Tutorial: How to make table of content for series writers

in #writing7 years ago


Image source here

Hello, fellow Steemians!

As the title suggests, I am here to share how to make a decent table of content/ TOC, so that readers can enjoy easier navigation.

Credit to @fiction-trail for the this idea.

Lets have a look at my TOC which I made for my project, Fantasy World Transmigration here

A good table of content should includes author name, description, cover and of course list of chapters.

I believe you should know how to include link in your writing right? So, I am going to skip this part.

The main problem of making TOC is that after first payout, you are not allowed to edit anymore. Thus, you can't afford to edit your TOC whenever you release a new chapter.

Then, how to solve this problem?

Naming of your chapters! You can know how your future chapters' URL look like if you name them properly.

For example, for my project, I named my 1st chapter as Fantasy World Transmigration Chapter 1.

My 2nd chapter would be Fantasy World Transmigration Chapter 2 and so on.

Steemit would named my 1st chapter URL as such: https://steemit.com/fiction/@yorasu-tl/fantasy-world-transmigration-chapter-1

2nd chapter : https://steemit.com/fiction/@yorasu-tl/fantasy-world-transmigration-chapter-2

....and so on.

Using this naming system, you will be able to make a list of chapters without having to worry about not able to edit after 1st payout.

What if I am working on more chapters than the previously chapter lists I made?

If you look at my TOC, I am only listing 50 chapters. I am pretty sure that I will have more than that. When that happens in future, I will just make a new TOC.

Then, how to make your new TOC looks neat?

Here is the solution :

Chapter 1-50 (link the text to previous TOC) and then list your next 50 chapters again.

Extra tips

If you look at my released first chapter, I do have chapter navigation at top and bottom of the post, mimicking page flipping.

And voila, here is the code for it:

<div class="pull-right"><a href="URL">Next Chapter >></a></div> <a href="URL"><< Previous Chapter</a>

Credit to @jedau for this code

Happy writing!

Disclaimer: Don't bash my English. This post is written without my editor. :)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :) I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Personally, I plan on creating my TOC at the end of it. There, you can have access to the links of all of your chapters and have a fresh payout with all the chapters available for reading.

I didn't know you were going to use the code I gave you for a tutorial of your own. Thanks for the shoutout though.

Yea, you can do so but for my case, it would be hundreds of chapters.
That would be a mess so having them in another page will be neater

Alright, it's your call. I know you're going to do what's best for your story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.89
ETH 3280.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72