Yoga: Recovery from Running / Tuesday Practice with my Wife

in #yoga7 years ago

As some of you may know yoga is also one of my favorite things to do in this life aside from running and it is because of running that I got into this ancient and wonderful practice nearly a decade ago. I also met my wife in a yoga class....but that's another story altogether.

I've not posted much of anything about it in months like I used to and I think it's time I get back to including this in my material because it's fun and it's an important part of my life.

Tuesday was supposed to be a speed interval run day for me but my legs and body were saying NO NO NO. Not Yet. And I listened to my body which is key to avoiding injury.

I guess that 12 mile run Sunday at 9 seconds off my race pace target took a bit more out of me than I'd thought.

So I ditched the speed intervals Tuesday, stayed home with my wife @pretzelgirlsandy and we practiced together for about an hour. She did Ashtanga third series (I think it was either third or second, can't recall) and I did my primary series ashtanga practice and it felt great to loosen up and work some muscle groups other than the ones in my legs which I've pushed to the limit the past six weeks or so. Knowing when to take an extra rest day or two is every bit as important as the running part of the training is.

We got a couple of good pictures of us just playing around after our respective practices were over.

IMG_2180.PNG

This picture of us both in handstand represents the result of many years of practice and of course trying and falling over and over and over and over again. It took me 2 years into my practice to even semi-master the handstand and she started getting to the point where she can hold this pose for about 10 breaths recently. I'm very proud of her learning this pose--she worked very hard to learn how to kick up and hold it. I typically stay in this pose for 25 breaths or about a minute (on a good day) right at the end of the standing sequence in Ashtanga Primary Series.

The image below shows the poses (not all the transitions though) in the Primary series, all but one of which I can do and normally practice on my yoga days. My wife is so bendy (hence her alias) she can do the one pose in primary that I can't and is more dedicated to her yoga practice than I am to mine (but shes doesn't run). That's why she's moved on to the later series which are much more difficult. I could move on to second series but I don't feel I'm quite ready yet--maybe when I practice more than 2-3 days per week I will.

primary.JPG

image source

After the dual handstand was done I started playing around with inversions on top of a set of blocks. People usually use these to make poses more accessible / so they don't have to reach as far into a pose but I used em to challenge myself. She took a video of me kicking up into handstand on these blocks, holding it and then moving my legs into lotus pose which is probably my favorite posture in yoga (The pose not done on the blocks is part of a transition that's part of fourth / advanced C series in ashtanga).

blocks.JPG

The left side image is just a regular handstand on those squishy blocks (it's harder on those than it is on the mat or the hardwood floor) and the right image is the pose that's part of the fourth series. Learning that one was one of the crowning achievements of my yoga journey / practice so far and it's by far my favorite pose (BIG DISCLAIMER: don't try this at home!!).

Today I'm getting back to my running as I finally feel recovered from Sunday long run and that practice on Tuesday did me a lot of good. Plus it was nice spending the extra time with my wife that I'd have otherwise spent pounding the pavement like I have the past 6 or 7 Tuesdays.

Thanks for reading and Namaste.

~Cryptokeepr

Sort:  

Thanks for practicing with me babe! I feel like you are totally ready to start adding second to the end of your practice. I know the final posture in primary is scary, but I also think you are absolutely ready to start it. I bet you try it (big breath and the thought "I can do this") will lead to success. I'm so proud of your practice, and of your commitment to running. I love you to the moon and back. Here's to my perfect partner.

Wow, you both are rockstars of yoga.

Wow you guys are amazing! Do you find that yoga improves your running ?

It definitely helps keep me from getting injured from running. I've been doing it ever since I ran my first marathon and I've seen plenty of runners i know go through serious running injuries (who don't stretch much or practice yoga) while I've avoided injury.

Amazing, my husband also runs and has recently also taken up yoga! Guess there is something to this running and yoga!

Wah brother! Sick skills on the handstand 🙏🏼

Started practicing handstand this fall, but overdid it and had a minor injury that got me off-track during the winter, aim to pick it up asap ✌🏼

Impressive!

You'll get it eventually. It took me about a year of practicing it most days to get to where I could hold it still for 10 seconds or so. Best of luck to you!

First @cryptokeepr

I love that you listened to your body and avoided streessing it. It's key to maintain great fitness.

I really commend your wife for learning so hard. Trust me she is a quick learner (lol)... My younger sister took almost 3 years to do half of what she is doing now as those image potrayed.

Great that you are doing it together. I guess it further creates a biding force of encouragement that keeps both of you going.

It's great practicing together and having a partner that shares this common interest. It's kind of funny she saw me for the first time when I was teaching a yoga class and now she's surpassed my level of practice in a lot of ways. I'm still stronger and can do some things she can't but she can do a lot that I can't do now....most of it is her amazing flexibility. She practices 5-6 days a week but I'm down to about 3 days a week and I usually run 3 days a week lately.

You were in a handstand, and I was in the splits. We both thought, "wow;" but only you had the guts to talk to me. For once in my life, I was scared to speak to a man. I was so blown away by you. I thought of nothing but you for weeks. I still think of you in everything I do <3.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Interesting and athletic of you, yoga practice is an important practice that helps to free up the muscle and aids in freeing the body from toxins.

Am glad to see that your wife is also very good in yoga practice. Regular exercise makes us free from sickness and helps improve our health and metal alertness. Nice post @cryptokeepr

Amen to that! I swear exercise sets the mind and body free in a way that nothing else does. I only wish I had more time to devote to it.

You’re a great example for others!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49