Novice to ExpertsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga6 years ago

yoga.png

Steve (S.J.) Scott's Novice to Expert: 6 Steps to Learn Anything, Increase Your Knowledge, and Master New Skills is my latest Kindle purchase. I have several -- well more than several -- of his books. The man is a genius at making things simple.

It began with his blog post The 80/20 Rule: How the Pareto Principle Can Transform Your Life. His book, Novice to Expert, elaborate on how you can become an expert in six simple steps.

Simple? Did I say simple? It involves six steps that sound simple.

Step #1: Identify Your Learning Style

I hemmed and hawed and dicked around figuring this out. I wanted to race ahead and get going. I dithered and wondered and ended up taking his suggestion to go here and take a test to figure out my learning style.

My Learning Style

Style Scores (out of 20)

Visual 9
Social 9
Physical 6
Aural 1
Verbal 15
Solitary 13
Logical 16

I would have thought that aural learning would have been my learning style but it was my worst style.

Step #2: Pick a Skill I'd Like to Master

Aha. Day one and I am already here. Step #2.

What skill would I like to have? Some of the things I would like to learn are:

  • Gaelic
  • Copywriting
  • Pencil drawing
  • the list is endless

Guess what I decided to focus on? Hah. The image above is a hint.

Yep.

I want to learn how to practice yoga.

I have been a fan of Dana Falsetti for a while and right after I decided that it would be a yoga learning season for me, I heard about her podcasts and I went and listened to them. She is a wonderful inspiration and you can hear her Deep Dive podcast here.

I'm off to see about Step #3. That's Build the Learning Habit.

Sort:  

I just added your post to mountainjewel's challenge. As part of the challenge, I'm adding my comments here:

My favorite post this week from another steemian.
@joannereid wrote a great post about a book where she was able to grasp her learning style. I'm going to take the test to see what mine is. It helps to have that little added information to make our journey easier and more in tune with what we are comfortable with. I'm always learning so making it easy sounds like a great plan!

I'm going to take this test later and see what my learning styles are. I have a couple of early ideas, but it will be interesting to see what this site says. I'll share my results with you when I do take the test.

That would be great. I was quite surprised at the result. I thought visual would be lower. I like the test but all the ads kind of bugged me. The information was worth it though.

These are my results:
Visual - 8
Social - 14
Physical - 9
Aural - 8
Verbal - 16
Solitary - 12
Logical - 8

I can't believe social is so high. I'm one of the biggest introverts I know! I also thought visual would be a little higher. I was a big visual learner in school, but I'm happy that verbal received the highest score. It is an interesting test, and it was fun to take. They pegged me really well in a couple of areas.

It's really interesting to see these things about ourselves. And social and solitary are close, which is a kind of dichotomy.

Oh, I need to take that learning style test, too. How interesting. I think my learning style is distracted since I can't seem to focus on much of anything! I look forward to hearing more about this book and how it helps you.

The focusing is going to be my challenge. Apparently in Step 3 I have to plunge into understanding yoga. It must have been lingering in my subconscious for a while because when I looked through my ebooks in calibre, I have a couple of yoga books.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68843.90
ETH 3813.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48