Poem : Love (Writing Feather)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writingfeather7 years ago (edited)

The Hand That Rocks the Cradle


From the womb to the first suckle,
Her heartbeat ever so gentle, her warmth ever so loving,
From the closeness of her bosom, her love is for the giving,
Through her I knew what is selfless rendering.

Her watchful eyes ensures each fall is pillow padded,
For no bruise or cut could be afforded,
No mischief is spared the rod,
Even through the pain, she has been my bungee cord.

Peanut butter and strawberry splattered,
The wallpaper all drawn and tattered,
Yet, to you I am Picasso gifted,
To create an art everyone is dumbfounded.

My first few words, was ma and unrecognisable gurgles,
Her delight was painted in endless giggles,
Her smile lasted for weeks if not months,
The pride of the lady that carried me for a full 9 months.

You always assure me in adversity mommy is here,
I always knew you will be near,
Your love is one of loving warmth,
To ensure that I meet no wrath.

You’re awake so that I sleep without an empty stomach,
I couldn’t wish more for she has done too much,
From cookies and pies fresh from the oven,
Mommy, warm my soul so very often.

I wonder what is beyond her embrace,
The world seems so intimidating without mommy's trace,
But, it so beautiful and inviting at the same time,
I wonder if she will be there if I am short of a dime,
To be my bungee cord again.

Mommy,
My first love, my lasting love.

mom and child.gif

source

Sort:  

That is beautiful - your way with words is amazing. My entry to this comp was a downright rant poetry therapy style lol

Dont say that. I enjoy what u wrote.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @perennial to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Check out our contests as well!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Hey have you heard of Beau Taplin? Follow him on instagram... his posts will make ppl cry one...

Just like your post.

But i dont wanna make ppl cry

Good post. I like

Thx n i like u 4 liking it.

Loved your poem. What you have written is so true. Mom has done for much for us and we could never repay her back. If you are writing poetry, consider using the #onehumanbasket tag.

My mom sings n she sings us french songs coz she was taught by nuns in convent school.

Look at you trying to make me feel all mushy inside.

I knew it. Soft spot for mom. Mommy's boy

Says the person who wrote the poem to begin with.

U and me brother belong to the same category.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56