You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Radical Revisions — Fun with Queries and Main Character Makeover

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello @katrina-ariel, I like the last name, Sasje. For me, it has an exotic feel and it tells me that the person who bears the name is beautiful and has fire within her. Yeah quite gypsy. Is the character a redhead?

If she is timid though, is there a back story as to why she is timid? From the description so far, the story seem to be a journey of self discovery; the MC is discovering herself, understanding more about the powers within her and it's limits, as well as learning about the world she lives in at any given time warp. 😂 (really wanted to use the word warp).


For the query, I have never done one before. I am still unpublished though I will be published. I like this one though,

Born through the World Tree, Alora has been dealing with trust issues and space-time wormholes her whole life. Now, sick of being ripped away without warning, she decides to face the Tree on her own terms and see if she can figure out its tricks.

Having only ever gone forward in time, Alora finds the rules changed when she sings herself through the Tree and ends up centuries back in a version of Scotland that doesn’t line up with the history she knows. It seems she’s jumped into a parallel universe where magic and love prove as fierce a pull as the Tree itself, and she’ll have to give in to all three in order to survive.

This is the first book in an epic sci-fi/fantasy saga that weaves historical romance with reinvented mythology and a hint of rave culture.

What I feel should be changed are these;

  • The use of 'World tree' suggest that the agent already knows what it is. Is there a book on World tree and if there is, is it the same as yours. If not, it should be removed. It could be something like;

  • "Sasje's ability to jump through time unconsciously, has ruled her life for as long as she could remember. Tired of losing out of love, fearing what she would become and where she would find herself, she sets on a journey to face the World tree, the source of her powers."

  • The second part where you said she sang herself into a parallel universe could be wove. You have said she is a world weaver? Does she make her power work by singing? This particular part has some similarities to Elizabeth Haydon's symphony of the ages. I don't know if you have read it. The lead character uses music too and she also sings to a tree. So maybe, you need to work on what she does for her magic to work.

  • This part needs some fine-tuning also but I can't say exactly why;

  • ends up centuries back in a version of Scotland that doesn’t line up with the history she knows.

  • I don't know if it is the phrase 'that doesn't line up...' something is off there.


I have never done this before and I don't know if I made any sense to you. 😂 Well there goes nothing. Peace.

Sort:  

😂 (really wanted to use the word warp).

Awesome word, "warp." And I haven't used it yet in the story I don't think. hmmmm.

Your suggestions are excellent to keep in mind as I continue to work on the query. As for her being timid, that was the old version of the story. This new makeover makes her a lot more bold, even if she's scared inside sometimes.

As for the name, I'm leaning towards Sasje as well. Thanks for the vote of confidence. ;) She's not a redhead. Sandy hair and sage-green eyes.

And I have not read Haydon's Symphony of the Ages. I'll go look that up. Thank you very much for the thoughtful critique! 💖

You are welcome. I am glad you found something useful in it.
Oh... I like green eyes. She has fire in her then.

A bold version is better I think, if she is the one who is going to save herself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58866.42
ETH 2515.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46