October 23, In Penarth

in #writing7 years ago

October 23, In Penarth

Alone I sit in the library anticipating your arrival
Like a child in wait of Christmas morn.
Hours soon push the day in to dusk, and I
Aspire to ignore a thousand unsettling concerns..

I have poured the tea and prepared cakes for your welcome,
Marking time by conversing with rebellious flames that snap and dance
As I stir the embers to keep autumn's chill at bay this eve.
I discover a new crack or two in the brick lining of the fireplace.

My flannel dressing gown is warm, yet an irrefutable dampness permeates
The stone walls of this stead, kindling an ache in my bones and a dread in my heart.
Dreariest of rains has invited itself to our little rendezvous;
Pelting drops rap on the window as if demanding permission to come inside.

I turn my attention to a leather bound book atop the mahogany desk...
A volume of light verse might appease such an unwelcome anxiety that has taken root.
My temporary distraction is boorishly interrupted by a clap of thunder
So loud it confounds me, and I scrape my toe on the blackened fire poker.

Worry in earnest begins to niggle at my thoughts as I peer outside
Into the empty night and survey the desolate, pebbled lane that leads from the road.
Black water now courses through its sun-bleached stones, and wind
Lifts the branches just enough to send shadows scampering beneath the lamplight.

I focus on the candle holder, pitying the beeswax as it drips to the floor,
And straining my ear to detect a beat of horses' hooves outside.
The creak of carriage wheels across the old wooden bridge would be most welcome,.
But an answer of destitution is the only response I can glean.

By the saints! Why cannot my mind be quieted but for a moment?
Have the demons that lurk in the peat bogs overtaken you?
Perhaps you were robbed and beaten by ruthless highwaymen…..

My heart threatens to explode with calculated uncertainty.

I cloak myself with a worn dandelion colored blanket and retire to the settee,
Resting my weary neck on the drab, floral-patterned arm.
There is no other choice but to pretend that you are here with me,
Encircling me in your warmth and soothing me with your lopsided grin.

.
Sleep ere overcomes me, and I dream of your laughing eyes.

Copyright Tina Jordan, All Rights Reserved

candles-195109_1280.jpg
Image via Pixabay

Sort:  

you skillfully evoked a mood and atmosphere through a succession of images. Good work!

Thanks John :)

Dear @tinajordan,
Congrats! Your post has been featured on The Daily Qurator # 42. I hope you like it.

Your Quality Curator,
Dr. TLK :D

Wow, thanks!! :D

Dear @tinajordan,
Congrats! Your post has been featured on The Daily Qurator # 42. I hope you like it.

Your Quality Curator,
Dr. TLK :D

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.12 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Beautifully written, as always!

Thank you!! :)

I count on your words every time I come to steemit! You really set and keep the bar high, this is fking awesome. Just reading the single word lines is a poem.

<3

Thank you dear! <3

Congratulations @tinajordan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70