Be An Expert of Something You're Clueless About Scares You, and Changes You

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Treading on a subject that you know nothing about and you're writing as if you're the expert scares you but changes you. I am treading this path, right now, and I am terrified.

GIF Source

This terrifying emotion emerges during the Teh Tarik Sundays session, an initiative by #teammalaysia. I was on a live voice chat promoting my new series, Money Lesson with 15-20 listeners who were eager to listen and question. What truly terrified me down my spine is the Q&A session.

Questions like,

How do you make money work for you?
Does this applies on crypto-currency?
How to build assets?

made me go

GIF Source

What is this?!?! I don't know how to answer, I don't have the answers!!

My mind went haywire. My brain is digging my database on the left, and on the right, searching everywhere for non-existent answers. At that moment of I-am-pushed-to-the-corner, my instincts took over. I spoke before I can think. I was stunned by my own so-called "answers".

My real-life experiences are the best answers.

I may not be practicing 100% of what I've learned from Lesson 1, however, I am applying a part of making money work for me. I shared what I've been practicing and miraculously, I survived.

Honesty is valued.

I don't know what I don't know. I don't know how to build assets yet, and I laid that clear, openly. Admitting "I don't know" on public could be intimidating, but can be rewarding because Honesty is valued. It is okay to admit you don't know but not finding out is not okay.

Make every experience counts.

I am the kind of person who makes every experience counts. Teh Tarik Sundays event has taught me valuable life lessons that I hope will benefit you just as they have benefited me.

1. It's a blessing to know what you don't know


Image Source

I am grateful to know what I don't know about money from the Q&A session. I don't know people are looking for practical real-life application when it comes to money yet. I don't know money also includes crypto-currencies, for some, yet. I don't know how to build assets, yet. I don't know how to make money work for me yet.

It's up to me to find out those answers. Now that I know what I don't know, I need to study more to find them out.

2. I am into something B.I.G


Image Source

Topic about money is sensitive, vast and deep. I am striding into a very sensitive, huge and in-depth subject that everyone knows and cares about, but I am unfamiliar with. It scares me just as much as it excites me. Because if I can grasp financial literacy, my relationship with money will change entirely. My way of life will change.

People who are more knowledgeable than I am will challenge, condemn and criticize me for what I will write. I am no expert, but I am willing to unlearn and re-learn. Challenge, condemn and criticize me all you can because I will absorb those as information and learn.

3. Doing things that I am scared of is thrilling like paraglide for the 1st time


Image Source

I am scared of speaking to a group of people, I am scared of explaining things that I don't understand, I am scared of being questioned, I am scared of being the center of attention. On Teh Tarik Sundays session, all of these happened. I need to speak to a group of people, I need to speak as if I am an expert in money, questions are flowing in and I am the center of attention in that span of time.

Holy shit!! My heart was breaking cold sweat and it beats so fast till I can hear my own. My mind goes blank for a moment when the questions starts pouring in. It was disastrous in me. But it was thrilling at the same time.

I was enjoying the process of self-transformation.

I was looking forward to me breaking through all of these fears. Pictures of me answering all of those questions confidently dominated my mind. I want to be that person. As a result, I wasn't near, but I wasn't far either, from that person. I am beginning to evolve.

Would you give it a try, creating contents on subjects you're scared of?


I'd like to express my heartfelt appreciation to @bitrocker2020, @branlee87 and @zord189 for creating the amazing Teh Tarik Sundays session. It has lived up to its name Teh Tarik where all Malaysians come together, yumcha and chit chat. I'm sure everyone had their fair share of laughs that night. 😆

At least I laughed a lot. 😋


Similar posts that you want to read,

How to win over temptations, distractions?

Your Elevation May Require Your Isolation

How Do You Survive the Random Hurricanes of Outcome?


@tifaong writes simple and positive practices and ideas that you can learn (or re-learn) and apply in your life immediately. She covers life lessons, self-help, relationships, and motivational contents. Her mission is to spread positivity so that we can live a happier, fulfilling life.

Check out her profile here to find out more 😁

She has committed to post daily, so rest assured that you will find something new everyday.

She is also a proud member of,

#Newbieresteemday

#Greetersguild


Follow @greetersguild and join us on discord to learn more (newbies and non newbies welcome). We are always looking for more Greeters to join our team! https://discord.gg/3jYNPUx

Qurator

SmartSteem

Sort:  

It is an intellectual journey as well as a philosophical one. On the one hand you can learn a lot about topics you wouldn't otherwise dip your toes into and on the other you become aware of all you don't know. Not all topics will be eye opening but the experience will be enlightening. Great post.

Hey @wizardofcheeze, thank you for reading and dropping quality comment.

Yeah, it's a very interesting journey to walk. If you choose the right topic, it'll be super eye-opening. The experiences always count :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59486.49
ETH 2588.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47