Shipwreck Writing Challenge: Rules and Awards Announced!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to another update on the Shipwreck Writing Challenge!

We have already:


This time I'll announce the prizes and introduce the rules.

At the end of the post we'll see the current list of the participants and open more spots.



PRIZES


Like in the previous rounds, we'll shoot out to Steemians and encourage them to become sponsors of the contest. This time each one of them will have their own place at the end of the post. They will get the opportunity to promote their communities, products and services.

Currently:

  • 1st place gets: 3 SBD and 50 Whaleshares and the GOLD MEDAL of the Shipwreck Writing Challenge

  • 2nd place gets: 2 SBD and 40 Whaleshares and the SILVER MEDAL of the Shipwreck Writing Challenge

  • 3rd place gets: 1 SBD and 30 Whaleshares and the BRONZE MEDAL of the Shipwreck Writing Challenge

  • 4rd place gets: 25 Whaleshares

  • 5th place gets: 20 Whaleshares

  • 6th place gets: 15 Whaleshares

The rest will also get smaller amounts of Whaleshares.

She will secure more Whaleshares for the places after 6th and there will be surprises for our jury as well. More details over the next week.


RULES:


The contest consist of 3 rounds. Each round you'll be given 3 options to choose from. Each option will describe a shipwreck and some curious facts related TO the tragic event.

Everyone of the participants should choose only one option and write a story related TO the shipwreck. These are 3 different opportunities for you to exercise your creative writing skills.

The deadline for each round is 7 days.

The minimum length for your stories is 700 words and the maximum length is 1500 words.
Try to include at least one image as this will also help you get more points.

A jury that consist of members of @thewritersblock will be reading and rating your stories from 1 to 10.

The results for each round will be announced once the jury is ready. We won't push them to hurry up. Instead, once the deadline for the first round is hit, I'll just announce the beginning of the second round and offer you 3 new options to choose from.

The same rules for the submissions apply for Round 2 and Round 3.

I'll soon announce the members of the jury.


PARTICIPANTS:


At the moment we have 15 participants. There were 4 early birds + 10 free spots to take. The 15th participant joins the short list and waits for the next time new spots are being announced. And this time is now:

The contest will accept 5 more participants.


NEXT:


  • Welcoming members of the jury
  • Welcoming more new participants
  • Launching the challenge!

Q & A:


Q: What will happen if more than 20 people apply in total?

A: They'll be still allowed to participate, however their entries won't be rated by the jury and they won't be able to receive prizes. What they will get though are the SP and SBD rewards from their own stories plus I'll feature their submissions after each round along with the stories of the 20 challengers.

Q: When is the contest launching?

A: As soon as we get 5 more participants and announce the members of the jury. I think it will happen on Friday at latest, so I can say that the contest will be launched on Friday.

Let me know if you have any other questions and I'll be happy to answer in a timely manner.

Yours,
@steemfluencer

Image source

Sort:  

@steemfluencer, I am extremely interested in joining this contest. Having lived the better part of the last three years on a sailboat traveling the Caribbean full time with my family, I think I might have an interesting perspective to write from that would help my submission be of unique character.

What is the application process to be considered as one of the five new participants?

I write here on steemit as both a technical crypto trader and as a creative writer. I've been searching for an outlet for the creative writing aspect that would lend itself well to either my interests or experience, and this seems like the perfect fit!

Thank you for your consideration.

Hey! This is amazing! Welcome on board! All you need is say you want to participate and you already did it :)

Fantastic! Having had an English teacher as a mother, I can at least assure you that my submission will at the bare minimum be well constructed :) Whether or not I can assemble something both entertaining and noteworthy will be my challenge!

Your comment got my attention @serapium. I'll really be looking forward to seeing how your experiences of the last three years reflects in your writing for this contest. I'm a big nautical nut, so I had to hop aboard when I heard about this contest.

If you're looking for a community to help encourage that outlet you've been seeking, jump on Discord and come visit us at the Writer's Block. We have a lot of fun and a great "open source" editing system to help everyone improve their pieces. If I had to venture a guess based on what you said, you might enjoy diving into the editing queue and helping others improve as well.

PS. Now that I've discovered you, I'll have to browse through your crypto posts. I read a recent one and it hit my crypto-trading itch just right.

PPS. Also just read your "RIP Steemit" post. Great write up about the issues that will hurt this place big in the long run. It's been much discussed as of late.

Thanks for the encouragement! I'll definitely come visit in the Discord. I've started using that platform quite a lot to interact with various communities talking about specific cryptos.

Getting involved in this contest got my creative juices flowing yesterday and I was inspired to spit out a piece of fiction for my contribution to steemit today. If you're interested is sampling my writing style where fiction is concerned, come check it out!

I'm already sure about that @serapium! This morning I woke up reading few of your recent posts.

Thank you! I've been fairly distracted from steemit over the last couple of months riding the cryptowaves, but this recent market correction is allowing me some more time to participate in here. This morning I took a vow to not even check my account balances across the various exchanges that I use. I think for the next couple of days it will be healthy for my mental state :)

This is gonna be so much fun!!! So glad I got onboard the sinking ship!!!! (I AM onboard, right?!?!) Can’t wait for this to start!

According to my calculations you might be the last passenger catching the ship, so welcome on board! :)

Resteemed to get the rest on board ASAP! I'm excited about this contest. The three rounds give me a challenge to explore many possibilities and styles, plus I love pirates, ships and shipwrecks quite a lot.

Cool! Thank you! We need only one or two more challengers.

Heeeeey this sound soo cool!! Can I get in too? :)

Sure! Welcome on board @isa93! :) I'll announce the jury members today and then Round 1 will follow few days later.

Thanks! I'm really excited about this one. I've never wrote anything ship, boat or sea related really. I get seasick fairly easily too... But hey, I've also never seen a dragon irl before and I'm currently writing a story about one and it doesn't so much completely sucks entirely either. There's still hope.

I'm interested in this competition! How do I apply?

Just say I'm in :)

Welcome on board! :)

I would like to participate this time

You are already in! I counted you as an early bird, because of one of your earlier comments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57328.77
ETH 3111.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42