Little Miss LilacsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

Little Miss Lilac

My senses are filled with the serenity of this place, a hidden
Sanctuary so far away from the heartaches and worries of home.
There are no connections to the outside world here; my only
Companions for the week are the shelf full of curiously arranged
Books and the stream that meanders through the backyard grasses.
I see her there on the country lane for the third morning in a row,
As I walk the half mile from my rented cottage to the town square.
She waves and smiles at me exposing a most angelic dimple on her
Chin, and the honeyed curls atop her head catch each ray of morning sun.
I can't help but wonder which home is hers and why she would rather
Linger in a garden instead of playing tag with the children down the street.
Today I stop and speak to her, telling her how lovely her lilacs are
And asking what name such a beautiful flower fairy might wear.
Her simple response is a quizzical grin as she hands me a fragrant stem
Of blossoms and darts off behind a row of neatly squared hedges.
I arrive at the diner a bit winded and overcome with a warm curiosity.
When the waitress returns to refill my coffee cup, I procure the sagging
Lilac from my pocket and make an inquiry about the shy young girl.
A silence overtakes the dining room, and I am certain that everyone
Has focused their attention on me; my mouth becomes dry with discomfort
And disbelief as Glenna's face becomes ashen and she falls to her knees.

Copyright Tina Jordan 2014 All Rights Reserved

girl-838261_1280.jpg
Image public domain via Pixabay

Sort:  

Oh wow, this is beautiful... and so hauntingly sad. Thanks for posting. :)

Thanks so much! I appreciate your kind words and you stopping by to read :)

Oooooooo...... I love a ghost story.

P.S. what does the #whalepower do?

Apparently nothing lol. I used it to see if I could get some whale attention :D Thanks for reading!!

LOL....

Let me know if anything works and I'll try to. ;)

Absolutely! :)

Oh wow! Thank you!! <3

I'm a fan. Just glad I've met you and some of the other Extremely talented people through this platform (most of them are doing better than you and I, so I had to choose you for this). <3

I nominated you as well! I didn't do it just to reciprocate, but because your talent truly deserves to be seen and appreciated! <3

Great story and sad to. Beautiful 😊 thank you for sharing. Upvoted

Thank you! I truly appreciate it :)

My pleasure 😊 Thank You for sharing.. Lol
Have a great evening

Hauntingly melancholic yet beautiful. I love how you weave your words to stir such a hauntingly beautiful sadness in me!
I love this!

Thank you so much for your kind words and for stopping by to read. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58213.71
ETH 2257.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49