When the tables are turned

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I told myself that I wouldn't just publish a story here. After 7 days, there's no turning back. No changing your mind about something. I'd edit, and work on my stuff until I was ready to submit it for critiques at the workshop, and then work on it some more.

However. I was convinced that I couldn't face this story again. It's written from personal experience. As much as I needed to write this, and as much as I wanted to improve my writing skills, I cried numerous times as I was working on this short story, and told myself that I couldn't face editing it again. I lived through it when I was on call. I relived it during writing. But at the same time, writing this story felt a a lot like therapy.

Eventually, I did end up submitting it for review, and I can't begin to explain how helpful it has been.


computer-tomography-62942_640.jpg

This story has been removed by the author.

I can't believe how long it seems since I wrote this but it's only been a year. It was my first short story, and through it, I met some of the people with who I ended up building the amazing community that is the @ink-ubator.

We've all grown so much together, as writers, as editors, and as a family.

Here's to the future.

Hugs

Tiny

Sort:  

Really touching story, thank you for sharing it. You made the right decision as it would be heavier carrying it with you. How's Lilly now?

First of all, thanks again for reading it. I changed the names, even though chances are rather small that one of the people that were with me that day will actually ever read it. But you never know, of course.

The first week, we all expected her not to make it. Neurology, however, is a very unpredictable field of medicine. Against all odds, she woke up, but her entire right side was paralysed. She had a lot of trouble speaking, but the first time she was awake as the surgeon came for rounds, she said: "Oh, hey, it's you. Don't ever quit your job and decide to become a hair stylist" (surgeons had to shave the top of her head, leaving her with what she referred to as an inverted mohawk), at which point we knew she'd be OK. She fought so hard to get to where she is right now (walking around, being as independent as she can be), but we begin to suspect she'll never return to work with us. The stress and stimuli of a large department that sees an average of 400 patients a day will probably always be too much for her to handle. Still, we're all glad she's still around. The first time, I saw her after she was awake and coherent, we cried together, because all I wanted was to help her that day, and she felt exactly the same about me.

I am glad to hear she is ok. It's difficult to deal with the injuries and life-long challenges one might face after an episode like that, but I am sure she will be fine. What doesn't kill you, does make you stronger. She probably needs people's emotional support more than physical. I hope everything works out for her. And you hang in there :)

Congratulations! This story has been curated by The SFT. :-) A small SBD reward has been transferred to your wallet.

https://steemit.com/curation/@sft/the-sft-curates-9-2-17

It has been added to the Literary Reading Room at the SFT Library.

http://sftlibrary.com/

I don't know what to say. For the record: that does not happen very often.
I'm just so, so honoured.

Congratulations @tinypaleokitchen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You mention critiquing in the workshop - are you referring to the fiction workshop on PALnet? I'm involved over there and we would love to have you. I like your writing!

That is actually the one I was referring to. And thank you for your kind comment! This one was kind of like therapy. What I'm currently working on is more of a fantasy thing.
You have no idea what it means to have people actually enjoying my writing, and understanding the need to write.

Congratulations @tinypaleokitchen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tinypaleokitchen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63537.51
ETH 3405.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55