There was a Tom and his Best Friend

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

The creative Challenge is full steam ahead. Here is my interpretation of the second task.

The Rules

This is a story of a friendship, love, and drama [feel free to replace these or add more].
Everything has started [pick a time in the past when].
[Finish with]: Today Tom & Joey...

Task #2: Tom and Joey
Using the phrases below, try to build a short fictional story.

Additional notes: Obviously Joey and Tom are the protagonists. Feel free to add more characters, to include retrospection and whatever else you would like. You are totally free to write your own interpretation. Use this type of freedom as an opportunity to put your creativity under some pressure. If you'd like to present the old men in a different way, please do so.
A short story means something that is minimum 300 words.

Deadline Thursday, September 21 by Midnight EST.

The Story

Tom is still the smartest accountant in the town,

Joey is his best friend.

Tom is 94.

Joey is 95.

They both live in Cambridge Missouri and today is Tom’s birthday. For a span of 24 hours, they share the same age. This may seem silly or just smiley? Tom might say Joey is odd. Joey married Tom's’ sister, but Tom married Joey's childhood friend. I guess that makes them both odd. If that does not make them brothers, I'm not sure I know what will. The picture above is the face they make when people ask, “how do you two know each other?” Tom usually takes the lead and starts the story by saying the following.

“You see, I was an accountant in college and it was my birthday when I met Joey. On this particular day, Joey was with Sarah heading into town to celebrate his birthday. The first restaurant was blocked off because the property caught on fire. Joey and Sarah ended up going to a nearby pub with friends. It was getting late and karaoke was going strong. During one of the songs, we met and he met my sister which started the flow of endless shots. I fancied Sarah and quickly learned Joey and she were just friends. I asked her to sing with me. She decided to freestyle and ended up telling us about the building that caught on fire. Keep in mind, they learned about the fire after 12 shots of something or rather. Sarah and I sang an interesting duet.

“The song went something like this.

““We went to this place and thought how great! Let’s have french fries, beer, and burn down the place,” sang Sarah. Shaking my head wondering if it was true, I shouted, “WE DIDN'T KNOW IT WOULD HAPPEN SO QUICKLY!*”

“Sarah, huffed, puffed, and continue to sing. ”French fries again, plenty more beer, and what do you know! I knocked over the candles.

Still shaking my head in disbelief, I tried to find a rhyme to continue this crazy story. So I said, "Down from the table, right over the bagel!*”

“Laughing and swaying, Sarah continued. "Down from the table, right over the bagel, and then it wasn't so playful."

The song continued, but the story came to a sudden halt. Joey interrupted by farting while sitting at the park bench. The smell was painful and of course their wives walked by and gave them the look.

They would have finished the story, but you could tell by the looks on their faces there was just no coming back from that.

The end..

Vote for ausbitbank witness by clicking HERE

Sort:  

You always find the fun challenges!

Growing old like that only worth it if you have a good lifetime friend with you.

This story was such a hot mess for me. I didn't know what to write about at first, then I couldn't get my story to connect, and then I had a brain fart and just had to end it as you saw. Thanks for stopping by am reading anyways you're such a trooper!

How I feel everything I write is Then I just take an axe to it a bit and post it hehe.

Bahahaha, lucky you write really REALLY well.

That invested time hehe. What I wrote today so far took 4hours or so.

Now i'm working on color green post. I just hope to have it out by midnight.

Green, huh? I wonder what you'll do.

You doing any of the color challenges? I'm having way to much fun.

I did it once I think, but not since that one time. Do you do it everyday?

There are 7 days worth. 3rd day in a row now for me. I just made a brew to lure in the dragon lo . yes I been hunting a dragon. I must have gone mad!

Some people just take a pic of a flower and post it lol. Gah what fun they are missing! My brain swims with ideas when focusing on use of color for things.

You are so much fun!! Get that dragon, slay them, but don't forget the selfie or it never happened. 🤦🏽‍♀️🤦🏿‍♂️

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kubby Elizabeth 'Pink Guardian' from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I love your writing is very easy to follow the story and catches my attention from the first paragraph... this is the challenge for the writers...thanks for sharing!!!!

hahah, omgsh you liked my story! What an honor. Thank you very much. I am working on my next one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44