Plain Mike's Writing Prompt Challenge ~ "Periphery 2.0"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writingprompt7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for Plain Mike's Writing Prompt Challenge..."Periphery 2.0
The collaborative Masterpiece of Art being displayed below is courtesy of Nikolay Krastev, please check out more of his magnificent art work here. https://steemit.com/@svdsdragunov


This piece is called "The Forgotten One". https://steemit.com/art/@svdsdragunov/the-forgotten-one

I did not invite it
Nor did I long for it to come.
Yet here it is
Connected, entangled and plugged in to my mind
And into every part of who I was born to be.

Caught me off guard, because it sneaked up on me.
I succumbed when caught by surprise
And too it blew my mind as it crept inside
Replacing my flesh with titanium metals, screws nuts and bolts
It crept deeper, and I screamed, as my mind was being invaded and replaced by alien technology
Yet it crept deeper erasing most of my DNA in exchange for coded, unrecognizable digital markers
And finally, it crept into the very heart of my anatomy.

Yet I remembered to quickly hide the real and the true true
Of the totality of all the parts that make up me.
There would be no footprint, no trace to my authentic space

So, I had an affair, a very daunting, haunting affair
A standoff in kind although I gave of my physical
Yet none of it meant nothing to me.

I chose to go offline during this rendezvous
I chose to become something this world never knew
In order to survive, incognito did I abide.
And I lived for a lifetime in a space on earth not recognized,
Between realms that move in and out of existence on the cusp of this reality
All because I turned, and as I turned, I was taken in a glance….. on my periphery.


There is still time to enter this challenge just click on the link here: https://steemit.com/contest/@mikepm74/plain-mike-s-creative-writing-challenge-20sbd-pot-picture-prompt-1


Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing! This was very enjoyable to read and creative. I'm not a writer or a poet, so I tend to not understand and/or appreciate what talented writers/poets write all of the time. My mind is very numbers analytical - I got a Math Degree in college and I was a computer programmer for 9 years! I have to use a dictionary when I read a certain son's poems. @d-pend has quite the vocabulary! Have a great day @rensoul17!

Great work. I wish you best of luck! I hope you like the art :)
Cheers!

Thank you @svdsdragunov, I do apologize that I had not re-edited the post before you saw it and commented. Please read it again, I have given you praise and credit for allowing all of those entering this challenge to be able to use your masterpiece of art. I love it and I am deeply honored to be allowed to do a collaborative with someone as great as you are. I will be following you and spotlighting you in my upcoming curation gallery. This piece of art evoked so much emotion in me.

I'm glad that you like it :) no problem at all. And thank you for mentioning me.
I'm not great, not at all! i'm just doing what i like as you do. So keep it up!

Well done @rensoul17! I enjoyed in very much!

Best of luck with the judges!

Thank You Mike.

This is an amazing piece of poetry, a great inspired piece from the image.

Thank you @hopehuggs your words mean a lot...

Wow, very nicely written as well as inspiring :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51