Mind Mapping, Part 4: Reeducation Intervention

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

anatomy-1751201_1280.png
Copper and the Agent walked along a beach. Copper was having trouble focusing, feeling extremely isolated and helpless. The waves lapped against the shore, though the sound gave her very little comfort.

Agent spoke, his expression inscrutable behind his dark shades. “Copper, please relax. This place is completely safe. Once you learn to act independently, your training here will be complete. But until then, if your mind isn’t free, then you aren’t truly free no matter where you are.”

“I can already act independently! I think for myself!”

“Really? Let’s test that. Jump in the ocean.”

Copper immediately turned and ran into the ocean, turning back once she was already up past her waist and sputtering with water as she ran back onto the shore, stumbling and coughing. She glared at Agent.

Agent snapped his fingers, and Copper was instantly dry. “I must say… it’s interesting to have permission to use my admin access so blatantly in front of simulation occupants. This is a very odd situation you are in, to have such deep psychological problems that a simulation is the best option.”

“You make it sound like I’m crazy! I don’t have psycho-whatever problems!”

“You just jumped in the ocean because I told you to.”

Copper fumed, only temporarily displacing her feelings of loneliness. She thought she had adjusted to being alone after fleeing her previous master, but she had gotten used to be around people again when she joined up with Steve’s crew. Despite the short time spent with them, she already couldn’t stand being away from all of them.

The Agent turned to Copper. “So, tell me Copper… what type of climate do you prefer?”

“Right now, I want to be around people.”

The Agent waved a hand, and the two were suddenly in a bustling city with all kinds of people. “Like this?”

“No! Those are all fake!”

The Agent raised an eyebrow. “So? They can act exactly like a real person. As far as social needs are concerned, what’s the difference?”

“That’s stupid. There is a huge difference! They don’t care about anything, YOU don’t care about anything! It’s all cold. I can feel it.”

“You are cold? I can increase the temperature you are perceiving. Just let me-”

Copper crouched down, hugging her legs as she sat pouting. “You don’t understand. You are just a simulation – a fake. I don’t care how much you try to appear real, you aren’t.”

The Agent didn’t laugh or act offended. He barely reacted at all. “That is all true. I am a tool, built by people I have never met. I don’t try to appear real, I am merely pursuing my goal. Which, at this moment, is trying to get you past a mental block.”

As Copper was about to respond, the simulation glitched. The people stretched and distorted before vanishing completely, and the textures on the buildings flashed invisible for a moment. The Agent looked around, just as confused as Copper. He waved a hand, and a holographic control board appeared in front of him as he started making adjustments. “That was quite a large processing glitch… was there a power outage somewhere?”

A blurry figure appeared next to Agent, as Copper eyes went wide with fear. “AGENT! Look out!”

The Agent spun around, equally surprised but unafraid of the entity before him. “A hacker? It seems you disabled the intrusion alert, and cut us off from alerting the mods. You are not authorized to be here. You will be autokicked shortly.”

The being spoke with echoing voice. “No. Run Auth code TYUA-II-GYQWE. Disable Agent.exe.”

The Agent’s image flashed a dark red before fading away completely. Copper turned to run for her life, but was stopped as the blurry persona stood in her path. “Copper…”

“What… what do you want with me!? Why did you destroy Agent!?!”

“Chill, lady. He’s just a process, I suspended him is all. I need your help with something, as I don’t have any other options. It won’t be for nothing, of course… quid pro quo, and all that jazz.”

Copper was intrigued, but still more terrified of the entity in front of her than anything else. “What? What do you need from me? I can’t do anything here.”

“That’s where you’re wrong, kiddo. You have certain permissions while existing in this simulation, and I can transition your connection to another place to escalate my own permission. Those noob kidnappers didn’t think of that when they nabbed Steve.”

“Steve?! He’s been kidnapped?”

“Affirmative, you could ask him yourself in a moment. So, are we in agreement? Are you willing to help?”

“SEND ME NOW! I need to save Steve!”

The blurry figure vanished, as did the buildings before the environment faded to black. Suddenly, an extending bar titled loading… appeared, vanishing as Copper found herself in an entirely new environment.

It was a strange building with sparse equally strange equipment Copper couldn’t understand. Outside a window, she could see vast extending plains that she eventually realized were roads. But they were massively wide and extended almost indefinitely, as if they were made for Giants. The buildings she saw outside seemed boxy and uninspired, as if the entire world felt bored with trying to build something more unique. She walked around the mostly empty building, feeling creeped out, until she heard a familiar voice from a room she passed.

“Copper? Is that you?”

Copper ran back to the doorway. She saw a human, wearing a simple white shirt and black pants with no shoes. He had blonde hair and amber eyes, looking nothing like the Drone Copper remembered. But she knew instantly it was him. “STEVE!”

Copper tackled Steve to the ground with a hug, causing him to squirm and eventually push her off as they both got back on their feet. “Dang it, Copper… how are you even here? Did they get you too?”

“No, some kind of weird blurry thing heard you were in trouble, and brought me! Now we can break outta here, no problem! Where are the enemies?”

Steve struggled to comprehend the lunacy of what Copper was saying. “Copper… I don’t know what you think happened, but you just got played. We can’t leave this simulation, and we have no control here. The kidnappers don’t even need to exist within the simulation to hurt us if they want!”

A blurry figure appeared in front of Steve. “Oh? I didn’t think I played Copper, though I was a tad surprised at her immediate cooperation. I expected more convincing to be required. But don’t worry… I got dis.”

The blurry figure vanished again before Steve could ask any questions, and suddenly voices cut in from nowhere. “-stopped the cycles. It was a crap show from the very start.”

A different voice responded. “Huh. Sounds like poor planning. But what percent are we at?”

The first voice answered back. “Uh… about two. Gonna take quite a bit longer, and that’s assuming we don’t come up empty handed. Erc is smart, but I don’t think he quite understands yet what we are pursuing.”

Steve spoke out, wondering if the voices could hear him, or knew they were listening in on them. “Hello? What are you talking about?”

The voices were silent. Steve could hear shuffling, followed by cursing. “Who patched our connection into the simulation!? The occupants can hear everything, and it won’t let me disconnect!”

The other voice spoke just as the gray Drone was reappearing in the simulation, revealing he was the second voice as he was clearly speaking. “Just spin up a new connection, it’s probably just some glitch. No need to… wait, what? I didn’t reenter the simulation, what’s going on? Why can’t I leave?”

Copper immediately roasted the screaming Drone. The other disembodied voice was panicking. “WHAT THE- FOLD IT! FOLD IT ALL TO RIFT! It’s the EPIC!”

The other Drone appeared in the simulation, already running for it’s life. It was completely red, in the same design as the now badly burned Drone. Steve and Copper followed in hot pursuit.

The Drone couldn’t stop panicking as it threw all kinds of hastily generated simulated assets at them, from bombs and spiky spheres to old shoes and a rubber duck inflatable. If Steve hadn’t been so focused on chasing down their captor, he would have thought the sight hilarious.

Eventually, Copper tackled the Drone to the ground. With a great inhale, the Drone flailed as Copper torched him.

Steve scratched his head. “Does… that actually do anything, though? We are in a simulation. I was also hoping we could have… I don’t know, interrogated him? Or something?”

Copper spun around. “I don’t care about any of that! I’m fighting back any way I can!”

The simulation began collapsing around them. Buildings crumbled, and the floor fell apart. As everything faded to black, Steve again jerked awake.

He was strapped into the chair he had previously sat down in the exorcist’s business, which he now knew was at least partially a front for finding Drones like him. He struggled for a moment, but the bindings held firm. Eventually, he managed to pull off one of the shackles, as it apparently wasn’t designed to hold a conscious Drone indefinitely. With a free hand, he quickly extricated himself from the rest of his bounds, and stood up out of the chair that had been until now his prison.

He wondered where he was, or if he was still in Tempora. It took him only a moment of wondering where Copper was before he realized they met only digitally; she was likely still in the underground vault where they put people into simulations, and he was almost definitely in a different location only connected by network. Why would they have connected to the same network? Was it the only way they could access the necessary processing power? He didn’t have time to think about all these questions now, though. Given he was now alone in a dimly lit room, and he could here people rushing around and yelling outside the door, his focus was on how to defend himself while escaping.

And on finding Jane.


Beginning Previous Next
Same post on Minds

Also, if you are enjoying the series, you may want to check out the book I published right here. It is set in the same universe as this story, so some of the characters can show up in that book, and others might show up in later ones.

Sort:  

I could imagine the time when machines were not yet invented. People gained knowledge through reading. Most people of old are great leaders because they're readers.

I guess you're an author @rhethypo.
And authors love to read. That is why they also love to write.
You're doing a great job on your post.

Keep it up!

I've always loved stories. Whether it's within a book, a movie, a tv show, or a video game, a good narrative can really draw me in. Books can tell some of the best stories in my opinion, though, because what you imagine will almost always be superior to a physical representation of someone else's imagination, especially when further limited by whatever medium they are working in.

Thanks for the kind words!

You're welcome!

what you imagine will almost always be superior to a physical representation of someone else's imagination, especially when further limited by whatever medium they are working in.

Yes.
Its mind over body/physics. I guess somewhat similar to reason over feelings. If loving is not reasonable then why we should love?
Am I lost in the conversation? lol

Hi rhethypo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I know it's a good story when I don't really have to read the previous chapter to like it. I think this one needs a bit more tech savvy jargon and made up cyber terms often to give a more futuristic feel. As a fan of sci-fi novels, you got potential as a writer for the genre. Good luck on your future stories :D

I generally try to keep made up tech jargon to a minimum, unless it pertains to the story as a plot point. I've gotten feedback before where people struggle to understand exactly what's being described.

This story specifically is a kind of part sci-fi, part fantasy hybrid(I guess one description could be science fantasy). The technology that exists within the universe is largely based around a magic system simply titled "casting". I don't go into all the rules I have for the system in this story, but I do touch briefly on some of the characteristics.

But anyways, thanks for reading, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it! This story is near the planned end, and the finale will be published before the end of the week, if you are interested.

That was pretty awesome, I'm catching a matrix meet total recall vibe. I bookmarked the book(boy that sounds weird) so in the event, I actually get caught up with some stuff I'll give it a read. Just this short piece is really action pack and full of surprises I really enjoyed it.
I haven't checked out minds yet, how are you juggling both (I do love the fact you are posting it to both.) I'm all about multiplying rewards for the same content. I've suggested to a few people to compile their short stories and tweak them into an Amazon book.

With Minds, I try to post or at least remind something at least once a day. I also try responding to anyone who tags me, and I will usually comment on things I find interesting. It's easier and less time consuming to this on Minds because I already have a bunch of channels I subscribe too, and the boostfeed makes finding new and interesting content easier. As for Steemit, I've been focusing more on finding interesting channels and being more active since my account here is much newer than my Minds account.

I already have a book on Amazon, but because it is currently enrolled in kdp select I can't publish it anywhere else. I have plans for a main series, and a kind of promotional set of stories I am able to publish on Minds and Steemit. I plan on also publishing this story in particular as a single book on Amazon and making it free, since it is already available for free on multiple platforms. Before I do that, though, I'm probably going to overhaul the story in a variety of ways to make it better.

Compiling short stories into a Amazon book is a great idea for writers, in my opinion. If I ever have a large enough number of short stories to vindicate doing so, I will likely do exactly that. It doesn't cost anything to self publish on Amazon, and can add a certain perceived legitimacy to it.

Man, it sounds like you've really got it together. It would be awesome if more people would follow suit with some of what you are doing, it would probably propel them much further.

I get the matrix vibe too @rhethypo plus inception-ish. I am always impressed with how minds work to come up with amazingly mind boggling stories. This really is an impressive writing. A movie material. Do you have plans to bring this to the screen? Now, I am intrigued to read the rest :)

Lol, I'm not sure about a movie. I believe one needs some serious financial backing and an established following before a successful movie adaptation becomes possible. Also, not all stories translate well to the big screen.

But anyways, I'm happy to hear you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33