uncharted

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

As promised, I am dedicating this poem to the incredible @doghaus, who can make anything into a song of splendorous joy and laughter...


I like to look at maps so
i know where not to go -
those places have
already been found
if you asked me how
to get to a place no one
has ever seen, I would
tell you to take a different route:

from the coast of Tanzania
take a schooner through the Maldives
inhale the spice laden wind
point yourself in the direction of hunger



veer north up a green and silent river
eat nothing but seaweed as
you pass through the night of wailing tongues

when you find a red maiden tree
sky gold with pale crescent moons
pull three monkeys from her branches
they will know who you are
name them as you let them go



come dawn the next morning
as mist is wading on the shoreline
when you see a young elephant
washing an elderly goat herder

keep still
they will look at you
nod but say nothing
they believe you to be
the spirit of a water god
you are



in time you will come
to a black sand beach
at the base of seven mountains;
follow the path of the white tiger
to where it is said
the Dalai Lama once resided

from there, look
for the highest perch of a twisted crevice
where falcons lay their one true egg
far above the cloud line of a black rain forest
there you will find your choice of direction



wait for a blue Myna bird to fly overhead
he will lead you to where
no one has ever been
do not try to chart it
it would be like
trying to draw a map
to your own heart


photos from pxhere and pixabay CC commons; edited by torico

Sort:  

Wow! I love this so much! This is a great journey to go on. So many amazing lines here. I think this is my favorite imagery but it is all so good!

when you find a red maiden tree
sky gold with pale crescent moons
pull three monkeys from her branches
they will know who you are
name them as you let them go

Someone could write a good fantasy adventure out of these directions :)

Much love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash / @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

hugs sometimes life in a time capsule is a long journey that people describe in eloquent detail to their friends. The mosquitoes, blisters, monotony, heartache and frustration are seldom mentioned because not many want to hear that. Hence you see and hear the wondrous things portrayed with cinematic vivid description and fantastical beasts and think everyone else must have the key to Nirvana. I am frequently told to keep the map to my heart hidden. It's funny how people confuse the map for the territory.

That was wicked good! So many images written out like vignettes in a story...

the funny thing is I cant even remember what I was thinking or what impelled me to write this. Half the time I write I go into another space in my brain and just write then forget, as if someone else is taking over my brain. I think that's how people describe acid trips or possessions, but i could be wrong...

I am flattered and honoured to know such talent and originality and creativity exists in this world. @torico you are truly a special person and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for this dedication. You explain the creative process, searching for that next word...with beauty and accuracy.

thank you, that is indeed rare praise and I will take every bit of it :)

You deserve it all @torico

Amazing images! I love this path.

keep still
they will look at you
nod but say nothing
they believe you to be
the spirit of a water god
you are

I love the images and sense of flight and mystery! Well written and such beautiful photos to punctuate the journey.

I this is my favorite verse, too!

ty! i think i spent longer on the omages than the poem, and i couldnt really find the ones i had in my mind..

I know exactly what you mean! The right images can take forever to find. You did an awesome job on both that and the poem, congratulations! It successfully grabbed my heart.

Oh @torico, this took my breath.

When I got to this part, it especially reminded me of how I've been dealing with this eclipse season, and the temporal nature of things that were meant to pass.

they will know who you are
name them as you let them go

💔

the naming is important. remembering that some things can never be encompassed by a name is the key to understanding emotion.

The words create very vivid imagery. Very nice. 5 cookies out of 5 indeed.

noms three of the five cookies. saves the rest to make fractal cookie art

Love this @torico! An adventure in uncharted territory, like stepping into another dimension. You paint a beautiful journey. I can totally hear @doghaus singing it in my head, too. Haha

shhh dont give him ideas...

hah! well he can't get in my head. Although, sometimes I can't either. =p

just heard this on discord. great work really enjoyed this.
Followed :)

O,o who dis??? mystery lurker...

lol, just me being a bit of a Rebel ;)

I like to look at maps so
i know where not to go -
those places have
already been found

BAM! Ooh, check that opening, it's sublime.

come dawn the next morning
as mist is wading on the shoreline

Yes, wow.

do not try to chart it
it would be like
trying to draw a map
to your own heart

So many good lines and bursts of power here! This is a beautiful and inspiring piece—thanks for sharing. <3

ty for reading! :)

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Curation for Creatives post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66880.67
ETH 3098.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75