You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flowcharting in Writing Strategy

in #writing7 years ago

Wow! I scribble down notes (that I usually can't even decipher myself) and then put numbers beside them to establish the order I want everything. Except when I write stories...then it's just flow of consciousness (or unconsciousness)!

Sort:  

I had to start doing all my writing on the PC after I realized I couldn't read half the crap I wrote down LOL

I have the same problem! When I was in college I took copious notes, then when I was studying them I would ask my wife- Can you make this out?

that was about the only time I ever used proper handwriting, but it took a lot out of me.

so I only did it in the classes that interested me. nowadays kids can take video of the lecture, but to be honest, I always learned the fastest when the lecture was paced so that I could take detailed and clear notes

ahh shit, heres one. you can use excel to organize outline writing. ive done this before and I will need to add this in future discussions

in excel, you can uses cells to outline by setting ideas in sub colums and you can insert rows and colums when new ideas come up and you can copy/past when ideas need to be moved around.

I like excel, I used it to make a database for out cemeteries. My problem is when I have ideas in the middle of the night, if I get up, turn my comp on, and wait...the idea is gone. Pad and pen are quicker

that makes sense

My experience with Excel was Excel for DOS...I was the DOS master. I have around 350 pages of a book I was writing (5 out of 7 chapters) on floppy discs written in WP 6.0 for DOS. I'd love to find someone with a disc drive that would read them...I'd finish it lol!

you can find 3.5 drives with USB connectors on Amazon, but idk about 5" drives

I've got a 3.5 one if you need it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67280.14
ETH 3764.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57