Trying your first yoga class?

in #yoga6 years ago

IMG_9069.jpg

Trying your first yoga class?

I’m currently travelling and teaching yoga. I was invited to dinner by a lovely group of people last night and they became keen to try my yoga class the next day.

“What should we bring?” I was asked, to which my natural response is
“An open mind and a playful heart”

Why an Open mind?

Every yoga class, every yoga teacher is going to be different. The teacher wants to share with you something that they have learnt that has benefited them or they can see the benefit of. It may be some odd breathing technique, a style of meditation you have not done before, and they may even ask you to be still for longer than you are comfortable. – Move into each of these with an open mind ready and willing to learn.

Why a playful heart?

There is a chance that you are going to be trying to put your body into positions it hasn’t tried since you were a child – remember that playfulness you used to have when you were younger, don’t worry what you look like, don’t take it too seriously, play, have fun and take those small leaps into the unknown.

I later did suggest that they also brought comfortable clothing to wear in case of any confusion.

Please share with me the honest experiences and thoughts of your first yoga class.

Is there anything stopping you trying that new or different style of class?

Namaste xx

Sort:  

Whereabouts in the world are you? Let's connect :) I'm also travelling & teaching yoga and meditation :)
And my first class was a mix of yoga, tai chi and pilates at a gym in Canada & I loved that I felt more energetic and not exhausted. Tried couple of other places till I fell in love with Jivamukti yoga.

Hi @ommmsome, thank you so much for your post. I have spent the last few months travelling around India and South Africa and just left Goa last night to fly back to the UK. I expect ill be in the UK for at least the next few months before my next adventure. Where about are you?
I really like mixing up the different styles of yoga and meditation that i have learnt. I see the benefits of a strict Ashtanga practice but then sometimes I want to flow and keep moving, putting in Budokon yoga rocket yoga and even a bit of Tripsichore. I love anything that connects my mind and body and pushes me a little out of my comfort zone.
It would be so good to connect if our travelling paths cross!
Namaste x

an amazing journey you have there!!! I'm in Panama at the moment and heading to that silent retreat in the US next week. Miss India so much, spent quite a bit of time there last year in Tamil Nadu, Kerala & Rishikesh. My friend here in Panama city does Budokon yoga, haven't heard anything about Tripsichore though. Happy travels and let's keep in touch :)

Congratulations @byoga! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 08:55:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42