Rhino Rules Contest #2: Animal Stories [Storytime With Blake - PegPup Synchronicity]

in #writingcontest7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, it's your boy Blake.
Back for another story time.

This one's a little sappy, but I love my little Peg-puppers so much, I just had to tell ya'll how we met... how this little cutie saved my life!

So this was back during my early days on Steemit... when The Writers' Block server was still a baby. It couldn't have been more than a week old when this happened.

Rhonda, the wonderful being that did so much back then that we weren't really sure how she was doing it -- honestly, I could make a whole storytime video just about her, and her rescue, and the fiction workshop, and the Writer's Block, and how I probably would never have gotten to the point of making videos if it weren't for The Block... another time.

Ha! Peg is looking at me like: "I thought this was my moment?"

It is, honey, but I have to give the people context.

So, as I mentioned, Rhonda runs this animal rescue in this scary part of the country that is not so nice to their animals. One day, someone brought her a mama dog with ten puppies.

Pictures were demanded, of course. Because puppies, duh.

So there I am casually scrolling through the cuteness when one face stops me in my tracks.

This little face.

Look at this face!


Photo of baby Peg, courtesy of RhondaK

I dropped a bunch of emojis under the picture to express how I felt about this debilitating cuteness, then thought nothing more about it. Well, except for the nagging "Can we keep her?" playing on loop in my head.

After checking out the puppy pics, another wonderful workshopper, Bex, asked me if I'd seen Peg yet. Referring to one of the puppies, of course.

What? She named one after me?

I had no idea Rhonda had named the puppies after the workshoppers. I asked how or where to see the names. The chat software we were using required that the pictures be opened in a browser (one at a time) to see the file names, which were the puppy names.

I started at the top of the list...

Bex
Carol

Uh oh... how badly did I embarrass myself by putting all those reactions on that one cute puppy? Who's it gonna be?

Jess
Muxxy

Here it comes, this is going to be so awkward...

Peg

Wait... Peg? The one I emoji'd with heart eyes, a big red heart, and a hugging emoji?! That's Peg?!

You magic puppy!

What were the odds?!

Well, one in ten, but you know what I'm trying to say!

How is it that the one with whom it was love at first sight is also the one named after me?

It's like Rhonda knew this puppy was meant to live with me.

Now, I was pretty poor at the time, still stuck living in a bad place. The only way I could have gotten a dog at all was if I moved out. Which I was dying to do anyway. Literally... living there was killing me.

But the thought persisted in the back of my head: "Peg belongs with her Pegasus."

Uh, I should explain. I was just starting the PegasusPhysics brand at the time, so that was my name pretty much everywhere. So people would call me Pegasus.

Anyway, I knew I'd need a service dog when I moved away, but I did not expect a newborn puppy to just volunteer like that.

She triggered something in me that was the push I needed to try something I never thought I'd do: ask for help.

I started a fundraiser... went back into giving oracle readings... if I were a girl, I probably would have given in and done a bit of stripping for a while.

But that little face won so many hearts, I started getting commissions. Many donated, but the best part was all the creative stuff I got to do.

I mean, they were things I could do at any time -- making 3d characters and landscapes, for example -- but something about making those things for other people was so cool.

In a matter of weeks, I'd finally earned enough to move away from that mean place and bring Peg home to me. My little lifesaver.

How's it feel to be a hero, eh?

Look at her, like she knows how much of a hero she is. Like: "Oh, you know..."
You're so cute.

Alright, guys. Thank you for joining us! If you liked our sappy story, make sure to give this video a big thumbs up. And if you'd like to see more from us, please subscribe!

Say, "Bye," Peg!

"Bye, Peg!"



The End.


Written by @PegasusPhysics -- Based on a true story.
Photo of actual Baby Peg, courtesy of @RhondaK
Also, this is a bit of a parody on some of my favourite youtubers.
Can you guess which ones? XD



Thank you for reading. ^_^
~PegasusPhysics




TheWritersBlock Workshops Animated Gif

Sort:  

Look at his face!!!!!!!!!!! ... nice story!!
... I saw your rap challenge entry too, really, really dope!!! ... I am asking MCs to come jam with me. Would love it if you check this out cos music seems to be in you!! https://steemit.com/mcs/@termitemusic/calling-all-mcs-and-singers-of-earth-round-4-worldwide-mc-cypher-jam either way, hit me back!! Peace.

Thanks! I'll check out the post. ^_^

What a great line:
I dropped a bunch of emojis under the picture to express how I felt about this debilitating cuteness
Love it all!

Thank you! That means a lot to me coming from the Mighty Rhino Queen! ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67030.16
ETH 3094.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66