Do you feel like a Reject from all the Submission Rejections?

in #writing6 years ago

no-1532842_960_720.jpg

I'm going to share a huge secret with you, that I have never been able to admit to anyone. Not even myself. I fear rejection. And I don't just mean that as in being slightly afraid. I mean, I really FEAR rejection, to the point where it has ruled many aspects of my life. I have taken side roads to avoid rejection, sometimes just not bothering to take action due to that fear. I honestly believe I would be further in life right now if it was not for fear of rejection.

This brings me to my writing and how I have managed to conquer, in some way, that fear. You see, there are two things I cannot live with in my life: Fear and Addiction. I hate both of them. If I find myself being obsessive about something or addicted to something, I try and cut it down as much as possible. If I feel fear, I find a way to overcome it. I do not rule by fear, and I will not let fear rule me.

As a book and screenplay writer, rejection is something I have had to swallow hard. I've learnt the nature of rejection and that it is not as bad as it seems. Like so many writers out there, I have had my handful of rejections by traditional publishers, turning down my manuscripts because it was not what THEY wanted at that time. "Your story is great, but there is no market for this at the moment." Or when my books were published, and I approached book stores. "Sorry, we love your story, but we only deal with books that sell well and established authors. Like Clive Cussler and JRR Tolkien."

No one has ever turned me down because I am a bad writer or don't have a good story. They just did not seeing my work making THEM any money. For that's all they are focused on. Profit and bottom line. If I had come to them and my books were selling a million copies a month, they would take me in a heartbeat. They would take me if I was already established, not to help me to become established. But, if I am established as a multi-million rand bestseller, why would I need them?

Now, what happens next determines the type of person you are. Do you let the rejection sink you down, or does it make you rise up? I didn't know this answer until I had had enough of rejections. I did not know what my core was made of until now. I no longer submit my work to publishers for consideration. I started my own private publishing company and now publish not only my books, but those of other writers and anthologies of short stories. We even have a Guinness World Record coming up of 108 short stories in 1 volume, and the writers that have been featured have been interviewed by newspapers, podcasts and radio stations because of it.

Rejection is such a standard by publishing companies that they are usually measured these days by the ratio of rejections they issue. There's this site, I won't mention Submission Grinder by name (whoops), which is one of many that actually asks you what your ratio of rejection is. Apparently you are a good publisher if you can show that you actually reject submissions. It shows some sort of intellectual application towards the acceptance of submissions.

So sad, but true. Let's investigate another avenue where rejection has been prevalent for me. Adapting stories from one medium to another. As in my requests to adapt certain games into novels or films (Skyrim, Diablo 3 and Dying Light being high on these lists). Fortunately, I managed to obtain the permission to write the Silent Hill fanfiction novels just before Silent Hills was cancelled and Konami seemed to abandon the Silent Hill franchise forever. Which is a lengthy discussion on its own. The others had the same response like it was a template they all used: "Sorry, but we are not interested in pursuing other avenues for the game just yet."

But it isn't about what you want, surely? Shouldn't it be about your fans? Who can say no to other merchandising and revenue?

Many others simply ignore me and don't bother replying, which is a form of rejection by itself. Did I let this get me down? Do I abandon all hope, just stop writing and forget I am an author?

No. I am too intelligent and creative for that. Malum: Rise of the Deadly Sins is inspired by the Diablo series, and I have other book ideas inspired by Fallout 4 and Skyrim. Why should I have to rely on acceptance, adapt an IP that is already there, when I can create my own intellectual property? I know one day in the future, when I get approached to turn my novels into movies and games (and have a chance to reject THEM), I will remember when I used to beg to adapt to book. Instead, they will be asking to adapt my books. And not because I am vain or full of myself, because I fully believe I am capable of it. And you should value yourself enough to believe that you can too.

So my main message is: don't let rejection be something negative. Instead, let it be something constructive that builds you up to something bigger. The more the bridges fall, the more you can use the rubble to build yourself something stronger to cross the great divide.

Do you have rejection or success stories to share? Feel free to do so in the comments, or share links to your posts on the matter.

Image Source: Pixabay


Kind regards

Shaun M Jooste

Joint-Owner: AIR Entertainment (https://airentertainment.biz)
Director: Celenic Earth Publications (https://celenicearthpublications.wordpress.com)
Author, Screenwriter, Gamewriter, Journalist (https://celenicearth.wordpress.com)

Sort:  

I'm glad you followed me back. It triggered @GINAbot to notify me. Which caused me to come back and realize I got distracted from upvoting and Resteeming ... because a friend and I were talking about your article behind your back. Sooooo let me fix a few things. Ok now. ...

I really enjoy your perspective because you are pointing out how we have the ability to aggressively choose our addictions and our responses.

In my opinion, this ends the roll of victim in/of the matrix and starts our roll as ruler of our future. The more we exercise aggressive choices over our own behaviors, the more we rule our future, even if we cannot see immediate changes. It's rare that some immediate change does not occur within us first.

I appreciate your efforts to bring quality conversation to the table even as a young account.

Steemit is like life. You will need to repeat your message often as the people reading are seldom the same. However, don't repeat paragraphs of your own writings, without using the quote block, as the bots will be by to whine at you about plagiarism etc.

Oh also if @ Steemcleaners should be by, just follow the steps needed to white list your other Internet ramblings.

Ttyl, have fun :-)

Thank you for your comment. I love the phrases "aggressive choices" and "ruler of our future". And thank you for the advise to repeat my message as often as possible. Nice to know it is appreciated. I don't know that much about Steemcleaners, but I don't see any reason why a post like this should come to their attention (or have I missed something?)

Sooner or later you will repeat yourself between your website or other social media onto Steemit.

Cheetah scours the steem apps (steemit) and the Internet looking for Web content that matches steemit. He leaves a comment with a link to the matching content.

Generally, people go straight to victim mode and throw a tantrum (or start a new bot account, depending). Reading Cheetah's FAQ is a smarter move.

Cheetah is a bot. Steemcleaners is not. They're the review crew. They generally ask you to go through a whitelisting process. It is easy.

I've not looked lately but you might explore @ Steemcleaners posts to see if there is a way to preemptively whitelist your other Internet activities.

Have fun, enjoy

Ah ok cool. Thanks for the explanation. Let's hope it doesn't come to that :)

Great post. A lesson to be learnt from this for everyone. Turn that rejection into an opportunity to create something new and worthwhile.

I think something we all struggle of is the value we place on our own skill and time. We never think we are worth it. If you continue thinking like that you are almost asking to be rejected.

I so agree with you! That was my problem too. Didn't think my skill was worth anything. When I changed that attitude, I realised just how valuable it was, not just to myself but to others too. All I had to do was believe in myself.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

You may rely on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Upvoted by Proudly South African Steemians(@psas). You can follow us for more truely South African content.
If you are from South Africa, you are more than welcome to join us on Discord. https://discord.gg/xRznW7S

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99