THE SALVAGERS

in #writing7 years ago

Everything seems larger in the small hours of the night. Empty cathedrals tower and loom over me as I stroll the alleys and streets, their dark shadows flickering like fingers, pointing out the doors to the abyssal void in the corners where the downtrodden take refuge in their short-lived slumbers. I walk past, not wanting to disturb their rest, for I’ve heard their lives are often fleeting in Cork. Some meet their end at the point of a needle or from the last drop of a bottle, some at the bottom of a bridge, and a few at the end of a fist.

As they slumber, exploring the nooks and crannies of their dreams, I turn the corner to the quay along the river. There are no people of my kind here, only a solitude of crows along the stone facade separating the river from the refuse-littered sidewalk. These crows have a life all their own, bouncing about in the things left behind by strangers, salvaging what they may.

One of them moves in front of me, as if to ask for a toll. I have nothing but my wallet and a passport with me at the time, so I walk around. But a piece of lint falls out of my pocket, and the crow picks it up and flies off, at peace knowing it has more material to build a nest.

I walk over the River Lee across one of Cork’s many bridges. A man on the corner asks me if I have any change. I say I don’t, but then he notices my American accent. We start talking, about life, home, and the road. As I head on my way to the cafe I am on my way to, he smiles a happy, genuine smile. The best things in life can’t always be given for free, but many good things certainly can.


Note: I originally wrote and posted this as a free article on my Patreon creator page.

Sort:  

Congratulations @robinheater! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @robinheater! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43