Second Creative Writing Challenge Prelaunch Announcement

in #writing7 years ago

Hello everyone!


I'm so excited to announce that we'll soon launch a new edition of the Creative Writing Challenge!

The break is over and the window for new applicants is opening with this post.


In case haven't heard about the Creative Writing Challenge

This is a simple to follow contest and your goal for each included task is to write and submit a post according to a certain set of rules. In most cases you are required to write a story.

As we've all concluded based on the first challenge: the SBD award is something tiny compared with the rest of the benefits for each of the participants that has decided to follow the challenge.

Some people suddenly found an inspiration to finish their books that was left untouched for more than 2 decades.

Most of the participants who were active have established a good writing routines. I've personally improved my English and my memory.

In the first edition we had 5 participants that managed to submit entries for all of the nine tasks. This is why they've also received a SBD price award that was accumulated thanks to the generosity of a number of sponsors.--


2nd Creative Writing Challenge: Rules, Prize pool and tasks


Rules


We are increasing the deadline to submit a new post to 72 hours and new tasks will be announced on Mondays and on Thursdays. Sunday doesn't count as in the previous cycle.

There will be 9 new tasks and to finish successfully you'll need to submit posts for each of the tasks. Of course, anyone is invited to participate even after we've launched the contest. I'll still mention their names in the next round's tables with posts. The only thing newcomers won't be able to share with the ones that has started from the very beginning is the SBD prize award.


Prize pool


The price pool we start with is 10 SBD. Hopefully, as it happened the first time generous sponsors will contribute and it perwill increase much more. My personal advice is to forget about it. I'll be regularly keep track of what's happening with that component of the contest, however your goal will be solely devoting on training your creative writing muscle - that will be the most valuable award you could 'bring back home' at the end after task N9.


Tasks


I've put efforts to write various tasks that should entertain you and challenge you at the same time :) The feedback from the first 9 tasks was outstanding. As I've already admitted in the 7 Curious Facts About the Making of Creative Writing Challenge
, not every task was planned in advance. This time I'm a bit better prepared and won't pass through the stress I had last month. What I have are 11 drafts for tasks and I guess that by the time of announcing the first one, I should already have 4-5 more. So yeah, there's a good selection to choose from.

How to become a participant?

We'll make few pre-launch posts to get as much participants on board as possible. To participate, just leave a comment that you'd be happy to participate and you'll find your @name in a table in the next post.


Questions?


If you see a flaw in the post and something is not clear enough, please let me know in the comments as well. I'll be happy to provide you with my best answer.

Sort:  

Woo-hoo, So ready for another challenge! I think it would be great if each participate donated $1 SBD toward the prize poll. I think it will hold us accountable and increase the overall prize pool.

Yes @kubbyelizabeth. I've also thought about such kind of an option. We are still in the pre-launch phase so it's not too late to announce that in the next posts. What we need now are few more opinions. Thank you for participating and for always suggesting fresh ideas.

Opps that last transfer came from scrooger. Forgot to mention his name in the memo. :)

I gotta say I kinda like that idea, @kubbyelizabeth. It makes the pool a bit bigger if everyone needs an 'entry fee' to get in, but also forces them to be more accountable to stick with it with it all the way through the 9 tasks.

Absolutely! It's healthy for the pool.

Great idea, I'll have to earn some money first, LOL! AND figure out how to share it.

Welcome new comer and there is lots to learn. I sent you a little gift and invite you to make some new friends here --> https://discord.gg/5fq2zPt

I'll be there waiting for you :-)

I, for one, am looking forward to this! :)

Would love to participate but I'm not sure I can manage timewise...

Try doing something about it @tinypaleokitchen. At the end one of the benefits of participating is trying to stick to a schedule. The new edition of the challenge will offer an increased deadline for submitting the posts, so you are already privileged. Let me know if you'd like to be included in the table with the participants for the next post.

Good to see you again @negativer! :) Thank you! How are you doing recently? :)

I am good! I want an excuse to write a bit more, but I like the idea that you're making it a 3-day window for each submission. Probably gives everyone a bit more time to write, and gives you a bit more time to catch up with all the submissions and making the necessary posts to move people along.

Indeed, there are few benefits that I couldn't neglect. I still hope that the tasks will be challenging enough for you.

I'm so happy to see another young writer joining. It's a great honor @ellievallie :)

Thank you, this seems like a wonderful idea!

Excited to try from the start this time! Bring it on!

Hey Mike! Cool man! :) Thank you for taking part. I'm happy that this time you'll be one of the people starting from the very beginning.

Interesting. You have my attention.

Great @darxide403 ! You are accepted as one of the participants! :) Looking forward to see how you practice your skills :)

So cool! Thanks for putting this on, I've loved reading the content from the people participating. I highly doubt I can complete all the tasks, since I will be on the road and sometimes out of cell range for days at a time, but I'd still like to give it a go! :D

Yeah, why not try sweeten your journey with a bit of dopamine caused by the approaching deadline and the lack of internet. Thank you for participating! :) A lot of the participants in the first challenging had to travel a lot as well (including me, as you might have discovered). Ask @cristof as well. I think we has written half of his posts while travelling.

@violacasey is on board!
I'll continue reading to learn what the tasks are.
Thanks for the contest!

Great! I look forward to participate.

Great :) Welcome as one of the newest participants in the Creative Writing Challenge vol. 2

I thought the break would be longer, it's awesome that there's a prelaunch post already :) Looking forward to the challenge!

Yeah, I also thought it will be longer, but I think it won't make a lot of sense to delay it more. Our brains are still in a good shape and we should keep exercising them.. :) That's where the value is found with our competition.

Following recommendation from @kubbyelizabeth, I would like to register for the 2nd Creative Writing Challenge.

I would also like to donate 5 SBD towards the Prize Pool (@kubbyelizabeth said that she would cut off my thumbs and feed them to Florida alligators, if I don’t. I don’t mind feeding wild animals, but typing without thumbs would be somewhat cumbersome, so I’ve chosen to donate).

Hello @oleg326756! Hahahah.. how cruel is @kubbyelizabeth :O Thank you for both taking part of the challenge and for becoming one of the sponsors. I was just updating the list with participants. You'll soon find yourself there in the next post. Welcome on board! We are launching soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40