You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SILVER LINING #20

in #writing7 years ago

Still reckon Ledd is too young for an existential crisis but then again he thinks he's an adult so perhaps he's old enough XD

Zepp (and my kids and all the other kids) are called "digital natives" for a reason. They can't conceive of life without electronics and any new technology they'll pick up like they've had it for ages XD Up til the point they're about 30 I think and then they'll be just as wowed by kids after them picking up all the newer technology as we are now.

I think. I read things and forget where I read them from but I definitely read that from somewhere and possibly made some inferences.

And on the destiny front I don't know. If stuff isn't written in stone then it has to be malleable. But stone is malleable after a fashion (see results of enough weather and geological forces XD). Maybe it's varying degrees of wet clay. Malleable enough but still pretty solid. If stuff is predetermined it would suck if you desperately wanted to be rich and famous and you were SURE that was your destiny but your destiny was actually to be a peon XD Man that's kinda depressing.

I should probably shut up now, too much coffee not enough sleep.

You should totally publish Silver Lining to be released alongside or shortly after Day in the Clouds. I kinda feel sorry for all those people who would miss out on these otherwise XP

Sort:  

I might've sneaked more of me in that existential crisis. Might have. Haha! I've been itching to sneak these philosophical questions for quite some time now, and while I've gotten away with a few in the earlier chapters, I knew this was something that was way too deep. This dictates the ending though, so I couldn't go around it. Oops! I'm saying too much again, aren't I?

Yeah, those "digital natives"... I really wish my future children won't be, but I guess it's unavoidable.. There must really be a zeitgeist that's guiding society to evolve this way.

Right?? Talking about destiny. It's such a blurred line, that you can't avoid paradoxes no matter what school of thought you choose. If you believe that you're destined to be something (emphasis on "believe"), then you can't just choose to believe that your choices aren't predetermined. It's either they aren't or they are. If you're free to do anything, but are still headed for this predetermined destination, then what's the point of choosing anything. Oy vey...

You know, as the end is nearing, I've really been thinking about this a lot. Right now, I'm in the camp that I want to keep it Steemit-exclusive to draw readers into the platform. It feels so incomplete when you read the story without the added context. Even if it was just some flavoring, it became quite essential to the experience :(

Thanks for stopping by, my friend. Your insights are always very much highly anticipated and appreciated! :D

Nah you're saying just enough. Mercilessly teasing without giving too much away :)

I don't really see anything wrong with being a digital native, they're slightly more than tools but currently slightly less than partners/collaborators as far as I'm concerned (I use them and I talk to them and I swear they develop personalities after having been exposed to me for long enough, but I don't let them talk back purely because I don't trust Google or Microsoft and I trust Apple only slightly, however having said that my kids talk to Siri and I was quite pleased to hear them being quite polite to her, I have taught them manners well XD).

I understand your logic in wanting to keep it Steemit-exclusive, and if you feel that's the right way to go about things then it's the right way :) I don't think the Silver Lining is essential to the experience, Day in the Clouds would be quite enjoyable even without it and the lack wouldn't detract in any way. What it does is add a massive wealth of information which gives readers a much deeper understanding and insight and thus give a deeper appreciation for what's going on in the story.

Did that make any sense whatsoever? XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51