's some crazy shit! I know Youtube has gotten to the point that I have to physically search for my subs at time because of the way they're cracking down on censorship. I would think that this lady was pissed and that's what caused her to shoot up Youtube headquarters. Thankfully nobody was killed. Still not the proper use of a gun and funny to see she was reported as a "white women". Great topic @broncnutz !

I made a blog about it yesterday I think a large part of it is the unfairness of youtube. You make a video, spend a bunch of time of it and bam youtube says no monetization. Then they do that to your whole channel, and you have no appeal, no rights, it's crazy how shitty they treat content creators.

I had a whole collection of Bluegrass Videos I had planned on posting because I thought I could earn a little extra $$$ on the side but now I'm so frustrated by this new policy I don't even know that it'd be worth the time and effort cause I know I'd either never meet the requirements for payout or if I did it'd take years to.

It's always sad when someone is pushed to the point they feel only shooting can solve the problem. YouTube is not worth killing or dying for.

After investigation all truth becomes . So why guess on it .

I'm not a fan of YouTube but I still don't support the shooting.
This will also serve as warning to YouTube as you can't always get away with people's right. People will always fight back

I hope Youtube goes downhill from here. Their selfishness towards the community will be the reason. Their updated conditions for monitization are crap.

Hi Broncnutz,

I would like to address you as you are quite an experienced sports writer.

My name is Andrei, I am a sports journalist and part of Scorum project team. Here at Scorum we are now developing a new sports blogging platform. The core idea of it is that authors will get cryptocurrency for quality posts.

What do you think on this? Would you be interested to write for us?

Here is a post on our platform, where you can learn more on the project: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@scorum.community/attention-sports-writers-join-the-bold-new-sports-media-platform.

It is important for us to create a community of journalists and bloggers in order to make our site as convenient and user-friendly as possible for authors.

If you have any questions, I'll be happy to answer) You can contact me at [email protected]

Best regards,

Andrei

Absolutely, I would love to see you on Scorum also @broncnutz! We have not been running in the same circles here on Steemit but I have always admired your work. I have a Scorum account and I'm very excited about getting started over there. I expect my wife, son and DIL to do most of the work on Scorum while I continue what I'm doing on Steemit, but I will be keeping close tabs over on Scorum and expect it to grow rapidly into a huge entity. I hope to see you there, if you have an account look me up when the blogging platform launches, I will be @pete on Skorum. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70