You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who Is Naquoya? - A Re-Introduction and Discussion About Value

in #writing6 years ago

Two days back, I was wondering about who you really were and thought to dig deeper into your blog to find out your introductory post. I had planned to do it tomorrow, but I am so glad you came up with this post. I'll definitely read your introductory post too because this one has increased my interest in you, but I am happy for this post cos it gave me quite an insight into your life.

The following paragraphs touched me the most:

As a child I was extremely quiet. People mistook this for manners. It was more the product of fear. A fear born of an ever present expectation of eternal obliteration. These fears were handed to me without my consent. Some people consider this religion. Others would call it child abuse. Really, perhaps, it's just life. It's given me things to write about, and challenges to overcome.

That's so beautiful and optimistic of you to consider those experiences as somethings to write about. Saying that is not easy at all. I know that cos I have had close escapes from child abuse and even those close escapes were too horrendous for me. I admire you more now.

So, in a way, words make the past less significant, and the present more valuable. I have learned to be careful with my words, written and spoken. They have power. They can create, as well as destroy. In that sense, we are like the gods themselves, with our words. This has given me pause for thought.

Wow! What a thought man. Words do give us a lot of power and this is what we were discussing the other day. The God part never entered my mind. You are just brilliant.

Sort:  

Thank you for your wonderful comment. My intro post got buried long ago (as happens on this site), and it had been suggested to re-introduce myself. Thought it was a good time to do so. Glad I saved you the hassle of trying to find my previous intro post. Even I had a hard time trying to locate it. So now this is all up to date, with links easy to find.

And also, I'm not the same person I was when I wrote that. Perhaps we never really are. If we pursue a sense of evolution and growth, spiritually, emotionally, then how could we be?

I do believe that I am, at heart, an optimist. I have my moments, but mostly the glass is half full, not half empty. Besides, the past cannot be changed, only our present attitude towards it can be. I read a book recently that dealt with that topic - The Courage to be Disliked.

Thanks for spending some of your time with me and my blog :)

Yes I am too glad you wrote this post too :)

You are 100% right in saying this:

And also, I'm not the same person I was when I wrote that. Perhaps we never really are. If we pursue a sense of evolution and growth, spiritually, emotionally, then how could we be?

I believe the same. We never really are the same person we never some time back and I think we aren't the same person as we were even a day before. Different things keep happening around us and keep shaping us so yeah we do keep changing.

Thanks for spending some of your time with me and my blog :)

I love being here. It feels quite like home.

It's about progression. I suppose our job is to make sure it's a positive one. Perhaps that is the free will we possess - freedom to choose how we perceive things, and the point of view we focus most on.

Oh yes, if it is a negative change, we won't ever feel at peace or happy or even stable from within.

Very true :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39