Flowcharting in Writing StrategysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I've started to re-organize the way that I write:

  • I have websites all over the place
  • I lost out on some marketing possibilities with the way that I have published to the web
  • I had stuff on different computers ( I have fixed the bulk of that problem)

Here are the discussions on that reorganization process so far:
Writing Strategy - First Iteration, Part 1
Testing The New Setup

Flow Charts

One Thing I wanted to focus on is the way that I publish material. since I write different things, and my websites are focused on different niches, I thought flowcharting would be a good way to start.

Here is an initial draft of my writing process. You will see that I haven't listed many of the websites I cataloged in my first post. I wanted to discuss flowcharting and how to use it on Steemit first.

OK Steve, very pretty. Now how do I do it?

You should be able to do this via Word, for the most part.

How to Create Stunning Flowcharts With Microsoft Word

Read this, and depending on your version of Word, this next one should help.

Add a drawing to a document

Here is a great page for flowcharting symbols:
Basic Flowchart Symbols and Meaning

You may use a different app if you already have one; I used to use Visio, and it was great (I no longer have a good copy of Visio, but it's not really needed)

Now to save it to an image. I used a PNG, but the process is the same.
Re: How can I save a flow chart made in Word as a GIF file?

Finally, you upload your pic to a hosting service, and add it to your Steemit post.

Easy peasy. My flowchart draft is pretty rough, but I have a coffee date later and her eyes are dancing through my mind right now; I'm going to have to take a weed whacker to my back hair and steam clean the slime from my rotting carcass.

A reminder for ME

I need to discuss the use of If That Then This, IFTTT to automate your sharing/reposting processes.
https://ifttt.com/discover

If you start to follow me, please let me know so that I can return your follow!


Home To Texas: Recollections of a Texas Badman

Sort:  

Wow! I scribble down notes (that I usually can't even decipher myself) and then put numbers beside them to establish the order I want everything. Except when I write stories...then it's just flow of consciousness (or unconsciousness)!

I had to start doing all my writing on the PC after I realized I couldn't read half the crap I wrote down LOL

I have the same problem! When I was in college I took copious notes, then when I was studying them I would ask my wife- Can you make this out?

that was about the only time I ever used proper handwriting, but it took a lot out of me.

so I only did it in the classes that interested me. nowadays kids can take video of the lecture, but to be honest, I always learned the fastest when the lecture was paced so that I could take detailed and clear notes

ahh shit, heres one. you can use excel to organize outline writing. ive done this before and I will need to add this in future discussions

in excel, you can uses cells to outline by setting ideas in sub colums and you can insert rows and colums when new ideas come up and you can copy/past when ideas need to be moved around.

I like excel, I used it to make a database for out cemeteries. My problem is when I have ideas in the middle of the night, if I get up, turn my comp on, and wait...the idea is gone. Pad and pen are quicker

that makes sense

My experience with Excel was Excel for DOS...I was the DOS master. I have around 350 pages of a book I was writing (5 out of 7 chapters) on floppy discs written in WP 6.0 for DOS. I'd love to find someone with a disc drive that would read them...I'd finish it lol!

you can find 3.5 drives with USB connectors on Amazon, but idk about 5" drives

I've got a 3.5 one if you need it

I used to use Visio at my previous job for making flowcharts. Whenever it wasn't needed for displaying company processes, I still found other uses for it. It's so easy to get your head organised

When I switched jobs, I missed it so much, I started to look for a proper (and free) alternative. I ended up using https://www.draw.io/
It's not just as easy as Visio, but it's the best one I could find :-)

I have heard good things about draw.io, but I haven't tried it yet.

Once I get uncluttered, I'll start looking at alt programs again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55