Lost In Morgue Land - Still Here (Part 4)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)
Previously on Lost In Morgue Land
Part I: Welcome
Part II: Death Is Hard
Part III: Crack

Image from: pxhere.com

More than a week has passed since John found himself inside a cold freezer of a morgue, after having been stabbed and dumped in an alley. Days go by, corpses too. Unidentified people meet with their families, sad stories finally see their last chapter written with a funeral service, souls come to their Rest In Peace place, but John... John is still on RIF (Rest In Freeze) mode.

I must have been here for at least ten days. I was at the Bordeaux on a Saturday night, this means I came here on Sunday. Yesterday I heard someone say that I still have another week, before my twenty-day free stay ends. Then they're gonna have to either gift me to some medical school or bury me in the hospital cemetery. I don't know what sounds more fun, see the faces of medical students passing out at the sight of my guts and save some more time out here? Or be put in another box and covered with a ton of dirt? 

Voices and footsteps approaching.

- Bodies from D3 and E4.

- Only those two?

- Yes, they are the only ones to match that woman's description.

Woman? Could it be Lucy? Did she finally noticed I was missing longer than I used to? Is it possible she had the police searching all those days and she is now here, the last and most hated resort, hoping she would never find me in a place like that?

Ah! Sweet, simple minded Lucy! Let it please be you!

John's door opens, he is transferred in another room, put on a table and covered with a sheet right next to another corpse.

Hey, neighbor! Sunny day today, isn't it?

Silence.

Not in the mood for some chit chat, huh? Come on, we live next freezer, we should at least introduce ourselves. I'm John.

Silence.

Oh well! Maybe I stumbled on a mute guy... or someone who is really really rude... or not in the mood to talk to anyone because he died and holds a grudge on the world!

Two other people enter the room, a man and a woman.

- We have two men that match your description, Miss. I can always show them to you once you're ready or I can just step back and let you do it. Just remember, there is no rush here.

The woman takes a deep breath, gulps and with a trembling voice she says:

- Can you please lift the first cover?

John's face is lit with a big white lamp that's hanging right above him. His face is pale, his eyes closed, his black beard, with those sparse grey hair, had just started to grow out of his lifeless skin, but it was his meeting with Mr Death that never let it grow any longer. 

He saw her above him, in her mid-thirties, brunette with green eyes, full lips and white skin. She looked definitely miserable, an emotional wreck. The woman looked at him. Her eyes were blank. It was a relief for a fragment of a second that turned into even greater anxiety for her next encounter.

- Not him, she nodded in a negative way.

The man covered John's face and stepped towards the next table.

Pfff! Not Lucy! Not even my secretary, who claimed she'd die if anything bad ever happened to me. She was either lying that night in that jacuzzi to get another pay-rise or she is already dead, as her words were heard up in Heavens and her fate became bound to mine. Let's see if it's this guy's lucky day at least...

- Would you like to wait for a while?

- No, just do it now please. 

The man uncovers the other corpse and John hears a loud thump.

- Miss! Miss, are you ok?

I guess she got her million-bucks prize behind Curtain No2! 

The man tries to help the woman come round. Once conscious, she asks for a few moments alone before leaving that room. The man respects her request and gets out. With slow moves she approaches the table with the dead man lying on and bursts:

- How am I supposed to get our Happily Ever After now? Huh? You never broke your promises, why did you have to do it this time? And like that? I have a wedding gown hanging in my closet at the moment... Your tux is hanging right next to it, you know... And who the hell is coming with me on that honeymoon trip next month? 

She weeps.

I hate to say that if Destiny wanted him just to get away from marriage, it could have been more imaginative in his case. I wonder what Lucy will feel once she discovers what happened to me. Will she still cry like this woman here? Will she be devastated? Or relieved she just got herself free of a cynical womanizer like myself? 

I mean, she knows I cheat on her, she knows that these business trips are rarely just for business and she acts like everything is ok. I don't even have to make a plausible excuse up. She will say "ok" no matter what. It was me who benefited the most of our marriage, it was her father who owned the company I worked for and up until recently I ran. It was her family's money that paid for my trips and chicks. It was thanks to her that I got to live that life.

After five whole years of our lukewarm marriage she never even threatened to divorce me. It's not like she is too old to find another man. A thirty-five-year-old woman is still an eye-catcher these days. Maybe she's not naive or afraid. Maybe she loves me the way I am. Maybe I make her happy that way and doesn't want me to change. If she did, she would have done something, right?

She should have done something.

- Never trust a woman, man. Never.

A man's voice from the next table said as the woman in the room kept crying.

To be continued...


*Original story by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018  

In this episode John sees what it's like to lose a loved one. He suddenly feels bad for his wife, a benevolent woman who has put up with his infidelity for as long as they had been together. He is questioning her behavior, what has made her be so tolerant with him, was it love? Could anyone truly love him despite his obnoxious character? Was she the only person who truly loved him, but he never cared about her feelings?

Never trust a woman...

I always like to read your comments and suggestions!

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  

I could finally catch up with this one!
I am curious how you intend to wrap it up (whenever that happens).

I have settled on the ending, I'm not quite sure whether I should have him go through another adventure. Opinions vary :)

πω πω....το τελος του επεισοδιου γα---ργαλαει!!....
....μαυρη κωμωδια ruthie??.... ποτε θα εχουμε συνεχεια με τον 'καφρουλη' τον john?

Ωωω! Ευχαριστω!! Ευχαριστω!! Σε μια βδομαδα εκτος απροοπτου (γραφω κυριως τα σκ που εχω χρονο) :D

Πες μας κι εσυ τη γνωμη σου σ'αυτο που ρωτησα τον lordneroo, ειμαι σε διλλημα οϊμε!

You have such a wild imagination @ruth-girl! This story is very interesting and very spooky at the same time. Makes me think how we 're all going to be John one day and hope that this is not what it will be like!

I think I'm going to start having nightmares if I keep reading on. :P

Have a good night!

Dying is inevitable... almost like taxes :P

Thanks for the feedback! I hope you had a good noght's sleep after that :)

Could you help out, please? I am having second thoughts now, what do you say? Should I put an end toJohn's adventure in the next episode or is there room for 1-2 more? I have some ideas, but I'm not sure what to do...

And yes, let's hope we don't get trapped like John...

as @ruth-girl very well said Dying ( with a capital D) is inevitable...
..i would say its the next step in the game of evolution!!!.mark my words..the next step in the game of evolution!!!...not the end!!!...i underline next step...this is my belief...
...so from this point of view i enjoyed reading the story....its like a black comedy as i said in my comment...
..it describes the most 'dark thing' we people use to say, which is Death of course, in a bright aspect i would say!!! ..in a funny way..with a sarcastic tone..its like taunting death and playing with it... ruthies' hero john doesn't let himself down!!....he gives us a smile when we read the story....he still keeps his sense of humor and plays with his situation but at the same time many thoughts (dramatic questions) troubling his soul - where is Lucy?..why she's not here?...does she really love me??..
...we can see some hints of remorse in his thoughts....'what have i done to Lucy??...i'm a cynical womanizer'...which declares that he really has feelings for her
...the whole story ,the scenery though somebody can say it would definitely support a horror film, is a try to make us see 'the pass' in a different way!!
...i could keep on writing and writing and writing even more things but i would get myself boring to you so i will stop.. saying that this story enclosures so many meanings and gives us ' food for thought' in such a controversial matter as Death ..
...my compliments Ruthie...excuse my torrent of verbiage!!!
..as far as it concerns your question...i think you must put an end in the next episode..it will give a glamour end ...don't forget!!!...you must let your Readers 'thirsty' all the time!!!
...Μπραβο Ruthie!!!

Τεινω προς το τελος κι εγω, νομιζω θα κανει κοιλια αν συνεχιστει (ενα επεισοδιακι ακομα ισως να προσεθετα, δεν ξερω ομως, αν δεν μου ερθει κατι καλο μοαλλον θα το τελειωσω την επομενη εβδομαδα).
Ευχαριστωπολυ για τη βοηθεια!! :D

Oh I slept really well, thanks!

I think you should write some more, this story is epic and unique, I've never come across anything similar. Just love the concept. To be honest with you, I really hope John doesn't end up talking to himself buried 6 feet deep.

By the way I liked how the other guy wouldn't respond until the end. I started thinking maybe John wasn't dead after all and this was just a bad dream, however when I realized that the other dead guy responded I was like ''damn''.

Haha! See you around!

The "objection" as to whether this story should be continued is that it might go off track or get boring. Perhaps one more episode before he finally rests in peace... or in pieces... :P

It's all up to you, this is your child. :P We will just stick around and enjoy! :)

Never trust a woman...

lol
Not all.
Just be cautious.
Maybe.

Yeah, not all of them are bad (probably) :P

I applaud your imagination! Despite being a chilling story, it catches you right away.
I confess that I had to read the four parts to understand better. The idea of ​​dying and being aware of that for me is chilling, especially if you've led a life of lies and debauchery like John.
I suppose that just as living beings value people more when they die, the same thing would happen in the opposite situation if we could be aware of it. Wow! just to say it, I feel chills.

Excellent! I'll wait for the next chapter.

Thank you for taking the time to read it all so far and for the positive feedback!!! :D

It is scary indeed!! Rarely do we consider death or the afterlife. We just act and don't think on the impact of those actions on us ar the others around us. John starts to realise how some actions and tactics of his were not "right". The point is, will he repent? Is it too late to repent? Will it make any difference for him? We don't really care, he is just a means to put the reader in thoughts...

Thank you once again!! :)

very true! we only act and we do not measure or value the consequences. Fortunate is he who has the opportunity to repent in time to express his feelings and correct his mistakes. With luck, John is just having a bad dream ("a look" as some call it) and corrects his behavior and begins to value his partner. I will wait for the outcome.

John is still on RIF (Rest In Freeze) mode.

Lol...
I don't know why this story make me feel you know about morgue, the arrangements and things attached to it..

As for John: I don't think guilty conscience leaves one even after death. Let him keep battling with it. It's his cup now. I hope noone checks up on him :P. That's a joke though...

Nice one, Ruth...

I don't know anything about morgues, but I have seen a lot of CSI type series :P
And the truth is that black humor is among my favorite genres, because of the wit in it.

Thanks for reading this @pearlumie! :)

Hmmmm.... CSI series...

Lol... Okay

I enjoyed reading it, :P

Thank you! It's nice to hear that! :D

Yes, a 35 year old woman is still an eye catcher and I'm 33 and would hope so hehe.

😜😜😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94